We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"How's the serenity"”
Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of celebrating our 30th wedding at Wild Edge Retreat. We're pretty sure that there is no other place on this earth where we could feel so pampered and at peace. As we walked into 'Nature's Mist', we were greeted by peaceful music, candle light and the most beautiful view over the valley and farmland below. Alan gave us time to recover from the 'WOW' factor and then walked us through the pavilion providing us with every detail needed to ensure that our stay was comfortable and uneventful. It was immaculately appointed. The food platters that we ordered were beautiful and contained everything that we needed and more!.....What more could you ask for than a lovely cup of plunger coffee with a Tim Tam while reclining on the lounge on the out door day bed. We felt privileged to stay at this most beautiful part of the world. Thank you Alan! Mary and Bruce

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Mary and Bruce,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 30th Wedding Anniversary with us and for posting your review.

It was our pleasure to welcome you both. I always get a 'buzz' when guests walk into their Pavilion and the first word I hear is 'WOW'!!

So pleased that you enjoyed your experience of the Retreat and the platters that you had ordered.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Very best wishes and regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Breathtaking and Beyond perfect

Having read all the reviews of Wild Edge we had extremely high expectations. These were met and well exceeded. I could describe in detail the welcoming by Andrew, the feeling of complete relaxation as we were escorted to our pavilion, the overwhelming joy as we entered Wind Spirit, that can only be described as paradise ( yes there were tears), and the feelings of complete peace and togetherness that we felt the whole time we were at Wild Edge. However, words are not enough to begin to describe the most perfect honeymoon/vacation/retreat, you really need to experience it yourself. I am still overwhelmed as I recall our stay ,from the booking and arrangements, to the welcome, to the location, to the pristine condition of the pavilion, to the 6 star service, to the farewell by Alan. I cannot recommend Wild Edge highly enough. We will return to this amazing piece of heaven on earth. Thank you Andrew and Alan for providing us with the most amazing few days of our life. Iain and Annie

Room Tip: We had originally chosen Earth Song, were graciously upgraded to Wind Spirit. I think any of the fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Iain and Annie,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you spend your Honeymoon with us and I am probably almost as overwhelmed by your review as you were with our property!!

It's difficult to know what to say, except thank you so much for not only taking the time, but for writing such a positive review. Our aim at Wild Edge is not to just offer guests fantastic accommodation, amazing views and service, but a total experience, which it seems we succeed to do for you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Wild Edge....maybe for your anniversary!

Again, sincere thanks.

Kind regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After a great day of sightseeing around Wollombi and surrounding vineyards, we were looking to spend the rest of the weekend to unwind and relax. Wild Edge Retreat was certainly the place for us !!! With spectacular views during day and night, beautiful ambience and a wonderfully appointed pavilion (we stayed in Earth Song) we really didn't want to leave. The host of the resort, Alan, was keen to ensure that we were always comfortable and that our stay was all the more enjoyable. Thankyou for your great hospitality. George and Lydia

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fazzzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear George and Lydia,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your Pavilion and the hospitality we aim to extend to all of our guests.

Having travelled extensively ourselves, we know how important it is to feel welcomed and to actually be greeted by your hosts on arrival.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Alan Jordan
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thank you Alan for once again welcoming us to Wild Edge. It was a pleasure to celebrate my birthday at your unique, 6 star retreat and create the kind of lasting memories that will bring us back again and again.

Upon entering our immaculately presented pavillion, Whispering Forest (and yes, the forest does actually whisper!) one word springs to mind - Faultless. The attention to detail is amazing and our very kind, respectful hosts ensured that our stay was perfect in every way.

Things we loved.....the cosy wood fireplace, the soft music, the 2 person spa (sheer bliss), the spectacular floor to ceiling windows, the dreamy bed, the modern furnishings, the well equipped kitchen.

We spent much of our time on the private deck, just taking in the glorious views and were in awe of the ever-changing landscape from sunrise to sunset. We were fascinated with the abundance of bird life and watched as they happily pruned the native shrubs by day and were treated to a spectacular display of stars in the sky at night.

We wish we could keep this our little secret but that would be unfair to our hosts who work so hard creating such a unique experience for their guests.

We feel sure we leave the retreat as better people - appreciative of each other and at peace with the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Angela B,

What can I say?? It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the Retreat and your review has left me somewhat stuck for words! Naturally, we are always pleased to receive positive reviews and judging by yours, we hit the mark on every count, which is what we always strive to do. The only trouble now is.....how are we going to top that when you visit next time!!

Many thanks again and we hope to see you back at Wild Edge soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Absolutely beautiful and will definitely return...the attention to detail made the visit truly memorable.
The views were spectacular, with the design of the pavilion capitalising on every breathtaking angle. In particular, the hydrotherapy bath with the bi-folding doors opening out to the deck was a feast for the senses.
Simply beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BgirlTboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear B & T

Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your break with us and the magnificent views our Pavilions provide for our guests. They are indeed spectacular - I often wish I had more time to enjoy them myself! and relaxing in your hydrotherapy spa bath with the bi folds open and the view beyond, obviously left a lasting impression, which is great!!

Thank you again for the post and we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Before even leaving for Wild Edge we were so impressed with the service provide with a lovely call from Alan wishing us a safe journey. Alan is such a nice person and his hospitality was so welcoming and really is what makes Wild Edge perfect. He gave us a tour around our room (natures mist) and attention to detail was wonderful. He had music playing and the room nice and heated for our arrival, he really thought of everything. The state of the room was immaculate. The view from our room was spectacular, absolutely breathtaking, and the design of the villa really utilised the natural light perfectly. We couldn't have wished for a more perfect pace to spend a celebration for our 5 year anniversary. It's a magical place, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danarhiannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Danarhiannon,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at Wild Edge Retreat, and thank you so much for posting such a good review of the property. As the owner of the Retreat, it means a great deal when we hear that our guests have more than enjoyed their stay with us. We do work hard to try and surpass expectations and are constantly making little changes to the Pavilions so that when guests do return, there is always something different to see.

We look forward to welcoming you back - maybe for your next anniversary?

Kind regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

From the moment you make the reservation the friendly staff make it there priority to help you with any needs you may have. It's a perfect place for the romantic getaway or to just escape and unwind. We have been up there 5 times and each time find ourselves not wanting to leave.
Wild Edge Retreat ' you can sign us up as life long guests'

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jekehov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Jekhov,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of Wild Edge. It's always a pleasure to welcome our guests and especially those who have stayed so many times before. It feels more like 'catching up with friends'!.

At Wild Edge we try to offer something for our guests for every season of the year. Our popular pool Pavilions during the warmer months and the romantic log fires during the cooler months, and due to our unique mountain ridgeline location, the landscaper below constantly changes with the seasons.

'Life long Guests'......we can't ask for more than that!!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
18.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
17.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
18.8 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
220 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
160 reviews
2.4 mi away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#1 of 3 in Wollombi
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a mountain ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond. Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. All pavilions have a two person spa bath, Nespresso machines and a Bose sound system with bluetooth dock and a Dyson hairdryer. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. Connected by raised timber boardwalks, each of the architecturally designed Spa and Private Pool Spa Pavilions seem to float effortlessly above the trees and landscape below. Here you will instantly lose yourself in a world of romance, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing