We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Lantern Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lantern Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a fantastic time at Lantern, great quality facilities and rooms equipped better than most. Apartment was very clean, beds were huge and comfortable.
Will definitely stay again next time in Thredbo
The only complaint was the shower head was made for peopleunder 4 foot high, bit of a bend to get under but you can live with that!
Great hassle free storage for skis and equipment and close to village shops and ski fields.
Highly Recommend

Room Tip: Get the loft apartments, few extra stairs but worth the view and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, the feed back you have given is valuable and I will take a tape measure to find out which shower you are referring to. Thanks again and I hope we see you tin Thredbo again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Banjos #6 for our 5 day ski trip and as soon as we walked in new we were going to enjoy our stay. The apartment was very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. It was also nice to have space for the kids to have time to themselves. Thanks for a worry free break we all needed. Wil definately recommend it and look forward to staying again. Laura Qld

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintage94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks for such a lovely compliment. We are really pleased thar you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you in Thredbo again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Highly recommend the Lantern apartments. We had a 3 night stay during the school holidays and stayed in No. 25 with fantastic mountain views. Lantern's location is great, free shuttle bus stops every 10 minutes right in front to take you anywhere in the village. So even though we didn't have a parking space, it was no problem to leave the car in the overnight car park and catch the shuttle right back to the doorstep. The amenities provided are more than sufficient and are all clean. The booking information provided gives you all information you need in advance, including an inventory of what is provided in the room and what you need to bring. The free wifi was great with teenage kids!! The staff were very helpful on arrival giving info on best places to eat etc. Will definitely be staying there again next season.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for such lovely comments. I will let Cheryl know that you appreciated her restaurant advice. It think it is always good to have a local tip on dining. Thredbo has so many good restaurants at the moment. One great little surprise this winter was the Alpenhorn, back and doing great Thai food and Take Away deliveries which is not easy to come by in Thredbo. After skiing all day the legs may not want to go out for dinner so a delivery service is a great option.

Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good overall experience, very friendly staff, we stayed in Unit No 3 with nice mountain and piste views. Unit was comfortable, with fully furnished kitchenette, decent size bedroom, lounge with TV, DVD player, good bathroom and internal laundry. Facilities include external ski and boots lockers. Apartments are located not far from main shops. Only major drawback for this unit is NO PARKING. We had to park our vehicle down near the slopes in the free parking zones, this equates to a good hike or use the free bus, when available, and if you need to move your car…

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a parking spot, else you will park your vehicle miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lafayette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thanks for taking time to write your review. Just for your information the apartments that own onsite parking are the 1 bedroom deluxe apartment and larger apartments. The one bedroom apartments do not have on site spaces. When we are busy and don't have spare spaces, this can mean parking in the free overnight areas in the village.

There is one that is very close to us, only 2 minutes walk. However with only 20 spaces this fills quickly in peak periods. The larger overnight areas are around the Thredbo leisure centre pool complex. I can walk from there to the Lantern on my crotchety old skiers knees in 8 minutes. It is a bit of a walk but I need the exercise.

If you don't want to walk then the free shuttle bus runs around the village throughout the snow season from 7.30am to 9.30pm and up until midnight on the weekends. This stops at our driveway and drops off and picks up at the overnight parking areas and the bus stop at the leisure centre. The busy runs every 10 minutes morning and afternoon and every 15 minutes in the even and middle of the day.

The shuttle bus doesn't run over the summer season but , except for the Christmas New year break, Easter and special event weekends, we generally have spare spaces on site for most guests.

Thanks again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Lantern apartments during the first week of the season with another couple and their 2 children. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which was fantastic. It was very spacious and comfortable and had everything that we required plus a huge balcony with BBQ. We only had a slight problem with the dishwasher which was fixed promptly when we reported it. We have stayed at this property previously and will return again. Love the view

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oaks R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds as though you had a nice little crew here. It often works well when families share adjacent apartments in the building. They can move between rooms for dinners and get togethers and get away for some quiet time.

We have 7 apartments that all share a large common terrace, including the 3 bedroom apartment. This terrace has outdoor furniture, BBQ's and an amazing view. It is a great place to get together for a group of family or friends sharing the adjoining apartments. Remember that is a great option if you have a group coming to stay.

Thanks again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The apartment hadn’t been cleaned properly - an empty sweet wrapper on the bedside table, some clothes left in the drawer, and crumbs on the stovetop. Some of the cutlery was dirty. They had obviously not checked any of this between previous guests. The bed wasn’t a king as promised, but two singles pushed together, with an uncomfortable ridge between the two. No mattress topper. They insist that guests haul their trash down several flights of stairs at the end of their stay. This and the fact that the dining table and chairs were old office furniture, meant that the overall impression was of student accommodation, rather than a hotel. The only good thing was the view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathS255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I can only apologise for the state of the apartment that you stayed in. The 11th of June is right after the open weekend of our ski season when we are training new staff for the cleaning during the winter season. Normally during cleaning training for 2 weeks from the season start we check every room thoroughly after cleaning to ensure that our staff have learnt the necessary skills. I am not sure what happened in this instance. I can only apologise. As for the mattress, the beds are only less than 4 year old and a good quality 4 star bed from Dunlop. Some find them comfortable and supportive, others seem to find them firm. We have just fitted padded protectors to the beds that we think will help to address the issue you mentioned. We are also waiting on a mid August delivery of new dining, coffee table and enterainment units that will remove the "office furniture" you referred to in your apartment.

Thanks again for your comments, we do take note and try to act on them to improve our service where ever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked Lantern last minute for the long weekend. We have stayed previously and again were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff. We stayed in apartment 13 with 2 adults, a 6yr old, 3yr old and 8 month old. As all apartments are individually owned and furnished etc, we found apartment 13 to be quite fresh and modern. We also had an allocated car space. It was perfect for our short stay, but as the kids were on a foldout, it could be quite tight for a longer stay. The views from Lantern are amazing. It is also quite affordable compared to most accommodation in Thredbo. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TROSS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for staying with us again. We really do appreciate your comments and hope that you enjoyed the long weekend in Thredbo. There wasn't much snow on the ground but there was plenty of action with the fireworks, Potbelleez and pool parties. Hope to see you in Thredbo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
188 reviews
18.4 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
0 mi away
Lhotsky Apartments
Lhotsky Apartments
#13 of 24 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Apartments

Address: Lantern Apartments 2 Banjo Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range: $107 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lantern Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lantern Apartments is rated 4 Stars with AAA tourism. Choose from 35 apartments most with spectacular mountain views of Thredbo Village and the mountains of the Kosciuszko National Park. Thredbo offers snow sports in winter and a choice of hiking, trout fishing, mountain bike riding and relaxing in the Australian Alps. The Village is open all year with shops, restaurants cafes and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lantern Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Apartments Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing