We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful dog friendly cafe, with excellent gallery”

Sheoak Shack Gallery Cafe
Ranked #10 of 92 Restaurants in Tweed Heads
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful dog friendly cafe, with excellent gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Sheoak Shack is a beautiful relaxed spot to enjoy breakfast / brunch after exercising your dog on the nearby off leash beach. We love bringing our Border Collie here, and meeting friends on the weekend. We share a pizza and a pot of fresh lemongrass tea, and life really doesn't get much better.

The attached gallery is well curated and full of lovely gifts and art works, including exquisite local Indigenous crafts. Well worth a visit :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeniallenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Delight for the Senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Sheoak Shack is an inviting family friendly cafe...From the laid back chilled ambience to the spectacular view of the majestic Tweed River this cafe keeps me coming back again and again. The relaxed vibes and dog-friendly attitude make for a special day/night out. The tasty food leaves you wanting more and the Mango Daiquiris are divine!! (My favorite!!)... They do a scrumptious breakfast with great coffee to !!
I'm always excited to take a stroll through the gallery/gift shop. I think it's so wonderful that they're able to support the local art community in such a positive way.
I should pay mention to the cool bands that play there on a Saturday night. The place fills up fast so best to get in early for a good seat. The joint gets jumping!!
I reckon The Sheoak Shack really is in a league of it's own.
It's so rare to find such a special blend of so many elements anywhere. Great- price, view, food, cocktails, coffee, location, staff, ambience, decor, gallery, music, movies and a family / dog friendly environment. This venue is popular for wedding receptions & private functions so its alway good to check their Facebook page or call ahead.
And finally a big thumbs up for management & her staff, whom seem to always be smiling.
Definitely a recipe for a rewarding day out!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leezy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best chill out!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

On a ten day trip of Australia and this was the best stop for lunch on the whole trip! we managed to stay all day! Amazing smoothies and the owner andrea is so chilled and friendly we felt like we were locals! All the staff were lovely. U must drop in!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quitclubabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sheoks experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a must for anyone wanting a slighty different experience, make great fresh organic foods, are also licensed and have live music for dinner, great!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank veronicaKingscliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a great alternative to Tweed Heads hussle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

close to Tweed Head, only 10-15 minute drive away. Very simple outdoor (covered) area with retro furniture and feel. Good coffee and a place to watch the comings and goings of others. Art gallery inside is worth a look.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheoak Shack Gallery Cafe also viewed

Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 

Been to Sheoak Shack Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing