We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Flathead Salad and Chips”
Review of The Ivory Tavern

The Ivory Tavern
Ranked #44 of 94 Restaurants in Tweed Heads
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really Good Flathead Salad and Chips”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

There were 8 of us in a family group, ordered 7 fish and chips ( Friday night is fish night special) and one pizza. The food was great, the beer was cold and reasonably priced and we were looked after very well. Thanks for a good night out that didn't cost an arm and a leg.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdrianandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    65
    36
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not Bad for a Pub”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We enjoy going to the Ivory for a cheap meal. The food is good and the beer is cold. One very important thing is they support the local producers. The last time we were there we tried the Pickled Pig' Beer which was ginger in taste - excellent beer and produced in South Tweed. Well Done for supporting up and coming busimesses.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krissy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great steak”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very good food here and friendly service. I asked for my sirloin to be medium rare but it came out rare, but it was perfect and delicious. Nice location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Pub Food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had lunch as part of a group. Menu fantastic, lots to choose from - the old favourites as well as a more modern fresh approach to pub food. Service was great, very pleasant and efficient staff. Unfortunately the food was a little cold by the time it reached us, only to be hampered by sitting outside on the deck. Amazing setting on the water, you don't even remember you are on a main road when you get in there. The interior is furnished to a high standard and seemed really clean and inviting. Will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubbelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Will never return”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I attended the ivory hotel restaurant for a work lunch and arrived at 12noon, our party was left waiting for about 10min before anyone come over to seat us. We then ordered a bread and mains 2 medium rare steaks. well the bread arrived no problem but after approx 40min the waitress came over and asked if we had ordered ( the same waitress that took our order in the first place ), another 20min later I got up and asked what was going on as all the other tables around us has been served and had finished and we still didn't have ours. This waitress advised me that it was busy and a delay in the kitchen. REALLY.! We did get our meals but both Medium Rare steaks were so not worth the wait. Extremely Poor service by the staff. I will not have another business lunch here again. DISAPPOINTING to say the least. The management need to have a good hard look at the operation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madditk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivory Tavern also viewed

Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 

Been to The Ivory Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing