We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, a bit overpriced.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, a bit overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

A bit expensive, apt#2064 noisy when coolyrockson, june 2014 as pub below road noise as well.
Great location if you don't have a car. close t twin towns. Asked for a high up floor as
advertised, paid in Dec 2013 got put up on 6th floor lady at desk said well 6 classed as high floor. No curtains in lounge. Maintenance and cleanliness to be questioned. Toilet seat mmm carpet couches are well used etc. overall comfortable for $257 a night!

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxineK999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Tweed Ultima. Yes Cooly Rocks On is an extremely busy time for the Tweed Coolangatta region bringing many people to the region for a week long Rock and Roll Party. With this brings high season with rates.

Our rates outside of high season start from $140.00 per night for a one bedroom bed room apartment.

Yes we are in a great location thus we are well occupied thus providing a great buzz throughout the property, and you are correct you don't need to drive your car anywhere once you arrive.

The rooms (most of) have and are being upgraded so the next time you visit us we ask that you call us direct and let us know specifically any request you have.

We wish you safe travels and look forward to you again visiting us when next you are in Tweed / Coolangatta.

Regards,

David Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    54
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
61
52
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed 7 nights in apartment 1074 on 7th floor. Friendly staff on check-in and easy parking in secure car park. On arrival we noticed that the vacuum cleaner had not been emptied. Reception staff sent cleaners back to our room after being advised of this and the fact that it smelled dusty. Despite this the apartment had a dusty smell for the duration of our stay. Carpets were dirty, lounge smelled dusty, there was a build up of dust behind the bedside table in the master bedroom and the dining chairs were peeling and rickety, clearly needing replacement. We sent an email to management on checkout highlighting these issues and were advised that the apartment had just come off permanent rental. We were further advised that the contract cleaners had obviously not done their job adequately nor had they advised management of issues. We were told that steps had been put in place to ensure that this did not reoccur.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Check in was friendly and efficient and parking was easy. There are two blocks of apartments, the North and the South towers, separated by a large pool and spa. We were in the North tower on the 5th floor. The apartment was quite large and we had two bathrooms, the second one set up for wheelchair access. The kitchen was well set up with a full sized fridge, dishwasher, oven and microwave. Everything you could need to prepare a meal in your accommodation. We loved the large balcony with six seater outdoor setting, also with shutters to keep the sunshine/weather out or leave open to enjoy the view. The location is absolutely fantastic being only a short stroll to the main shopping strip of Coolangatta, the beach, Centro shopping centre (Target, Woollies, Coles), and just around the corner from the Twin Towns club. We hardly used our car at all preferring to walk to local sights. We would have rated this accommodation five stars except for a few issues such as see through curtains in the lounge room (mentioned in previous reviews) meant limited privacy, particularly at night, and we looked straight across to the South tower. Also there were a few things that required maintenance - loose toilet seats, kitchen drawer front coming off, toilet roll holder falling off, and curtains coming off the railing - minor things that can easily be fixed. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We typically stay at Outrigger for our frequent long weekends to the coast, but this was a spontaneous visit booked during the week of our travels and Outrigger was fully booked. Tweed Ultima were very comparable in price to Outrigger so we took the booking.

The car park was unlocked so we drove straight in and up the escalator to reception. Reception staff were polite and courteous. Our 1 bedroom apartment was the opposite side to the harbour so was pretty much a view over the top of the buildings in Tweed Heads/Coolangatta. It was quite pretty at night. I think the harbour view rooms may be 2/3 bedroom apartments.

The apartment is very spacious and modern with quality fittings throughout - even an Ionic hairdryer for the ladies. The balcony is a huge plus for this building. Every apartment has a full length balcony complete with outdoor dining table. The balcony has sliding shutters that cut out the wind or sun that are very effective. This will probably be the largest one bed apartment that you will come across.

Housekeeping was great - everything was clean and tidy.

We didn't use the pool or gym as we really go down to hang out at the clubs. The down side for us is there is no direct access to the road Twin Towns is on and the environment is a bit ordinary when walking back at night. We found the quickest and probably safest way back to the hotel was to walk through the Twin Towns car park next door. Walk straight through and it takes you to the elevators up to the reception floor for the club.

Room Tip: Harbour view would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebsterBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamar valley uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for a week in a ninth floor 2 bed unit overlooking the river. The view was fabulous as was the unit. It was large, modern and extremely comfortable. It has all the m odeon conveniences that you would expect in your own home. We find it hard to fault the unit so we cannot understand the majority views on this forum. Possibly some of the units do not have a good view and this has influenced the comments. We did not try the buffet breakfast as we had no need for it the swimming pool was large enough for a decent swim and the jacuzzi was a useful addition. The car parking was easy to use. We could easily walk to green mount beach in about 5 minutes. The shops and restaurants were all easy to access. A wonderful location in coolangatta/ Tweed Heads which would we would recommend unreservedly.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a direct view of the boat harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanniegranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights as a family of four - two young children under 5.

Found similar to previous reviews
1. Only provide one sachet of dishwasher powder, one sachet of washing powder! - ask for more and it's extra,
2. Told to use the high chair was extra per night!
3. Portacot extra!
4. Servicing again is not daily and is extra!
5. To use the gym is extra!

They should really be called budget apartments and to get the 4 stars you can pay extra!

For the price you pay here you could easily get an apartment elsewhere with all the added extras thrown in.

Reception again closes at 6 and is not open on weekends etc so if you have an issue there is no one to help!

We also had a south facing room on the fourth floor which was noisy as pub directly below and no sun in the afternoon. The patio was dirty underfoot and hence children unable to play On the balcony , aside from which they placed a sun lounger on the patio which the children could easily climb up and hurtle over the edge of the balcony - hence we had to keep this area locked at all times.

There are other apartments in Tweed far better than this.

Only positive was the closeness to woolworths supermarket. But would have happily walked further to get a better apartment.

Won't be staying again as its not value for money.

Lastly the king bed was two double pushed together and sheeted. Hence when you slept you have a hard ridge down the middle! In addition one bed was sooo firm it felt you were sleeping on concrete and the other soft so you ended up rolling on an angle.

Oh and the pool is uninviting and the spa reeks of chlorine fumes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank well_travelled079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a week in these units recently. They are very spacious and modern. Comfortable beds and good air conditioning. The fridge didn't work when we got there but they fixed it straight away. The only thing I would say against it is in the pictures you thinks the bay is just across the road but in fact there is a pub and shops in between which makes it harder to get to. Short walk to main shopping centre though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeb9515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tweed Heads
0.3 mi away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
Comfort Inn Tweed Heads
#6 of 12 in Tweed Heads
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#7 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast

Property: Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast
Address: 20 Stuart Street, Tweed Heads, New South Wales 2485, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tweed Heads
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Tweed Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tweed Ultima is perfectly located in the heart of the Twin Towns of Tweed Heads and Coolangatta offering the very best as a holiday destination or corporate visit. Less than 200 metres from superb beaches, Tweed Ultima is within a short walk to boutique shops, restaurants, cafes, bars and entertainment. Our relaxed and comfortable Apartments host a large heated saltwater pool (winter only) and spa, on-site Cafe, BBQ area, Conference Centre, Public Day Spa & Gym (extra charges apply for Gym - special rates available for guests). Perfect for business people, a couples getaway or family holiday Tweed Ultima offers modern 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom self-contained Apartments with spacious living areas, gourmet kitchens and enclosed balconies. Tweed Ultima Apartments provides everything you need for a relaxed and stress-free Gold Coast Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweed Ultima Resort Gold Coast Hotel Tweed Heads

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing