We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location”
Review of City Lights Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lights Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at City Lights for a night after dropping off a family member at Gold Coast airport which is an easy ten minute drive away. While a bit tired and dated, the unit was clean and comfortable. Close to shops, takeaways and restaurants and the Tweed River is a short walk away for fishing and walks. The busy road outside was not a noise problem. Good place for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

clean and comfortable, central to local restaurants and take aways, delivery available and also basic cooking needs provided, the staff and management are both friendly and obliging, a good place to either break your trip or stay a few nights

Room Tip: ground floor units toward the back of the complex are quieter, also convenient to unload luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenFoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here four nights travelling north from Sydney to the Gold Coast.

I only planned to stay for two nights, but it was such good value I thought I'd stay for two more.

There are ground and first floor rooms. I stayed on the ground floor because I had a lot of luggage and there is no lift. The parking spaces are huge, no need to worry about buffoons dinging the doors on your Bentley, and the spaces are just under a beagle's gowl from your room. They are undercover from the sun, under the first floor rooms. Your car will be cool(ish) in the morning. The aircon works and is not noisy. The shower is good, and hot water is available at all times. There is a small fridge, enough for the sort of things the Lonely Traveller might want to put in the fridge. The bed is comfortable, and the room is quiet at night. There is a television with lots of channels of mostly rubbish, but that's not the hotel's fault. It has more channels than a certain three-times-the-price hotel I stayed in last month...

The room is clean and tidy. There are coin operated laundry facilites on-site. There are proper blackout curtains. There is a small clean swimming pool onsite but I didn't use it.

The owners are friendly and helpful.

There is a petrol station within walking distance and an off-licence (bottle shop) nearby. Apart from that there is nothing I could see in the area, but it is a short drive to the Gold Coast. There is a Hungry Jack's (Burger King) a short drive away (5 mins).

This place is very good value, clean, quiet, and has everything you might want from a stopover. I would have no hesitation staying there again if I was in the area and for the money they are charging it must be one of the best value places in Australia.

There is nothing really I would wish to suggest by way of improvement because that would put the price up. Clean, secure, hot water, clean towels, quiet aircon that works, friendly owner-operator. Couldn't ask for more really.

Room Tip: Stairs only to the first floor. Luggage-heavy or infirm book a ground-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McGreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is an excellent place for an overnight stay. The room was spacious and very comfortable. It's walking distance to a bowl's club which has great meals. Even though it's on a main road we had the window open overnight and weren't bothered at all by traffic noise. We didn't have breakfast at the motel but the prices were very reasonable. I don't think I'd stay here for a holiday but for 1 or 2 nights it's great value!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had about 6 stays at this small motel in a short 3 weeks duration in September 2012, travelling through the region. They just had a change of managers as well.
After the first stay we kept going back to City Lights as it was clean, easy to access, had good beds, good shower and the manager was a very friendly guy. That was all we needed after some exhausting days.
I think the motel has 20 rooms but only 7-8 of them on the ground floor which we prefer. We always asked for a different room downstairs. All those rooms are at the back of the hotel, some 50 metres from the road.
Apart from the basic coffee making facilities the rooms we were staying at had a microwave oven and some of the rooms (I think number 34 to 37) also have a kitchenette with a large fridge and a sink. The air conditioners are a bit hard to work out in some of the rooms but we are sure that tech savvy younger people will have no probs with that.
The only draw back is the noise of the flights in the early morning from the near-by Coolangatta Airport.
Take ear-plugs with you if you like to sleep in!
The last time we stayed there we met the new manager, Bill, a friendly, experienced operator, born locally. We are sure he will be providing the same good service as his predecessor.
If you are travelling through, we can highly recommend this motel with the overnight price being a very reasonable $80!

Room Tip: For the elderly folks: go for the ground floor rooms from #32 to #37 as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pilgrim2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Even though this motel is on a major road the room was very quiet, clean. Has a microwave and toaster. Rooms are a decent size as was the bathroom. The staff are friendly and helpful. Close to the river and other facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spookarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The room was reasonably quiet, especially for being at street level. Our room was spacious inside; Microwave and toaster a great addition! Very clean and the water pressure in the shower was just right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluechilli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tweed Heads hotels
0.9 mi away
Bayswater Tweed Motel
Bayswater Tweed Motel
#8 of 13 in Tweed Heads
66 reviews
1 mi away
Blue Pelican Motel
Blue Pelican Motel
#9 of 13 in Tweed Heads
57 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Kennedy Drive Airport Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arabella Motor Inn
Arabella Motor Inn
#10 of 13 in Tweed Heads
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tweed Central Motel
Tweed Central Motel
#5 of 13 in Tweed Heads
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tweed Harbour Motor Inn
Tweed Harbour Motor Inn
#2 of 13 in Tweed Heads
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lights Motel

Address: 35 Minjungbal Dr, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2486, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tweed Heads
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Price Range: $74 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lights Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Lights Motel in Tweed Heads is a classic Motel style of accommodation providing a quiet, friendly and comfortable stay opposite the beautiful Tweed River at the southern end of the Gold Coast. The beaches around Tweed Head offer some of the best swimming and surf in Australia. Tweed Heads is a great family holiday destination. The northern end of the Gold Coast is 40 minutes north with theme parks like Dreamworld, Movie World and Wet-n-Wild are all easily accessed by the Pacific Hwy. Closer still is Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary and 30 minutes south is Byron Bay - home of the East Coast Blues Festival and Australia's most easterly point. Coolangatta airport is just 10 minutes away. A number of the Tweed Heads clubs are close by offering meals and entertainment at affordable prices. Some serviced by courtesy bus to the front door. The Twin Towns is renown for international acts with music and entertainment every night. City Lights motel is directly opposite the Tweed River where you can fish as well as take sunset cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your City Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing