We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it, will be back!”
Review of Somewhere Unique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somewhere Unique
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The perfect romantic retreat just before the birth of our first baby. The facilities were excellent and we loved that it felt like we were the only two people on earth, yet so close to many activities.
I am still getting over my excitement of the bathroom and bath. It was just divine.
All this and still eco-friendly made for a wonderful escape.

Room Tip: Book early. There are only two cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

Dear Salj78. Thank you for your wonderful comments. I'm glad that we were able to offer you a relaxing environment to spend time together before the arrival of your first baby - always such a special time together! I hope that you are all happy and healthy. Perhaps we will see you again in the future for your first "baby-free' romantic getaway?
Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 224 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

This has to be our favourite getaway. Stayed three times and you come away each time relaxed, renewed and rejuvenated. The location, serenity, amenities are absolutely impeccable. Any couple that experiences Somewhere Unique WILL NOT be disappointed. This retreat is about privacy and the freedom to enjoy your own space.

Room Tip: Only two lodges. Either one is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulmates90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

Dear Soulmates90.
A big thank you for your positive feedback. It is a joy to hear that yet again you have had an enjoyable visit to Somewhere Unique! We have worked hard to create a peaceful place where couples can spend quality time together, and get away from it all. Looks like we have succeeded! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Somewhere Unique is just perfect!
The accommodation is ecofriendly and truly 5 star, we loved everything, the location, the nature, the decor, from the moment we walked in looking at all the special and beautiful touches, until we left after 4 nights we could not stop smiling , this is such a special place, truly peaceful, romantic & relaxing .
Melanie have thought of everything , there are DVD's, CD's, candles, bicycles , picnic blankets, board games, fluffy robes.
We ordered BBQ pack for the first night which was great to cook on the BBQ.
Highly recommend Trek about tours for a wine tasting tour, it was so fun and we did a flight with Slattery Helicopters, fantastic!

We will definitely come back to Somewhere Unique

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evaandjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

Dear EvaAndJoshua.
Thank you for your very kind comments! Wonderful to hear that your stay at Somewhere Unique exceeded your expectations, and that you plan to return. The BBQ packs are a big hit for dinner - very handy. We can also now order in Cheese and Anti-pasto Platters from the Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop, with your choice of cheeses. Trekabout Tours is a great way to see the vineyards - they will collect guests from the door of their retreat for a full day tour. A helicopter lunch with Slattery is a fantastic way to celebrate a big event or milestone in your life - very decadent and luxurious!
Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Everything was perfect, beautiful landscape, organization PERFECT (everything is done to make our stay wonderful and unforgettable).
We can only recommend this little place of paradise.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear Lausanne
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 'Somewhere Unique'. 'Perfect' is a big word to live up to, and your remarks certainly make all the hard work worthwhile!
Melanie Morschel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I can only repeat the other reviews. Everything is thought of, nothing is missing, picnic bags, wine coolers, washing machine, TV, wine glasses and an amazing bathroom. Having the music playing as you enter the lounge was lovely and created a great atmosphere. The design, style and finish of the whole place is excellent.

It's a bit of a drive to some where good to eat but well worth it for the peace and quiet, the BBQ pack was pretty handy one evening after a hard days wine tasting!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear JamiehBirmingham
Thank you for your generous remarks. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 'Somewhere Unique', and that all the little extras are appreciated.
While we are located approximately 30 minutes drive from the main vineyards district, there are a few cafes and restaurants in the Wollombi village, just 2kms from our property. Many of our guests even ride the bikes into the village! I'm glad you enjoyed the BBQ packs - these are very popular with our guests. Nothing quite like standing on your own private deck with a glass of wine, enjoying a BBQ dinner surrounded by the trees and birdlife. We can also order in dishes such as Linguini with chilli lime prawns, Curry of the Day, Thai Beef and Noodle Salad, Anti-pasto platters, and Chocolate Fondue.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Australia.

Melanie Morschel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The attention to detail stunned us. It made our stay beautiful and relaxed. It's lovely to stay in a place that keeps an eye on nature, in nature. (Eco). The beautiful Australian bush just outside your luxury cabin is stunning. As well as the landscape that you can see through the trees behind it. Loved the contrast of the luxury within the cabin and the beautiful rough bush just outside it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2011

Dear Mirastravel
Thank you for your very positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise in the Australian bush. Wollombi is a fantastic peaceful spot, the perfect place to create an eco-retreat such as Somewhere Unique - if you are lucky you will spot a range variety of birdlife, kangaroos and the odd wombat. From your photo it looks like you enjoyed a lovely walk up Narone Creek Road - many of our guests also enjoy the bikes we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The best way to spend the Easter Long Weekend (4 nights). Private, romantic and every detail perfect and nothing forgotten. A real getaway. Just bring clothing and a few toiletries- everything else is taken care of. Usually you arrive and something is always missing - nothing is here. Washing machine, dryer & dishwasher all make a longer stay more pleasurable. A unique check-in, no reception desk - secluded from start to finish. Just perfection.

Room Tip: Has a Washing Machine, Dryer & Dishwasher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2011

Dear Candice686
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our special 'Easter Long Weekend' package, and made the most of your stay in the Hunter Valley. We try hard to focus on the small details, and it sounds as though these are definitely appreciated by our guests! I'm glad you enjoyed our unique check-in procedures - we aim to make your romantic getaway as easy and private as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Melanie Morschel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
17.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
886 reviews
16.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
8.4 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
1.6 mi away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#1 of 3 in Wollombi
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capers Guest House
Capers Guest House
#2 of 3 in Wollombi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somewhere Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somewhere Unique

Address: Narone Creek Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Price Range: $218 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somewhere Unique 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Somewhere Unique' is located near the historic village of Wollombi near the Hunter Valley vineyards and two hours drive from the Sydney CBD. Two completely private couples-only retreats combine a tranquil romantic setting with luxurious comfort and attention to detail. The retreats are eco-certified and feature a king-sized bed, two person bath, rain shower, bathrobes, gas log fireplace, air-conditioning, Foxtel, stereo with iPod dock, Wi-Fi, modern kitchen, Weber BBQ, private deck with lounges and views, and two bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Somewhere Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somewhere Unique Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing