We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and hospitable”
Review of The Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean and hospitable”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at this hotel over the Australia Day long weekend and we were delighted, Our initial room had trouble with the air conditioner so we were immediately moved to another water front room. It was clean, roomy and newly refurbished. The beds were comfortable and the people manging were so helpful. We went into the Hunter Valley for the day and it took very little time, it was half the price and had lovely water views. The cafes nearby were wonderful for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose one with water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilynr36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
22
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Close to the waterfront, large air-conditioned rooms, reasonable rates and friendly owner managers - what else could you want from a hotel in a sleepy lakeside location? There are a couple of decent cafes right on the hotel's doorstep too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VenturerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had to visit Torono unexpectedly for a few days and was recommended this by a relative. This is an apartment hotel with kitchen, lounge dining and bedroom. It is roomy, attractive and clean. It boasts nice water views over the lake. Several restaurants are close by. I enjoyed my stay and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henryadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I'm a regular at this hotel, it's the best in town and John and the team treat you like family when you arrive. The rooms are generally good, although my most recent stay the rooms heating would warm the room up. The hotel overlooks the lake, and sits on top on Hughzies which is my favourite spots to eat in Toronto. If you want an early breakfast (before 7:30) your only option is Maccas, or a self serve breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Beautiful rooms and the staff could not have been more helpful. We found this gem of a place by chance and will be returning again soon. The rooms have all the comforts of home and the locate was perfect with nice views from our apartment. I only wished we had booked for longer - 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceans_View18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just enjoyed a fantastic stay at the Brighton. The location, rooms and facilities were great but the highlight was the Hotel Manager lending me his black shoes to attend a formal gathering after I realised I had left mine at home.
Would have no hesitations recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Sabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Fabulous accomadation, great location and freindly people. Our aparment was spacious, clean. modern and had a great view of Lake Macquarrie. The staff were very helpful and accomadating. Will certainly return for a holiday in the future.

Room Tip: Request a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toronto
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
4.4 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
3.9 mi away
Squid's Ink Hotel
Squid's Ink Hotel
#4 of 5 in Belmont
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Catalina Motel Lake Macquarie
3.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pippi's at the Point
Pippi's at the Point
#1 of 1 in Speers Point
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton

Property: The Brighton
Address: 157 Brighton Ave, Toronto, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2283, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Toronto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing