We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family motel ”
Review of City Lights Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lights Motel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family motel ”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in room #29. We are a family of 6 and we had lots of room to spread out and relax. Rooms are clean and have t.vs, microwave, kettle and toaster. Close to coles and woolworths. We also saw it was walking distance to a bowls club ( rsl ) and a bottle shop. Staff are LOVELY , very kind and went out of their way to make sure our stay was great. Id stay here again either overnight or a few days. Great value for money. Also was quiet. Has free wifi for all rooms and a swimming pool and BBQ facilities. Comfy and clean with wonderful staff , what more do you need. Also you can order breakfast at very reasonable rates but having 4 children I popped up to woolies and bought food there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
20
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

City Lights is your basic motel but it's very clean with large rooms and friendly staff. It mightn't be overlooking the beach, but if you plan to be out sightseeing, you don't need a view from the balcony. And it's a short drive to the Gold Coast, without the expense of accommodation in that area. You really do need a car though if you want to get out and about, though not sure if there's a local bus going past. We attended a function at a nearby club that was within walking distance.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are on the first floor, so if you don't want to do stairs, check with the mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wordage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

For a family of 6 this was awesome value we stayed in the family room, was a very clean and decent sized room, the owner was absolutely welcoming, warm and friendly, beds were comfy, was all that was promised just 1 minor thing, went to the corner shop to grab cereal for the kids to return and there be no bowls so we ate out of mugs lol... But for value would definitly stay again :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at City Lights for a night after dropping off a family member at Gold Coast airport which is an easy ten minute drive away. While a bit tired and dated, the unit was clean and comfortable. Close to shops, takeaways and restaurants and the Tweed River is a short walk away for fishing and walks. The busy road outside was not a noise problem. Good place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coraki, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

clean and comfortable, central to local restaurants and take aways, delivery available and also basic cooking needs provided, the staff and management are both friendly and obliging, a good place to either break your trip or stay a few nights

Room Tip: ground floor units toward the back of the complex are quieter, also convenient to unload luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenFoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here four nights travelling north from Sydney to the Gold Coast.

I only planned to stay for two nights, but it was such good value I thought I'd stay for two more.

There are ground and first floor rooms. I stayed on the ground floor because I had a lot of luggage and there is no lift. The parking spaces are huge, no need to worry about buffoons dinging the doors on your Bentley, and the spaces are just under a beagle's gowl from your room. They are undercover from the sun, under the first floor rooms. Your car will be cool(ish) in the morning. The aircon works and is not noisy. The shower is good, and hot water is available at all times. There is a small fridge, enough for the sort of things the Lonely Traveller might want to put in the fridge. The bed is comfortable, and the room is quiet at night. There is a television with lots of channels of mostly rubbish, but that's not the hotel's fault. It has more channels than a certain three-times-the-price hotel I stayed in last month...

The room is clean and tidy. There are coin operated laundry facilites on-site. There are proper blackout curtains. There is a small clean swimming pool onsite but I didn't use it.

The owners are friendly and helpful.

There is a petrol station within walking distance and an off-licence (bottle shop) nearby. Apart from that there is nothing I could see in the area, but it is a short drive to the Gold Coast. There is a Hungry Jack's (Burger King) a short drive away (5 mins).

This place is very good value, clean, quiet, and has everything you might want from a stopover. I would have no hesitation staying there again if I was in the area and for the money they are charging it must be one of the best value places in Australia.

There is nothing really I would wish to suggest by way of improvement because that would put the price up. Clean, secure, hot water, clean towels, quiet aircon that works, friendly owner-operator. Couldn't ask for more really.

Room Tip: Stairs only to the first floor. Luggage-heavy or infirm book a ground-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McGreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an excellent place for an overnight stay. The room was spacious and very comfortable. It's walking distance to a bowl's club which has great meals. Even though it's on a main road we had the window open overnight and weren't bothered at all by traffic noise. We didn't have breakfast at the motel but the prices were very reasonable. I don't think I'd stay here for a holiday but for 1 or 2 nights it's great value!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tweed Heads hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
#6 of 12 in Tweed Heads
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arabella Motor Inn
Arabella Motor Inn
#9 of 12 in Tweed Heads
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kennedy Drive Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Twin Towns Motel
Sundowner Twin Towns Motel
#2 of 12 in Tweed Heads
71 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Pelican Motel
Blue Pelican Motel
#7 of 12 in Tweed Heads
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tweed Harbour Motor Inn
Tweed Harbour Motor Inn
#1 of 5 in Tweed Heads
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Motel

Property: City Lights Motel
Address: 35 Minjungbal Dr, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2486, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tweed Heads
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lights Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lights Motel in Tweed Heads is a classic Motel style of accommodation providing a quiet, friendly and comfortable stay opposite the beautiful Tweed River at the southern end of the Gold Coast. The beaches around Tweed Head offer some of the best swimming and surf in Australia. Tweed Heads is a great family holiday destination. The northern end of the Gold Coast is 40 minutes north with theme parks like Dreamworld, Movie World and Wet-n-Wild are all easily accessed by the Pacific Hwy. Closer still is Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary and 30 minutes south is Byron Bay - home of the East Coast Blues Festival and Australia's most easterly point. Coolangatta airport is just 10 minutes away. A number of the Tweed Heads clubs are close by offering meals and entertainment at affordable prices. Some serviced by courtesy bus to the front door. The Twin Towns is renown for international acts with music and entertainment every night. City Lights motel is directly opposite the Tweed River where you can fish as well as take sunset cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your City Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing