We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful.”

Tuross Boatshed & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

By that lake with value for money. A great spot for all the family

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dharugtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    56
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

We have been to the Boat shed previously for lunch and have always enjoyed it. The boys go out on the boat and we meet them for lunch at the shed. They can tie the boat up right on the decking and enjoy lunch without worrying about the boat.
They have changed the brand of chips and while it remains disappointing that australian insist on frozen rather then fresh cut chips, the brand they are using is the best I've had.
Not being a massive fan of battered fish I remain sad that they don't do crumbed, however, the batter is light and very thin.
Great afternoon. Sitting in the sun right next to the water it is a rustic cafe with great food.

Helpful?
1 Thank SianFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern nsw
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Went here with my husband for an evening meal. As im trying to watch what i eat, i asked if i could get grilled fish and salad ? Yes, was the reply. What i actually got was fish, in foil swimming in butter, that had been steamed........not grilled at all. Salad was o.k, but a bit small for the price.. Use to be a great atmosphere, now it's pretty messy, and really just another place to eat.Very disapointed. A customer you WON'T be seeing again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank cassandraSouthernNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Good fish, AWESOME chips. Right on the lake with a fantastic view.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4m13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moruya, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific service, excellent food and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I read the Horsefish review above and agree that that is how the Tuross Boatshed WAS.
The Cafe under the management of John and Janine is a tight run ship that delivers quality time and time again. The staff training realy shows in their commitment to timeliness and to quality and i would challenge anyone to find fault with them - it was these strengths that saw the Boatshed become a finalist in the South East Region Tourism awards. The best way to describe the Fish and Chips from the boatshed is to say that they will meet your expectations in freshness, in having been cooked perfectly and even in the busiest of times will be served quickly with a smile. Yes, Terry and Deb were good but John and Janine have lifted the bar to a level that puts their food as being up there with the best - you don't have to be a chef to cook - you have to have passion for the food you cook and the Boatshed has that passion - i hope this bring TripAdvisor visitors up to date - there is always room for improvement so i have not judged all elements at 100% except for the stunning location

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuross Boatshed & Cafe also viewed

Tuross Head, Eurobodalla
Tuross Head, Eurobodalla
 
Tuross Head, Eurobodalla
Tuross Head, Eurobodalla
 
Bodalla, Eurobodalla
Tuross Head, Eurobodalla
 

Been to Tuross Boatshed & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing