We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Mystwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of escaping the busyness of Sydney over Valentines weekend to Mystwood. Both of us were amazed at what a beautiful, refreshing time we had. We started off our trip by sitting in the spa staring at the clear starry skies. The next morning we were we brought freshly baked bread that was absolutely delicious, and the breakfast basket was perfect! The wine tour was fantastic and so were our afternoon dusk strolls. The beds were comfortable and huge, as was the DVD selection. Its very rare that my husband and I can agree on a movie to watch, but we both ended up sitting on the lounge enjoying movies that we both liked.

Words cannot express how special Mystwood is. Every step I took in that valley refreshed my soul, and the owners truly care about making your experience comfortable and memorable.
I highly recommend Mystwood to anyone who just needs to get away and breathe!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 153 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I needed to get out of Sydney for a weekend and stayed at Mystwood. Wow, what a peaceful weekend it was. The cabin was perfect, stylish yet cosy and the bed was so comfortable that we slept like never before. Woke up to the views of the bush and the sounds of the birds, so refreshed and relaxed. The home made bread and private outdoor spa was just a bonus. We really got what we came for and will most definitely go back when we have the urge to escape the city. Thank you Mystwood!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Quintessential Aussie bush escape but so close to Sydney and the hunter valley. The spa is perfect after a hard day touring the wineries. Explore the property watch wild wildlife from the dam. Have a pub lunch 5 minutes down the road at wollombi village. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose Mystwood for our weekend anniversary weekend and were not disappointed. The cabin was clean, nicely appointed and the spa was wonderful. We were worried that the cabin may not have been private but this certainly is not the case. The courtyard and spa
looks onto the bush and it is more than pleasant to end the day in the spa with a wine. The breakfast hamper is generous and it is nice to have the BBQ on the deck. We will certainly be back!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My review will not begin to cover the true beauty and atmosphere of this amazing place!!! We stayed at mystwood in cabin 3 with the amazingly huge bath tub for 3 nights. Being met by such warm and friendly owners and stella of course was so nice and getting into our cabin finding such a beautiful well maintained facility was lovely. Cant highly recommend a stay here enuf. Seen so much beautiful country side, plants and wild life...we had a 1.5m long goanna at our back door, seen wallabies, kangaroos, birds, wombats, snakes being carried off by birds and more. Outdoor Spa was amazing, Thai banquet was delish, brekkie hamper and fresh sourdough was amazing. owners were so lovely and helpful with everything including directions, advise on places to eat and even placea to stop on way home we didn't want to leave. Will certainly be back for another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyone m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned yet again from the best kept secret for a weekend getaway. What a beautiful place surrounds so tranquil and quiet. The Retreats are wonderful very comfortable beds, i don't know what the people in the below review are complaining about! They must be fussy! State of the art entertainment systems and the most wonderful deck to bbq on. The breakfast and home-baked bread is truly a country touch. Being a travel agent and knowing the costs of weekends away this is the best value for money.! A huge thank you again Colin, Phensan, Lieneka and Simon for making our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janelle716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

First of all, Colin was a wonderful host - his wine tour was really good too - we would definitely recommend doing this.

The cabin did have everything you needed and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The log fire was a really nice touch and the jacuzzi also.

Our only issue was that we didn't find it "boutique" enough for our taste. The cabins were quite basic and we found the 2 seater sofa too small for the 2 of us to sit comfortably. We had loads of cockroaches in the kitchen, Colin dealt with this straight away but they still kept coming - we figured that this was just part of being in the bush. Towels and bathrobes were provided but they weren't the super fluffy, white ones we're used to but they did the job just fine.

There is lots of wildlife around, we went for a run around Mystwood and spotted some Kangaroos and there were lots of amazing birds - lets not forget Stella the dog!

If you are looking for a high standard boutique feel then this place probably isn't quite right. But if you are after some peace and quiet away from it all then this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinaBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollombi hotels
1.8 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#1 of 3 in Wollombi
63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Capers Guest House
Capers Guest House
#2 of 3 in Wollombi
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mystwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystwood

Address: 117 Milsons Arm Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mystwood Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing