We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Cliffs Underground Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Cliffs
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at White Cliifs very late in the day on an extremely hot afternoon. It was a pleasure to check in to find our rooms very cool, comfortable and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and obliging. The meals (dinner and breakfast) were also very good. A lovely experience to stay underground in the cool.

Room Tip: Choose a room near to the bathroom amenities as they are above ground at the front of the Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 197 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Motel was clean and quiet and the staff very helpful, staying underground was a cool experience and my 12 year old son loved it. Don't expect too much it is a bit basic for the price and the meals are quite expensive for what you get but the overheads are probably high as the place is so remote. We would definatley revisit, there's not that much to do in White Cliffs and found one night was plenty, if you plan to go fossiking I would'nt advise taking kid to the fossiking area as there are hundreds of open shafts. We had a puncture there and although a local was helpful and tried to fix it he was unable and advised us to go to Wilcannia 100k's away. We nervousley drove there and found the mechanic who told us he was too busy and that we should get it fixed in Broken Hill, after another nervous 200k's we arrived at Broken Hill and Beau Repairs had it repaied in 10 minutes, this was the only down side to a fantastic trip

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great staff
Great location
Clean, tidy and very unique.
Would definately recommend.
the drive out eas great and sceninic, just watch for sheep and cattle, there are no fences there to keep them in.
The town its self has no real food outlets except for a small take away or you can eat a reasonable meal at the motel
The rooms are tidy but there are no tv's fridges etc allowed in the rooms but there are sitting areas scattered around for you to relax
all in all a great and memorable experience

Room Tip: deeper in the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan_Sydney_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A novel experience sleeping underground, certainly wonderfully quiet and a constant temperature.

Richard, the owner of the motel said there was nowhere to eat in town other than a takeaway, so we needed to book to eat in the motel by 4pm that day, which we did. He also gave us a mud map of the town so we could explore. It is a very small town indeed. However, a drive round the mullock heaps was interesting and a stop at one of the opal shops quite informative.

Dinner at the Underground Motel was at 6.30pm and we ate at communal tables which was fun, always great to meet new people. The meal is a set three courses for $35 each, which was a soup, meat and veg, then a cheesecake and icecream. Adequate but not memorable. We bought a bottle of red for $28. Breakfast is included in the tarrif of $135 for a double room. However, the rooms do not have ensuites. It's shared facilities down the hall. Bit expensive but I guess one pays for the uniqueness of the place.

The road in to White Cliffs from the Wilcannia/Broken Hill Road is delightful, some great vistas. We visited at the end of August and the country was looking quite lush.

We opted to drive from White Cliffs to Broken Hill via the Kayrunnera/White Cliffs Road, which is a dirt road. It started off quite well until we changed shires and the road then became considerably more rocky. Not a lot of traffic on this road at all, until we came to the Mutawintji National Park turnoff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Perfectly cool in summer and nice and warm in winter. Really different place to stay that's very good. Great «dug outs» great food, cold beer and very nice hosts. Well worth the trip and definitely the place to stay in White Cliffs.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is the most bizarre motel we have ever stayed in. The majority of it is dug into the side of a hill and is therefore underground. Our room was basically a glorified cave, and we felt a little like we were living in a rabbit warren. Still, a most interesting experience. A pity though that the rooms didn’t have en-suites, rather you had to walk a short distance to the shower and toilet rooms, which were a bit above caravan park standard but not much. At $135 per night, it seemed expensive for what it was, but you are here mainly for the experience of sleeping underground. A basic continental breakfast is included in the tariff and dinner is available for $35 per person for a hearty country-style three course meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aussiekpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What makes this place special is its location - underground. old opal mining tunnels have been turned into hallways and rooms, given a coat of white paint,carpet put I n the floor and a few doors...hey presto, a motel. The rooms are basic, just white painted caves, but they have a charm. The fittings are simple. Desk, bed, chair and that's about it. No ensuites, but there's are plenty of bathrooms closer to the surface where it was possible to put the plumbing. Well worth the experience. dinner is a fixed menu in what looks like a mess hall, but it does have a bar and several lounges scattered around. Obviously no wifi or mobile reception in the rooms, but there is a connection available up the top
It's now the only place underground for tourists in White Cliffs...another excellent underground B&B, PJ's has now closed, unfortunately. Now just a private residence

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maryb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Cliffs Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cliffs Underground Motel

Address: 129 Smiths Hill, White Cliffs, New South Wales 2836, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > White Cliffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Cliffs
Price Range: $114 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Cliffs Underground Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underground Hotel White Cliffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing