We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Serene Relaxing Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Serene Relaxing Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I love this place. From the moment you drive up to the gates you know this is going to be a special experience.
Walking up to reception across the boardwalk and hearing the variety of birds singing in the trees, instantly made us both smile.
Alan welcomed us in reception and was a great host and escorted us to the Wind Spirit pavilion on the golf buggy.
Upon entry my jaw dropped as it was just beautiful, the decor and layout was stunning and so clean. The little touches, such as lit candles and the aromatherapy burner made me feel relaxed as soon as I walked through the door.
Walking outside onto the balcony, I turned right and there was the infinity pool, which I could not wait to jump into. The day bed and loungers were singing out to be used.
Alan and Andrew have thought of everything and throughout the whole stay it felt as though we were surrounded with luxury. The food platter and breakfast provisions were very generous and contained quality items.
We both returned home feeling rejuvenated and much more relaxed and happier.
I believe Wild Edge Retreat is an amazing place, which exudes quality and luxury at every point.

Room Tip: During the summer months opt for one of the Pavilions with a pool. Wind Spirit is worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozkaz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Ozkaz78,

Thank you so much for posting your review of our property. It is very much appreciated when our guests take the time to share their experience of Wild Edge Retreat - especially when they have enjoyed our property as much as you did!

Our aim is to not only ensure guests are well looked after, but to also create the feeling of exclusivity, privacy and relaxation, and judging by what you have written, we succeeded to deliver that to you.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again, in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    0
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
94
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I took my husband here for a couple of nights to celebrate his 40th birthday. We stayed in the Wind Spirit pavilion and it was just perfect. I want to find something unique to write about the place as ordinary words don't seem to do it justice.
The scenery is just astounding and the pavilion is pure luxury. We would have happily stayed there for the entire weekend - and yet there was the whole Hunter Valley to explore.
If you are undecided, don't be. We will certainly be back when we can get babysitters again!
Such a beautiful place to recharge, reconnect and nourish your soul. (I know, I felt sick writing that - but it's true!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch4rlott3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ch4rlott3

Firstly, thank you for choosing to celebrate your husbands 40th birthday with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and welcome you both to the Retreat. Before you left, he had said to me that it was the best birthday he had ever had. Which in itself was good to hear.

Secondly, thank you for taking the time to write such a heartfelt review of your stay with us and of the Retreats facilities. Naturally, we are very proud of our property, the facilities we are able to offer our guests and our unique location.

Hopefully, it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to once again; recharge, reconnect and nourish your soul!

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I surprised my friend for his birthday with a 2-day stay in the Whispering Forest Pavilion. What a treat it was !! The drive up to the property offers expansive views of the area. We were lucky to drive just before sundown and enjoyed a very pleasant sunset on our way up. Alan welcomed us at the gate and took us through everything we needed to know about our stay and Wollombi. This and the fact that there are only 4 pavilions on the property made us feel very special. The Whispering Forest Pavilion has the most well-thought and modern interior design i have come across so far and it definitely made us feel we were the luckiest people in the world! everything is so carefully thought of, it makes it hard to leave even to discover the town of Wollombi (which you should definitely do too) Overall the most enjoyable and breathtaking experience in a very long while. Perfect way to spend time with a loved one!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the pavilion at Wild Edge Retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaredLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear D&J
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of Wild Edge Retreat. I was very pleased to read that you both enjoyed the Retreat, the facilities, and the magnificent views, which can really only be experienced by the Retreats unique mountain top location.

I was also pleased to read that you had taken the time to visit our historic little village of Wollombi.

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back, and again, thank you for the review.

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is just absolutely breathtaking.... It was the perfect weekend away!!!

From the moment we entered the gates, and our host walked over to meet us, we knew we were about to experience something very special!!

We stayed in the 'Whispering Forest' pavilion, and WOW, the attention to detail in EVERYTHING, was amazing!!

It's not just a place to stay, it's an experience. Words just can not explain the feeling this place gives you, and the mark it leaves on your heart.... It's beautiful ❤

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsSami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi MsSami!

Thank you for such a great and heart felt review of Wild Edge. It was our pleasure to have you stay and a little humbling to read your review.

We do aim to give our guests that extra special experience that does leave a lasting impression, so it's great to read when we have.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a little longer next time!!

Many thanks again,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Managert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

What can I say - my partner surprised me on a weekend away - I had no idea where I was going and we ended up in the Hunter Valley and then a couple of nights at the Wild Edge Retreat.

We were blown away to think accommodation like this was so close to home. The private rooms were beautiful, total modern luxury. We stayed in the Wind Spirit Pavilion having our own private infinity edge pool and spa the pictures on the website don't due this Pavilion justice you have to come and experience it to truly appreciate its beauty.

We highly recommend everyone who wants some time out with the ultimate indulgence. We believe everyone should come and experience this at least once in a life time regardless of your budget. The owners are fantastic and will do anything to make your experience truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It's always great when one of our guests are 'whisked away' for a surprise weekend - and even more so when there is a marriage proposal involved!

So pleased it all went to plan. The engagement ring is stunning and congratulations to you both.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Alan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful three night stay at Wild Edge Retreat. This place is immaculate and trust me, I’m a princess and wear my Tiara with pride. Everything is provided for your stay. The owners are welcoming then leave you alone to do your own thing. We only saw one other couple once when they walked past as they were departing.

The spa is huge, the king bed is comfy, the sheets are clean, the lounge is new and not saggy, everything in the kitchen is supplied that you would need. the balcony equipped with day-bed, BBQ and outdoor eating area were of huge proportion to accompany the amazing view.

Bring your own food as the local town does not have much to offer AND you won’t want to leave Wild Edge anyway!

I cannot recommend this place enough. We will definitely be back in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly2008095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for submitting your review of Wild Edge. I was pleased to read that you had both enjoyed your three night stay with us so much that you didn't want to leave!!

We are very conscious of making sure are guests are comfortable, and it seems as though we hit the mark with you - which is great.

Many thanks again for not only staying with us, but also for sharing you experience here.

Kind regards,

Alan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of celebrating our 30th wedding at Wild Edge Retreat. We're pretty sure that there is no other place on this earth where we could feel so pampered and at peace. As we walked into 'Nature's Mist', we were greeted by peaceful music, candle light and the most beautiful view over the valley and farmland below. Alan gave us time to recover from the 'WOW' factor and then walked us through the pavilion providing us with every detail needed to ensure that our stay was comfortable and uneventful. It was immaculately appointed. The food platters that we ordered were beautiful and contained everything that we needed and more!.....What more could you ask for than a lovely cup of plunger coffee with a Tim Tam while reclining on the lounge on the out door day bed. We felt privileged to stay at this most beautiful part of the world. Thank you Alan! Mary and Bruce

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mary and Bruce,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 30th Wedding Anniversary with us and for posting your review.

It was our pleasure to welcome you both. I always get a 'buzz' when guests walk into their Pavilion and the first word I hear is 'WOW'!!

So pleased that you enjoyed your experience of the Retreat and the platters that you had ordered.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Very best wishes and regards,

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
18.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
18.7 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Property: Wild Edge Retreat
Address: 260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing