We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in White Cliffs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Cliffs Underground Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Cliffs
Poland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We paid $200 for a room, dinner and continental breakfast. Which i thik is a lot as you do not have your own bathroom and dinner was nothing spectacular. We were in room number 5 that has two entrances - one from corridor and one from the bathroom so it was convininent (but a bit laud as you could hear everyone passing your room). You have to be prepare to share the dinner table and wait ages at the bar. The owners are lovely and it is an unusual place...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnafromPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    75
    32
    10
    11
See reviews for
43
89
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is what to expect:
An authentic opal mine converted into a warren of clean, adequate motel rooms; clean, adequate shared bathrooms with flushing toilets, good showers and a degree of privacy; an evening meal, should you choose to book in for it.
This is what not to expect:
Much service or a lack of confusion at the front desk. This is literally a husband and wife team and, when we stayed over Easter, there looked to be about 60 people for dinner; a drink from the bar when you want it (same reason as above); gourmet food (the menu was similar to that served at a kid's camp); much breakfast; a normal notion of value for money -- we paid $270 for a family of 3 for a night including above dinner and breakfast.
I say all this without complaint. This is a very remote place. Shipping food in would be expensive. Hiring staff would be very difficult. Just maintaining the place would be a struggle -- and the place is very well maintained. The owners are nice, genuine people who work hard to provide the level of service provided. There is a demand for their facility and they do their best to meet it. I'm glad I visited and the whole concept was very interesting but it really is something to do for the novelty -- and pay a premium for it too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson bay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Having telephoned in advance because I am not good with confined spaces, and promised a room with a window, on arrival an incredibly rude man thrust a map at us and told us the room number. We entered the terrifying maze of tunnels and could not find our room. On return to reception we were rudely told we should have been able to find it with a map, and were reluctantly shown the way.. On arrival at our room, no light, and when it was finally lit up, it was just like a cave with no sign of a window. I enquired about the window, and was told with no apology that room was not available,even though it had been specifically booked. We were then told if we did not like it to go somewhere else!! Which we certainly did. It was very very claustrophobic do not even consider it unless you are brave and thick skinned

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pogerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I once stayed in a cave hotel in Turkey, but this was a very different experience, as the whole hotel was underground, not just the rooms. It was a bit of a maze, but that just made it all the more interesting, if you got lost, you always found something else that you didn't know was there. We stayed in winter, so was a little worried that it would be cold and damp, but it wasn't. The beds were comfortable and the shared shower facilities only a short distance away from our room and quite adequate without being luxurious. Plenty of room around the bar area to meet other guests and exchange travel stories. I was even able to connect to the hotel wifi system, at a reasonable cost to check my emails. Meals were not haute cuisine, but good quality, simple, home-style cooking and plenty of it.
I thought White Cliffs a much more interesting town than Lightning Ridge and would happily stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkey_Baster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

After a 180km round trip out of our way just for the "experience" of this motel it was VERY expensive and disappointing. I had been quoted over the phone $195 for the night including dinner and breakfast ( funny that they do not have prices on their website!) but when I went to check out in the morning the manager wanted $335 for one nights accommodation, dinner and breakfast! This was for 2 adults and 2 young children and because I did not have my quote in writing, I did not have any legal recourse! Dinner was a set menu of salty vegetable soup, a small serve of roast beef and cabbage, and apple crumble for dessert, for $140 for a family of 4 this is very poor value for money! The facilities were very disappointing also. There is threadbare carpet lifted throughout the halls, very sparse rooms that have no facilities other than a desk, wardrobe and lumpy bed and our door (room 26) did not shut without putting you shoulder into it and shoving, the TV room has a TV from the 70's with 3 channels and a lounge that looks like they got it from the local dump! There is also broken tiles in very dated bathrooms that you share with the other 30 odd rooms after trudging 5 minutes through a maze of corridors! This is not a nice experience with a 6 year old in the middle of the night! This motel was the most expensive of all 8 motels we stayed in during our holiday... even more expensive than our spa room in a 4 and a half star hotel in Broken Hill! After travelling out of our way, for a family of four this is a complete rip off for the "experience" that we got!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imocai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed here while on a self fly trip around Australia in our own light Cessna aircaft and it was one of the highlights of our trip. We were collected from the airstrip by the motel staff and taken to our "digs" which were very comfortable. Bathroom facilities were shared and down the hallway a bit due to no plumbing being allowed underground. They were clean and well maintained so no big drama. After we droppped our bags in the room we were about to head out to explore the town on foot when without having asked the staff, they offered their van for us to use for the afternoon to enable us to do some serious exploring, the only proviso being we add a little bit of fuel when we finished.

Dinner was a set menu and was simple but great. The best part of the dinner was the seating. When we arrived the hosts seated us on a table with other guests which encouraged us to chat with them and resulted in a pleasant evening. This was one of the friendliest places we stayed at in 16 days of flying around oz and the townfolk were real characters!

Just remember to turn your phone off in doors as there is no signal underground and it will gos flat in no time while it keeps trying to find signal. We used a small room at the top of the stairways to the roof to get signal and use laptop with internet and it had great views to boot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyboy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

A very interesting accomodation!

Room was as in photos and brochures. Temp in room is always pleasant at 22 celcius (it was 40 outside when we arrived). Room was clean and spacious and had suitcase table, wardrobe, dressing table & mirror. Mattress needs to be replaced, it sinks in the middle and is fairly thin. Bathrooms & toilets are at "separate" part of the errr "building". Fresh towels and soaps are provided.

The corridor maze is very interesting and so is the underground bar. They also offer dinner and breakfast which we didn't try but dinner sounded like a good deal. There is a swimming pool at the front (ground level) and shaded car park.

Definitely worth a try !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundDeWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Cliffs Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Cliffs Underground Motel

Property: White Cliffs Underground Motel
Address: 129 Smiths Hill, White Cliffs, New South Wales 2836, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > White Cliffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Cliffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Underground Hotel White Cliffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing