We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing romantic hideaway”
Review of Mystwood

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystwood
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing romantic hideaway”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Colin greeted us with a big smile,a piping hot loaf of bread and all provisions for breakfast
The retreats are well spaced apart for privacy and enjoy great views of the valley
the bed is one of the best we have slept on
the spa itself is located behind the retreat with shrubs around that make it private
we saw kangaroos in the valley, a wallaroo came right up to our cabin and all number of birds came to say hello
the big wine companies are located some 40 minutes away but there are smaller vineyards on the doorstep
its a bit far for us to visit regularly coming from the UK but if we are in the area again then we will definitely return

Room Tip: Cabin 1 has the best view of the valley Cabin 4 & 5 are fare more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve-esther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    7
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
114
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Mystwood.
It is secluded, relaxing and the perfect place for a romantic weekend away! A bottle of sparkling wine on arrival and a delicious BBQ pack made it even better.
Comfy bed, beautiful bathroom, outdoor spa under the stars, bacon & eggs to cook for breakfast - what more could you wish for. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_E_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We got in rather late after a 2 hour drive from Sydney and I was worried about disturbing our neighbours, but I needn't have worried. Each cabin is separated by quite some distance, and firing up our private barbecue (a fantastic 4 burner that was sparkling clean and ready to go) was not an issue even at 10pm. Heck the next night we were barbecuing at midnight and it wasn't a problem. The privacy of each cabin is amazing, and makes for a wonderful couples retreat. A nice warm private spa in the back (shielded by trees) is perfect for relaxing and unwinding in at any time of day or night.

The kitchen was well stocked with pretty much every utensil we needed, and the breakfast supplies were more than ample. The bathroom was brand-new and fittings to a very high standard, complemented by first-rate shampoo and soap. It even has warming lights and a heated towel rack! The linen and towels were of a good quality, and the king-size bed was extremely comfortable, especially combined with the complete absence of noise and the blackest of blacks once you turn off all the lights, making for a perfect night's sleep.

The lack of mobile phone service just adds to the beauty of being off the grid - no Blackberry to interrupt your time here! It's an easy 30-35 minutes drive up to the vineyards around Cessnock and Pokolbin if you want to visit the Hunter Valley wine country.

The hospitality of the hosts was warm and friendly befitting this family-run establishment, and certainly nothing is too much trouble.

It's highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_smurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were looking for a tranquil place to recharge and we certainly found it. We have just returned from a 4 night midweek stay at Mystwood, where we were received with a lovely warm welcome from Colin. The cabin is very well equipped to a great standard, with a huge comfy bed, great hot tub and a sparkling BBQ and our sleeps were more like hibernations as it is so peaceful. We recommend taking a picnic and a bottle of Hunter wine up to the dam and simply take in the views and the sounds of nature. We will return and seriously recommend Mystwood to any discerning visitor who wants both peace and a little luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWendy5964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The perfect place for a romantic stay or anniversary!! We stayed 3 nights mid week on a great package including a BBQ pack one night, a lunch, and HVG entry tickets. And it was 3 nights of pure bliss!! The cabins were well appointed, with everything thought of. Lovely bathroom products, extra towels, extra firewood, everything was well thought out, down to tea light candles. The perfect spot for a quiet time to spend with a loved one. And the outdoor spa!!!!! Words cannot describe, except to say that my husband now wants one at home!! It's a lovely 35min drive to Pokolbin wineries, which we did on one day. Another day we booked in massages in our cabin. Only $80 per person for an hour. A great place to explore with lovely hosts. You must try the Thai food made in house -some of the best we have ever had!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a lovely time at Mystwood for our 6th wedding anniversary weekend. We wanted to go to the Hunter Valley and chose this retreat based on excellent reviews on the site already. My husband and I can definitely say we were not disappointed with our choice. It was a wonderful place to escape the city and enjoy the bush. The owners are very friendly and go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay at Mystwood. It was great to have food in the fridge for breakfast and all the little things for guest comfort like plush bathrobes and a big comfy king bed. We also loved the log fire in the chilly nights and the outdoor spa to see the stars at night. We saw the Milky Way perfectly! We also loved the freshly baked bread everyday which was amazing and the Thai banquet on our anniversary was fabulous! We also were so surprised at how beautiful our anniversary cake was--it looked like something from a posh baker. There were many other things that really stood out like having nice shampoos in the shower and having games/DVDs available to borrow. The owners were so friendly and remembered our names and the adorable pooch Stella always came by and wanted to go for walks. We spotted loads of wildlife including a fox, a wombat and tons of roos and wallabies. Do the wine tour with their company because Colin does a great job choosing some of the smaller boutique wineries.

We'll definitely be back again and will bring out of town guests later in the year and also for our ourselves again to escape the city. We feel so lucky to have found this place! Thanks, Mystwood!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewoodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary (yesterday 23/05) with a trip not so far from home. It felt like we were in another part of the country and couldn't have asked for more.

We were both in shock when we entered our cabin. The photos did not do it justice. The cabin is very well set out and has everything you need. Everything!
We had everything needed to put together a family roast to a simple BBQ. Through email correspondence with Simon he made us feel very welcomed. Even to the point where he made the following comment.
......"You can cook anything from a toasted sandwich to a lamb roast (if Tom cruise is unavailable I will come round)".

Outstanding Hospitality there Simon!!

There was ample wood to stock our fireplace and the spa was even set prior to our arrival. I cannot begin to explain how good the spa under the stars was. Absolutely amazing.

The separate bathroom was great and didn't make it feel like a simple hotel room. Our robes were very comfy and the bed was so soft! We fell asleep in minutes.

If you can't go without mobile reception I don't know what to say, other than forget it! Just relax. If you have withdrawals, there is mobile reception at the start of the property (main road) but not to fear......The cabins have phones. Hey, you're away to get away right?

We will definitely be back again (soon I hope) and even though our stay was short, we felt completely relaxed.

Thank you for your hospitality,

J&L See.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCaptain01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
19.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
18.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
14.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#1 of 3 in Wollombi
58 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystwood

Property: Mystwood
Address: 117 Milsons Arm Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mystwood Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing