We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning to fellow travelers.”
Review of Calico Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calico Court Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Tweed Heads B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is my second visit to Australia and it is an absolutely beautiful Country! I am amazed at how friendly the people are, always greeting. This Calico Court Motel though, is an exception. It does not represent the country at all. If your an asian, avoid the place like the plague. He will assume you are only here because you come from a poor country and you are here to work. Imagine, he did not hesitate to tell us to go back where we came from and vacate his property (plus bad words I would not repeat here). We arrived at the motel admitted past 11pm because we saw a movie. Another car droved in and accidentally triggered the alarm of their own car. Assuming it was us, he told us we woke up the whole neighborhood and immediately told us to vacate his property. Not wanting to stay here no matter what, we asked for a refund and left. He did not matter we had a 7 month baby along. We reported the incident to the nearest police station. The manader/owner of this motel is definitely in the wrong business.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Jeremias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Calico Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 54 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

So my work on the GC has run long so I had to find another bed for the night, on entering the reception a rather rotund woman shuffled out of a back room to ask me what I wanted, when I stated I would like a room for the night I was met with an abrupt 'For how many!' just myself was my answer which was met with a grunt.
The room was old style as per the photo, awful curtains circa 1980, bed was horrendous, foam with no inner spring is totally unacceptable... woke up with terrible back pain, furniture was... well old. Television was good though, 40" HDTV with a couple of odd cable channels... Syfy isn't usually a feature in motels and hotels in Australia but here it is!
Kettle 'auto off' didn't work so had to keep an eye on it so it didn't boil dry
Another odd feature is a ( I assume!) breakfast hatch where the manager can open a hatch and place a tray of food inside for the occupant, never seen this before but I assume it is from 1960?
Best not try sleep in after 7.30am, drilling started right on the dot, even though they could have waited until check out time at 10.00am they started drilling in the unit next to the one I was in!
Internet is way over priced at $7.50 per hour!!! if you need internet, go to Woolworths and buy a wireless internet dongle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't to keen at staying here but work paid for it so had no choice. How wrong was I! The room I stayed in was exactly how I said on the title of my review. Service was great. Never judge a book by its cover. Only negative is no right turn but that's easy fixed by referring to your GPS. Will stay here whenever I need to attend head office for work every couple months

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The service and the room were OK though there wasn't a kitchenette. It's not good to have the "non refundable" policy because there are always unexpected things to happen in life.
Worst of all, the manager was so rude and had a sense of discrimination. I've never met such an manager using swear words and offensive words to clients. Anyway, the incorrect English grammar on the information booklet shows the literate level of that manager. I'll never come back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Long H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The room was very good. But the staff is terrible, they keep on disturbing us, they basically ruined our stay at the motel, I would never come back to this motel again and I will not recommend this motel to other people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0ng101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just stayed one night as we were trying to outrun the recent floods it was only $75 for the night found it to be very comfortable & clean good value for money when you look at others for over $100 & a lot a dirty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlsmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Been staying here on & off for 5 years. They've made some changes & upgrades & yet continue to offer great rates. Comfy beds (a plus for me) in comfy rooms. Lots of hot water always & everything works. Great BBQ area where you can invite friends. Has a pool that is good in warm weather. Friendly & helpful managers. On bus route & close to South Tweed & Tweed shopping centres. Easy flat walk along the river and to clubs and dining outlets. Airport is a $20 taxi ride.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tweed Heads
0.9 mi away
Bayswater Tweed Motel
Bayswater Tweed Motel
#7 of 12 in Tweed Heads
63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Coolangatta
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arabella Motor Inn
Arabella Motor Inn
#9 of 12 in Tweed Heads
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,083 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Lights Motel
City Lights Motel
#10 of 12 in Tweed Heads
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calico Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calico Court Motel

Address: 29-33 Minjungbal Dr, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2486, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tweed Heads
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tweed Heads
Price Range: $70 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calico Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Calico Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing