We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somewhere Unique
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
$247
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wine Country Motor Inn(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cessnock Motel(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
$94
$91
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$212
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$173
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
234
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
234
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthought of everythingattention to detailmy partnerallawah retreatchocolate fonduecheese platterwedding anniversaryrose petalshunter valleybbq packbird seedbreakfast hamperlittle touchesget awaythe kitchenamazing bathroomperson bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 234 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The retreat was clean, stylishly decorated and well equipped. We liked the music on the cd player when we arrived, the bikes we could use and the generous breakfast provisions. We liked how it was privately situated in the Australian bush yet only a short distance from Wollombi.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2011

Dear Wen4
Thank you for your positive comments. Terrific to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and services on offer to our guests at Somewhere Unique - the bikes get a good work out and are enjoyed by many guests! We have just had a small change to our breakfast hamper, and are now providing local bacon from the Lovedale Smokehouse, and Lavender Honey from a local lavender farm. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Somewhere Unique was the ideal place to stay for our weekend in The Hunter Valley. Situated in tranquil bushland, the retreat provided an intimate and relaxing getaway. March was a lovely time to visit, coinciding with the CMC Rocks The Hunter (concert). We highly recommend Muse Restaurant at Hungerford Estate for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gen231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel710, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2011

Dear Gen231
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility and privacy at Somewhere Unique. Many of our guests attend concerts in the vineyards area - we are far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle of the busy weekends, but close enough to either drive or book transport with Rover Coaches, who collect our guests at the end of our road. I'm glad you enjoyed a meal at Muse Restaurant - it is one of our favourites, and is also open for lunch daily. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Melanie Morschel
Owner / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My hubby and I visited Somewhere Unique for our wedding anniversay in March. My hubby and I loved this place so much and can't wait to go back! The owners really have thought about every possible thing you could need, the bath was magical and I loved LOVED the natio products and handmade soap. The bed was so comfty and the sheets were so lovely and crisp! A great DVD selection also!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS BEAUTIFUL RETREAT!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjinx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We had a very relaxing stay in a great location and a great house. The location was very convenient for the vineyards, local galleries and restaurants and to the town of Wollombi which is full of local history. We were looked after brilliantly by Simon at the Wollombi Cafe at the recommendation of Somewhere Unique and were spoily with fantastic food and above and beyond service. We would gladly recommend Somewhere Unique.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHammer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Somewhere Unique, what a surprise. The photographs on the web quite simply just do not do it justice. Having stayed in many nice places this would have to be one of the best.. Space, light and tranquility in a 5 star luxury haven is what you'll experience. Spotlessly clean, totally private and everything you could possibly need with many added luxuries.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews