We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country breakfast with city style.”
Review of Bent on Food

Bent on Food
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Wingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bent on Food is a foodies paradise, offering an extensive range of gourmet goodies for all your culinary needs. Bent on Food takes pride in an extensive range of produce including lovely olive oils, chutneys, local cheeses and marinated fruits, delivering a menu that is fresh and simple, created to showcase the local region and the vast range of products on offer, including many organic options. Take a walk in the kitchen garden or relax with a glass of wine and a tasty lunch. Bent on Food also offers a gourmet hamper service, off site catering for weddings and events, music and entertainment nights along with private functions including parties and launches. Open 7 days for breakfast and lunch or just pop in for a coffee any time. Make sure you visit Bent on Food, the regions most awarded restaurant. Call us to find out about our catering services and our vintage caravan. PLEASE CALL AHEAD ON PUBLIC HOLIDAYS TO CHECK HOURS
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited Bent on Food after reading an article in our local newspaper and weren't disappointed. Great breakfast and good coffee with a country smile and leisurely pace. Terrific range of locally produced condiments, sauces, oils, honey and cheese. Situated in the main street of Wingham and well worth a detour off the freeway on your way north or south.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodlover4552, Owner at Bent on Food, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thanks Tony,
We appreciate your lovely review, the article in the Newcastle Herald was wonderful for us and helped us to attract more lovely people from Newcastle who enjoyed a wonderful time in Wingham. Our breakfasts are pretty popular. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bent on Food, hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 234 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We came here twice, initially for lunch though we were too full to try the recommended chai latte, so had to come back again a few hours later. We both enjoyed the food and drink very much, loved being able to stroll out the back and see where their own grown produce is made. The staff were very friendly, admittedly the prices seemed a little high when we first saw the menu, but once we tasted the amount of care and effort that went into the food it was obvious as to the reasoning. Wish there was one in Sydney! Definitely have to come back to Wingham in the future so we can come back here.

1  Thank Ash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodlover4552, Owner at Bent on Food, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thanks Ash for your lovely review and we are pleased that you enjoyed our food and hospitality, and that you had the opportunity to sit in our beautiful kitchen garden.
Regards,
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

After reading other reviews online we headed out to Wingham from Taree.
We are so pleased we did as the food here and the coffee was divine!
So fresh and well priced. Hands down the best Chai Latte I've ever had!
The service was excellent. If you have the time take a little stroll out the back to check out their garden, a cute little spot where they grow their own produce.
It has wheelchair access and is child friendly. We found this to be a highlight of our country weekend getaway, well worth it. So delicious! A must do if in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sydney_AustraliaChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodlover4552, Owner at Bent on Food, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for a lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Bent on Food. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place is great! it is a mixture of cafe / deli and homewares shop - and they really work hard to keep things fresh and upbeat and high quality. We had breakfast there twice and all of us enjoyed everything. Many local, organic ingredients are used - and they source things from other providers - like the special sausage guy in Taree who makes the delicious kransky sausages! The scrambled eggs with feta and dill were delicious - and beautifully cooked. Fresh croissants, frappes etc everything was really nice - we bought some of their tomato relish to take home. the best meal was the poached eggs with asparagus, smoked salmon, mushrooms, toast - wonderful. Coffee is excellent.
they make their own cheese - and run classes to teach you! They do put some effort into turning up at competitions and have lots of awards on show - and that probably hones their skills. Such a surprise to drive out to little country Wingham and find such a place!

1  Thank DownunderSugarglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodlover4552, Owner at Bent on Food, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Wow what a lovely review, thanks so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Bent on Food, much appreciated.
Regards,
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Easily found in the main street of Wingham, this doesn't look like a fine dining establishment, but it is. It;s open during the day for lunch etc but for dinner only on Friday and Saturday nights. It was recommended to us for a meal and we're glad we went. At first glance you may dismiss it as a specialty delicatessen but it's much more than that. The menu is interesting, offering plenty of choice at what seem to be fair prices. Service was friendly, welcoming and efficient.

My confit duck was excellent, served with red wine sauce ($30), and my partners calamari with salad ($20) was fabulous, although we had ordered the version on the specials board which should have included mango, however she received the menu version without. Minor issue as the meal was very good.

We also indulged ourselves and shared a brownie for dessert, served with a brilliant musk ice cream. Wonderful flavour and the brownie was large, thick and moist.

The prices are fair, not cheap, but the food is worth it, all up the meal, which included a shared Turkish bread entree and a couple of drinks cost us $85. There's a reasonable wine list too. They're working hard to produce good food using local products, and succeeding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kjbMirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodlover4552, Owner at Bent on Food, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of our evening dining, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and we appreciate you feedback.
Regards,
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bent on Food also viewed

Wingham, New South Wales
Taree, New South Wales
 
Wingham, New South Wales
 
Taree, New South Wales
 

Been to Bent on Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing