We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do for the Tweed”

Coolangatta Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Tweed Heads
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gold Coast Whale Watching Tours with Coolangatta Whale Watch, June to November, 7 days, 100% guaranteed whales or receive a full refund or another ticket, 100% success in seeing whales since 2006. Big safe boat, only 46 passengers, owned and operated by Tony and Carol with over 11 years experience. 3hr Tour, morning tea, commentary and loads of fun.
1 review
“A must do for the Tweed”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great morning activity, very informative commentary and friendly crew. Saw whales as soon as we left the Tweed River mouth! Fabulous opportunity for everyone to experience in your lifetime, best location to enjoy these wonderful creatures.

Helpful?
Thank Kata E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    22
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Superb day out! Excellently organised! The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and personable! Great value for money! A must if you are in the area! My first time whale watching and what an amazing experience all round! Thankyou!!

Helpful?
Thank Cshells11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a day!!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Went out on the 16th September 2012, and we were amongst the whales in about 20 minutes. Amazing !!!!!!! The running narrative was exceptional. The entire crew were great, friendly and could not be more friendly if they tried. We took our parents with us and they were amazed. They commented that they had been on other whale watching trips and this was the best so far. Will be coming back.. Highly recommend this to a

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great whale watching trip, can't wait to go back again”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a wonderful morning out on Coolangatta Whale Watcher, the crew were great, very informative commentary. They made sure we all knew where the whales were so we could all see and great great photos. Whales came right up to the boat, so close, we saw double whale tails at the same time, Magnificent. Saw whales within 15 minutes of starting the trip, and lost count of the number we saw today. We got to listen to whale songs when they used the microphone under the sea. We also saw lots of flying fish and on the way back to jetty we had the pleasure of dolphins all around the boat. We highly recommend this trip as it is smaller than many of the other vessels on the Gold Coast. Thank you to the wonderful staff onboard for a fantastic time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank megoo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Whales galore - Oh what an afternoon”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I'd recommend Coolangatta Whale Watch as a must do experience while on the Gold Coast. We have been Whale watching in a number of different areas, however, the 16th August 2012 was special. Nicky's commentary was brilliant and Tony (the skipper) was very friendly and skillful putting us into a the right position to enjoy the afternoon's viewing of what nature had to offer. Saw a minke whale breech which Nicky informed us was a rare experience. Turtles, dolphins and oh so many Humpback whales. Dozens breaching including a spectacular twin breech as we were about to re-enter the tweed bar. The professional photos taken were much better than mine and a great momento of the afternoon. Thanks

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolangatta Whale Watch also viewed

Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
Tweed Heads, New South Wales
 

Been to Coolangatta Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing