We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Country Retreat.”
Review of Hermitage Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hermitage Hill
Ranked #1 of 8 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I Stayed in the Hotel at the Cottage and it was very Nice. I returned there and I stayed on the individual room. It is very small and Very Dark but clean. The Shared Bathroom and Toilets was very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sergiosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 42 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I needed somewhere to stay whilst I attended the very sad occasion of my Uncle's funeral. I couldn't have found a more peaceful, comfortable and welcoming place to stay. I booked for myself and other relatives all travelling from different states and driving very long distances thus arriving at different, and rather late, times. The managers at Hermitage Hill were so welcoming and made every effort to make our stay comfortable. Nothing seemed too much trouble. We stayed in the guest house which, although modern, still retains it's old world charm. The main buildings are magnificent and a wonderful reminder of a time gone by. Unlike the other motels in Wellington, Hermitage Hill does not suffer from the terrible rumble of traffic from the main road. In fact it is so peaceful and quiet it's hard to remember that you are within walking distance to town !
I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful country retreat.

Room Tip: The guest house is fantastic if you are travelling as a group. Ask for a room that has verandah acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Would not honour booking/voucher and were extremely rude with about it, they had over booked us for a function. I would not recommend this place for either functions or accommodation, possibly the worst customer service I have ever experienced. No refund and no accommodation. Never saw the rooms but if they were as inhospitable as the management I certainly would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grayhairedsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not for city slickers, but this place and it's location are about as genuine country town as you can get while still accessing water, tv, air conditioning, comfy clean beds. Overall it's a nice stay. The place was originally a hospital and has been renovated with a touch of olde world charm. It has a number of cottages available for families but each room/cottage is unique so difficult to critique. Our cottage was the original store and has a claw foot bath and classic tiles. The balcony view was a serene view overlooking the valley and a mob of kangaroos. There are security gates. Restaurant only open Friday and Saturday nights so shop at Coles or Woolies and use the plates, cups and cutlery provided.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Felt like management had some issue with company they had the package deal with. Didnt offer anywhere for our two children to stay with us as an extra just that upgrading would cost more than the package.
Probably my fault just expected a little more in the way of flexibility being a little country town. But I am from the bush and it was only an internet deal.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jim201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The old hospital has been wonderfully restored and retains its original character. The town itself is a bit of a let down - but the guest house and main reception area are wonderful if you are looking for a period building with lots of charm. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was also very nice. Only down side of the place was the lack of bathrooms/toilets in the guest house - 13 rooms and only 2 toilets/bathrooms for the girls.......

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here on a Friday night. The room was very small but nicely furnished. There was only one bedside table and the room was very dark. It has been converted from the old hospital - but they should have joined two room together to make each room much more comfortable. The room including the ensuite was very clean. We had been advised that the restaurant was open but when we walked over it was closed! Very limited eating options in Wellington.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermitage Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hill

Address: 135 Maxwell Street, Wellington, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $84 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermitage Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hermitage Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing