We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 day stay was fantastic loved the location and the roundly service from the owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mystwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystwood
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“3 day stay was fantastic loved the location and the roundly service from the owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very relaxing and handy to the lovely little village of Wollombi
Have a great wine wine tasting in the Hunter using the special bus provided by the management
Great outdoor facilities and very comfortable bed -really loved the fresh home baked bread and the breakfast pack
Good restaurants and pub in Wollombi but was able to order a special dinner pack from Colin which was great value and easy to cook on our outdoor barbecue
Very nice to be able to enjoy a relaxing spa right outside our door

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bundi345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    7
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
107
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medowie, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a wonderful way to begin our married life together. The facilities & provisions were beyond compare, the breakfast hamper including fresh ground coffee, eggs, bacon & freshly baked bread lasted us for the three mornings of our stay. The BBQ pack was perfect for dinner the first evening after the drive up to Mystwood. The interactions with the owners and other retreaters was minimal (exactly what you want on your honeymoon). Stella, the retreat dog, is a delight. What a pleasure it was to see her strolling up onto the varandah to grab a quick pat ( or maybe a sneaky bite to eat). She is so gentle and spent a great deal of time curled up by the door of our cabin. The cabins were beautiful and the bed comfortable. The no mobile phone reception made for a pleasant change from the hum & buzz of everyday life. The surrounds & misty valley are spectacular & soothingly peaceful. We will be back as soon as we can. Do yourselves a favour & visit, you won't regret it..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a bit late in posting, but we wanted to be sure to get this up. We spent three days at Mystwood just before the Xmas holidays in 2013 and it was fantatic!

The cottages are in the southern part of the Hunter, but still within striking distance of several nice, smaller wineries. Wollombi is just down the road and it's a 20 min jaunt into Cessnock.

The cottages themselves are cozy and well-appotined. They have everything you could possibly need. As others have described, the breakfast hamper was amazing and Lieneka was so thoughtful in preparing a dinner hamper for us on our first night as we arrived a bit late after a long-haul flight from HK. Just threw the chicken on the BBQ with the veggies and had it with the salad provided, was fantastic.

We stayed in cabin 5 which is the furthest down the road, but all are well secluded.

Outdor spa was great at the end of the day (or even the beginning).

Our girls loved having run of the property and just being outside. And of course, there was Stella who timed her visits about the same time as our evening BBQs (;

Great place, great hosts, great stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ELV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I wish I could give this retreat more than 5 star rating. I've never felt the desire to do a review before however this place deserves recognition. The retreats are beautifully decorated, king size beds unbelievably comfortable, outdoor spas blissfull (especially under night skies). After a few hours of being there we felt the Sydney stress drain away. The fresh air, amazing landscape, and property walks did wonders to revive our tired souls. It also worked up a good appetite which was satisfied by their very generous BBQ hampers. We had the most amazing sleep waking to birdsong each morning. What was only a 3 day stay felt like a week long escape. I would highly recommend Mystwood to anyone wanting a romantic or relaxing escape in a stylish setting. We are already planning our next trip in Winter to experience the log fires

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrylands, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Mystwood in January 2014 and are looking forward to coming back.
From the outside this looked like a fairly ordinary wooden cabin, but the inside told a different story. Modern bathroom and lounge, and an uber comfortable King Sized bed, and of course the private courtyard with the jacuzzi.

Our hosts were very accommodating, and the food and wine provided as part of our package was wonderful. We also loved having Stella (the on site Groodle) accompany us around the site.

If you are the sort of person who wants for resorts with lots of activities or people to run around after you then forget it, but if, like us, you just want to get away from the world and not have to do anything more strenuous than open a book, climb in the jacuzzi, fire up the BBQ, or take a relaxing walk then this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Yes, there's a cabin that sleeps 4, but don't bring your children...You'll enjoy it so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, it was ok but never had hot water at night and our shower kept flooding the whole bathroom. We told the owner the first night but never got fixed its a shame as everything else is set up ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonsons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My partner and I just spent 3 nights over the long weekend at Mystwood and boy are we depressed being back at home!

I came across this beautiful retreat online by chance, and thought it was too good to be true. We stayed in Cabin 1 which was nice and private, and had a wonderful view of the surrounding property - we spent most mornings and evenings sitting on the verandah watching the cows and their babies graze, the kangaroos hopping by and cuddling with Stella (the precious resident dog).

Simon, Lieneka and Colin were all very warm, inviting and accommodating from the time of our booking right through to our departure. We were so grateful to have been given a generous breakfast hamper including eggs, bacon and homemade bread, fresh milk, good selection of tea and coffee.. and a delicious barbeque hamper including steaks, sausages, salad, corn, potatoes and a bottle of local wine.

A lot of thought and effort was put in to ensure we had a perfect stay - the bed was huge and so so so comfy, there were towels, bath robes, shampoo, conditioner and body wash, all the kitchen utensils you need, a clean bbq, dvd library, sound system.. And the best part.. the private outdoor hot tub was already warm and ready for us on arrival!

We booked ourselves in for the wine tour along with the 3 other couples who were staying at the property at the same time. Colin, our tour guide, was absolutely amazing! He drove us around to 5-6 boutique wineries (I say 5-6 because I cannot remember whether it was 5 or 6.. we started drinking before 10.30am!), stopped off for a yummy lunch halfway, and finished the trip at the chocolate and champagne factory. I highly recommend this to all!

Nights in the hot tub were extra special - turn of all the lights and look up to the sky and you will find this stunning blanket of stars twinkling as far as you can see.

I feel like I could go on forever about this place because we truly had such a wonderful, relaxing and enjoyable stay. There is nothing I can fault or recommend to improve. We were very sad to leave, and can't wait for another excuse to return!

I have already been boasting to my family and friends about this little find, and definitely recommend it to anybody looking for that perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is closest to the main house, and 5 is the furthest. All are private and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
19.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
18.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
14.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#2 of 4 in Wollombi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystwood

Property: Mystwood
Address: 117 Milsons Arm Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mystwood Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing