We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect honeymoon!”
Review of Wild Edge Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Edge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“The perfect honeymoon!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

During the 2011 Christmas period we were fortunate enough to spend 4 nights in the Wind Spirit pavilion. From the very moment you arrive at the retreat it is clear that you are in for something special. The location is second to none as is the level of service provided by your most welcoming and helpful hosts. Within the pavilion, every detail has been thought of right down to the aeroguard under the sink. The aroma of wonderful breakfasts with incredibly tasty locally made sausages even aroused the interest of two friendly Goannas who could often be seen in the bush below the deck. We were glad we brought along enough food to see us through our stay as once there we didn't want to leave and for the 4 days, we rarely stepped out the front door.

Can't wait to return!

Stacy & Michael Bird.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    0
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
96
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Words can't begin to describe how wonderful this retreat is - you really need to experience it for yourself to realise what a gem this place is.
We were after much need R&R and our Whispering Forest pavillion provided us with the serenity we were looking for. Everything had been thought of including a welcome into our Pavillion with wonderful music and scented oil. We loved the way we never saw or heard any other guests even though the retreat was completely booked for the 5 nights we were there from Boxing Day.

First thoughts were how well-cared for the Pavillion and grounds appeared...perfect in every detail (and no spiders on the daybed!). Breakfasts are generous and yummy - and Andrew you were right, the sausages were delicious!
Thank you Alan and Andrew for being perfect hosts who were happy to oblige with any request in the most unobtrusive manner.
Janice & Denis H

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed in the wind spirit pavilion and could not find anything to fault. It was the perfect combination of luxury and relaxation.

The pavilion provides ultimate privacy, leaving you with just the serene views to absorb. The spa bath, with it's opening doors, the private pool and day bed were condusive to pure relaxation.

We were impressed with the warm welcome and accommodating nature of our host, Allan.

We would recommend without hesitation to anyone looking for a weekend (or even midweek) getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platypai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Two night at Natures Mist was the perfect getaway for romance and relaxation. A very warm and helpful greeting followed by a spotlessly clean villa with scented oils and soothing music. A lovely day bed to lay on and watch the day pass as well as a plunge pool. Romantic candle lit bathroom overlooking a lush green valley was the perfect end to a lounge about day. Alan did all that was possible to make us feel welcome and we would highly recommend this retreat for anybody looking to getaway from the hustle and bustle. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All villas are very private with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

What a wonderful way to bring in the new year! My hubby and I stayed in the Natures Mist Pavillion and it was simply stunning. Everything is there for you, the pool was spectacular and I loved the day bed to lounge on. Andrew and Alan went out of there way to ensure we were comfortable even bringing us little "party" packs to ring in the new year with!

Thank you so much, it was amazing! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjinx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have had my eye on this retreat for a while now and finally got to experience it for my boyfriend and my 5 year anniversary. It doesn't get any more beautiful and romantic than this place!!! This retreat is by far the most amazing place we have EVER come across.I actually find it difficult to put into words how extraordinary Wild Edge Retreat is. From the moment we got there we were greeted by the host Alan, who was an absolute pleasure to deal with and makes you feel right at home the moment you arrive. The retreat itself is just spectacular with beautiful views and as soon as you enter the gate of the retreat it is like entering a completely different world of relaxation and tranquility. The pavilion itself was absolutely INCREDIBLE that you don't want to leave (I was speechless when I first walked in). It is so beautifully furnished with flawless finishes and attention to detail. Everything was pure perfection from the beautiful views from the pavillion and bathroom, the bedding, the outdoor relaxation area and the lovely breakfast treats that are provided. Every single last, tiny detail has been carefully thought of and taken care of by the owner of the retreat. The pavilion was so unbelievably clean and even on arrival we were greeted with soothing music and beautiful smells because of the burning oils. We stayed in the Nature's Mist pavilion with a private pool overlooking nothing but green bushland which just captivates you for hours. I honestly can't speak more highly of this retreat or recommend it enough! This retreat is an absolute must for a romantic getaway or even just to relax away from the world. After staying here, I don't think we can stay anywhere else..it is honestly exceptional..We will DEFINITELY be back for more, just stunning!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renaenils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I celebrated his birthday and NYE 2011/12 at Wild Edge Retreat, staying in the Wind Spirit Pavilion. The Retreat is private and secluded, and surrounded by beautiful bushland. The views of the valleys and mountains are spectacular. The grounds of the Retreat are beautiful maintained, and the buggy ride to the Pavilion was a treat. The Pavilion itself was spacious, beautifully appointed and the ultimate in luxury accommodation. With our own private pool, king size day bed, two-person hydrotherapy spa, fully equiped kitchen, foxtel and surround sound, deck lounges and bbq (just to name a few) there was no reason for us to leave the Pavilion during our three night stay! What a quiet, relaxing and rejuvinating weekend away, and a perfect way to welcome in the new year.

Room Tip: Book the Wind Spirit Pavilion. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
18.2 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
18.7 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Edge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Property: Wild Edge Retreat
Address: 260 Craft Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing