We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Ranked #2 of 4 Wollombi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent a night in the cottage and had dinner and breakfast in the guesthouse. It was built around 170 years ago and you can't expect it to be at the same time historic and "modern". The building includes two cells on the lower level where convicts were kept in dark, cramped and what must have been in winter horribly cold conditions. Leg irons and a ball and chain can be found in these cells.We has 2 most wonderful meals there (with the dinner washed down by our own wine). Caroline the owner is a delight and a great cook. If you have a sense for history and enjoy conversation and would like to experience in a small way what life was like in the Australia of the past in a most beautiful valley you will enjoy your stay.
Paddy & Michele

Room Tip: the cottage has more space and if you want to cook facilities but that means missing out on the deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Padraic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullavilla, Owner at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you Paddy and Michelle!
Hope you had a safe and good trip home. Hope you can return in winter to enjoy the roaring fires!
Best Wishes Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

For $650 for two nights, we expected a little better than a basic room, not serviced at all, host was never around to provide service, we had no idea what was happening with meals, and way over priced meals for kids. Very disappointed over all with this place. The shared common areas needed a good clean and it looks like the place has been let go. The host seemed too busy to focus on this business and the customers.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank sarahsarah200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don s, Owner at Guesthouse Mulla Villa, responded to this review, November 9, 2015
Change of owners in Nov 2014.
We are now totally upgrading the whole site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
19.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
14.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
12.8 mi away
Bellbird Hotel
Bellbird Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bellbird
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Mulla Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Mulla Villa

Property: Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Address: 3174 Great Northern Rd | 1 km south of Wollombi, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wollombi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guesthouse Mulla Villa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1840 convict mansion. 4 rooms available with free breakfast. Also newly renovated,cottage with two bed rooms and kitchen. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon teas. Dinner every fri and sat night. We cater for bus and tour groups showing you thru the convict jail and historic house. Weddings available in main house or rustic COW SHED. A must stop on scenic route to the hunter valley wine country. Just one km south of Historic Wollombi. One hour north of the Hawksberry river on the Peats Ridge road turn off on route 33. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse Mulla Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Mulla Villa Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing