We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favouriite South Coast seafood”

The Pickled Octopus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our favouriite South Coast seafood”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Thanks so much for opening for dinner just for us on Anzac Day.
We love this little restaurant perched on the side of the lake, the view is extraordinary (especially if you manage to get there for sunset!), the staff are friendly and we love the chef's classic 50's and 60's soundtrack!! This is our 15th visit over the same number of years, and it has become a tradition to celebrate a family birthday here when everybody from Canberra and Melbourne are together.
The seafood is fresh and tasty and served piping hot and although the menu doesn't change much from year to year, that's probably a good thing, because I haven't found anything I don't like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onsenbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    56
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful location GREAT food.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is one of my two favourite restaurants in the Eurobodalla. The restaurant is right on the water with tables outside in a covered area over the water. There are some inside as well but have never sat inside. My favourite dish is the salt and pepper calamari but they seafood of all sorts. Decent wine list and the service has always been good. Great place to go with a group of friends and nice long lunch. Gets really busy on weekends so make sure to reserve a table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best food in Tuross”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Always visit this place when we visit Tuross and it never disappoints. The food is excellent and the location spectacular. Certainly THE place to eat in Tuross, however it's becoming a little expensive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More seafood”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lovely restaurant on the southern lake shores very good food, very good service, great view. Upstairs restaurant with downstairs deck for takeaway.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nightowlHarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just plain rude”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Maybe these folk have already "left the building" given that the business is for sale as they certainly weren't interested in courting our business. We hadn't been before but were keen to get some take-away fish and chips for a hungry crowd of visitors who had just arrived. As the Boat House next door was flat-out and there were very less at the Pickled Octopus, we thought we would try there as they advertised that they also did take-away fish and chips. Having a couple of gluten-intolerant people in our group we needed to have fish prepared in some way other than battered. I asked if they could grill the fish which they said they couldn't unless we were to eat-in. OK, I get that but I wondered if it was perhaps easier to do something else such as cooked in foil - an idea I got from next door who advertised they did fish in foil. I mentioned that next door did fish in foil and asked if that was possible. I understand that, if one is feeling a tad jaded that could have been taken in a negative light but the response of "Well, maybe you should just go next door!" was nothing less than unnecessarily rude. We certainly wouldn't go back. We did of course go next door and received service with a smile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickled Octopus also viewed

Tuross Head, Eurobodalla
Tuross Head, Eurobodalla
 
Tuross Head, Eurobodalla
Bodalla, Eurobodalla
 

Been to The Pickled Octopus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing