We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but accommodation overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuross Beach Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tuross Beach Holiday Park
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location but accommodation overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in Beachfront Cabin 1 and the location of these cabins is superb - the surf pounding no more than 100 metres from your balcony and the wide expanse of the estuary to ponder. It's the view you pay for here as the two bedroom cabin was utilitarian with its lamipanel walls, plastic chairs and small stained sofa. Our cabin reeked of cigarette smoke, the heater/ac fan was very noisy and the stove top wouldn’t light. Spring nights and mornings here are chilly and a bathroom heater would have been welcome. Although NSW school hols had ended, as "the ACT & Vic are still on hols", we were charged a pricey $170+ for two; there were plenty of vacancies here so it seemed a little greedy to charge this much for two people. Compared to similar, but more comfortable and better maintained accommodation we had experienced on our way up the coast from Melbourne-Sydney, this wasn't good value. Reception advised against purchasing wifi connection as the signal often drops out (we found the TV reception can also be patchy). They also assured us that there would be plenty of dining options nearby on a Monday night but, after an extended walk, we found every cafe was closed. The takeaway and the bottle shop at the shopping centre were the only places open unless you drove further afield. Self catering and staying here in the warmer months when you can spend more time outside the cabin is advised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twofromLonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff W, General Manager at Tuross Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Our Beachfront holiday units are now some years old and reflect the construction methods popular at the time of their installation. They are, however, our most popular units because of their location on the beach.

All of our units are non-smoking and, if any guest breaches this rule, we try to de-odorise the unit thoroughly and before it is occupied again.

Our shoulder period pricing, which applies in school holidays, includes 2 adults and 2 children and we offer significant discounts for stays of a week or more. We believe that our pricing is comparable with, and often cheaper than, other similar establishments, most of which do not offer such a fantastic location and view.

Our internet access is limited by Telstra’s poor infrastructure. We are hoping that the NBN will solve these problems.

The comments regarding TV reception are puzzling, as we have good reception of all the free-to-air digital channels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    22
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We first stayed here for 2 nights last year, although my husband had previously lived in Tuross Head for a while, hence the incentive to share the beauty. This year we eagerly headed back for a whole blissful week (pay 5 nights get 2 free deal), an oasis of calm & total relaxation in our 4-week pilgrimage to the east coast from WA., where we had no commitments, no plans, no people to catch up with - just us in our elevated unit overlooking one of our now-favourite views in the world.

Firstly, the property is spotlessly clean, well-designed & well managed by friendly, obliging staff. Everything is provided including linen & towels, and if more are needed one has only to ask. Beds are comfortable, and the extra room in the 2-bed unit facilitated our luggage needs.There is a communal laundry of which we availed ourselves this trip.

In our opinion, winter is the perfect time to visit here, as the place is largely empty, but even with a van or two parked in front the magnificent view from the verandah is unimpeded and with good weather it's a wonderful place to eat breakfast or lunch - watching the colours and light change, spotting pods of dolphins as they herd fish into the river mouth, tracking sea eagles in their hunt for prey, marvelling at the plunging gannets as they plunder a boil of fish out to sea. For bird watchers it's a party, so bring your binoculars !

Falling asleep each night lulled by the sound of the surf, we'd always awake in the pre-dawn hours & be drawn to the view across the inky ocean & the flashing light of Montague Island, over which hung the Southern Cross in a clear sky ablaze with frosty stars. Sometimes rabbits could be seen in the moonlight on the grass strip before the sand, and last year we ventured out before the dawn to photograph the sunrise from the rocky outcroft to our left, where we were silently joined by 3 big eastern grey roos at the edge of the surf !

No matter what the season, there is plenty to do in this spectacular region, the Eurobodalla Coast. Within easy reach are Mogo & Mogo Zoo, Moruya where the Saturday markets are worth a wander, historic Central Tilba in glorious hinterland and Narooma, where we recommend buying fish fresh off the dock to take back for dinner; that is of course when you don't catch any off the beach or in the estuary. Nearby Bodalla warrants a visit, with the new version of the historic cheese factory providing an education as well as interesting produce.

I don't see how anybody could be disappointed in choosing to stay at this holiday park !

Room Tip: Elevated units have parking underneath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Sitting on the balcony of our elevated cabin looking out over the beach on a beautiful spring day, sipping a glass of wine and watching whales play, we were living the dream! The perfect getaway in a lovely town with just enough shops for everything u need, great walking paths and endless beautiful views, although we still thought the best one was from our balcony!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfun58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Bring your bikes, kayaks, boat, fishing gear, kites etc. This place seems remote yet you are only 10 minutes from the Princes Highway. Great club serving genuine meals, fresh seafood close by and the park has nice clean facilities. Some cabins are waterfront, the ones behind probably have a better view. If camping or caravaning there are some to die for spots so book ahead ... dont worry if you will have a neighbour ... just book it. Staff are great and seem to enjoy what they are doing making everything enjoyable. A nice relaxed park.

Room Tip: Check the cabins or the caravan/camping spots first, they arent all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuross Head
23.5 mi away
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
BIG4 Batemans Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 17 in Batemans Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachcomber Holiday Park
Beachcomber Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Potato Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tuross Head Motel
Tuross Head Motel
#1 of 1 in Tuross Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
BIG4 Moruya Heads Easts Dolphin Beach Holiday Park
9.6 mi away
Ecotel Narooma
Ecotel Narooma
#8 of 8 in Narooma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
10.9 mi away
Horizon Apartments
Horizon Apartments
#4 of 12 in Narooma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuross Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuross Beach Holiday Park

Property: Tuross Beach Holiday Park
Address: 83 Nelson Pde, Tuross Head, New South Wales 2537, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Tuross Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tuross Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tuross Beach Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tuross Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing