We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Cliffs Underground Motel
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
69
87
34
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
87
34
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbroken hillunique place to stayrabbit warrencommunal bathroomnew managersgarlic breadrooms are basicensuite roombarramundiother guestsmining towncooked breakfastoutback nswa great staystayed one nightstaying undergroundliving underground
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 215 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Although this is not cheap accommodation it is well worth the cost for the experience of spending a few nights in an underground room. The first impression is that of a rabbit warren however as you become familiar with the layout you soon find your way around to the share bathrooms and dining room and bar.
White Cliffs is an interesting Opal Mining town. Very hot in summer months.
Would recommend a visit. Robem

Room Tip: All rooms are underground.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed one night at the White Cliffs Underground Motel. It is definitely different and an experience. The service is friendly and very good. But the best things are the quite, dark and cool rooms. Of course - you are underground!!! This was a nice change on our trip West. A room without air condition but nice and cool. The rooms are large with a double a bed and one or two single beds. Showers and toilets are not in the room. But there are a few of each in the bathroom section. So no waiting time there. Breakfast is included. Standard but very good and plenty.
Situated in the middle of almost nowhere it is most likely the only true accommodation. Due to that it´s not cheap. There is also not too much to see around. Spending a few nights there are relaxing but also expensive. Nevertheless I would recommend going there. It´s a welcome change to your Outback tour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffingott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

What a great place to stay while in White Cliffs. Very comfortable rooms, clean bathrooms and the pool was very welcome after a long drive. Host was very pleasant and helpfull. Would recommend anyone to stay at the dug-out motel !! Marilyn

Room Tip: Very dark rooms when the light is out.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

As with others who have reviewed this underground motel, we had never stayed underground and were excited to do so. We booked two nights on-line and had excellent service from the staff throughout the booking. We arrived in White Cliffs and hoped that it would meet our expectations. We had a lovely cool room with a comfortable bed and attractive rustic furniture. It was so dark and quiet at night that we slept in until 8am easily. We were a little surprised to have to walk down the hall to the toilets and showers, but after exploring the complex, could see why it would be too difficult to have bathrooms in every room. The hallways were painted rock with several areas showing the natural buff and red colors -- very attractive. There is a great viewpoint up 44 stairs, and we watched the sunset one night, and a wonderful dust and lightning storm the next -- amazing photos from there. The historical center was very interesting and there is something to see. One of the best parts of our stay was meeting interesting people at meals -- and of course the meals themselves were very good too. (We would have liked more choice perhaps in the meals however as the same three choices were offered each day.) All in all, we enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anyone who would enjoy a unique experience in the outback. And of course, we enjoyed touring the local sights like the opal shops and diggings, although it didn't take too long to do that. The local roads are rough but it is the Outback!! We enjoyed the above gorund pool each afternoon -- a great way to cool off.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda4730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Having never stayed underground, I was keen to stay in this motel. It was cool and pleasant. The staff were friendly and the general atmosphere was comfortable. It is usual that motel rooms have their own en-suites but this was not the case here - when you see the place, you can appreciate the difficulties there would be in installing plumbing to each room. The shared bathroom facilities were clean, functional and sufficiently private. I am also used to using my mobile phone and re-charging it in the motel at night. Of course there is no reception underground and there is only one power-point in each room so that one needs to disconnect the bedside light or bring a double adaptor. (And if you're on any network other than Telstra, your phone won't work anyway). White Cliffs is a very unusual little town and there is not a lot to do unless one wants to buy opals, but the locals are friendly. A visit is worthwhile and a stay in the Underground Motel is a great part of the experience. I wouldn't stay for a week but it is well worth a one night detour from the Barrier Highway if travelling between Sydney and Broken Hill. I'm told it gets very hot in summer so you may wish not to visit then .... but, if you do, you'll really appreciate how cool underground living can be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews