We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elevation 2# Aprtment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lantern Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lantern Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Wahroonga, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Elevation 2# Aprtment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great apartment. Clean 3 bedroom, well maintained and fitted out with all mod cons. Being at ground level was very convenient to access. Very comfortable furnishings and beds. We would stay there again and my kids are at me to go back in winter, but I am sure this high quality accomodation would be 5x the price we paid. Thredbo in summer offers may activities

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IJC238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I appreciate your feedback and I hope that we may see you again in Thredbo. I noted your comment about winter pricing being higher but there are some good value periods in June and September where rates are not much different to our summer season.

Thanks again,

Ian Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    70
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
69
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in Elevation #1 for 5 days over New Year 2012. The aprtment was bright, spacious and furnished in a contemporary style. The balcony had fantastic virws of Thredbo valley. We would happily stay in this apartment again and recommend it to others. The management service was also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We appreciate your comments and great feedback. I hope we see you in Thredbo again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Each November we stay at Banjo 6 which adjoins a lovely garden with a bbq and is also close to Lantern Apartments' office. If there is ever a problem someone is with us promptly. The location is high enough to offer a veiw directly across to the mountain and yet only a short walk down a path to the village.
Andrew Percy & Rose O'Shea

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank You Andrew and Rose for your comments and thanks again for staying this year. We hope to see you again next November.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was a pretty good location and it was very clean, however it would have been nice to be told on the phone before booking that we would have to park 1km away in the village. The apartments up stairs had parking right outside their door and the extra cost for this was a premium $100 per night. Wow.

The outdoor area was lovely, as was the view from the bedrooms (also - I love a firm mattress - but these were verging on board like), however the decor in the living room/kitchen was a bit of a passion killer and the couches were really uncomfortable. Even though we had brought gourmet food with us to cook up a storm, we couldn't stand to be in the space - pretty depressing - we ended up going out every night. The staff were efficient yet had that air of "where else are they going to go?".

Having said this, skiing facilities are very bad value compared to what you get overseas for the money but this place was clean, efficient and modern. It would be nice to see ski accomodation providers stepping up and doing something gorgeous for a change, instead of providing the least possible for the most money.

Room Tip: pay for the extra car parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karinliebling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our apartments. I am sorry that you were not aware that your apartment did not have a parking space on site. The one bedroom deluxe and larger apartments all have on site parking but the standard 1 bedrooms do not. This information is listed on our website and in the property features for each room displayed. However if you made a phone booking it is possible that the receptionist could have forgotten to mention it. I will check with the procedures to ensure that, in respect to one bedroom apartments, this information is provided at the time of booking to ensure it does not create a problem on arrival. I am sorry if that was the case for your booking.

With regard to your comments about the room decor and furnishings, we carry out work on the apartments each year to update things and try to keep them looking modern and fresh. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We will continue to carry out upgrades on the apartments this summer. We have several apartments being re carpeted and some new kitchens being installed Quite a few properties are having new dining settings and side tables. The beds are sofas are only 3 years old so they not due for replacement yet.

Thanks again for staying with us and I am sorry that we weren't able to satisfy your requirements in some areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennant Hills, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our third stay here and we will return!! Fantastic location, with great views out across the mountains from the balcony and living room. Free Shuttle bus at the door to take my son and husband to the lifts at both Friday Flats and Thredbo village. I'm not a skiier and room was excelletly appointed with dvd, ipod dock, stereo, foxtel etc to keep me relaxed throughout the day. Nice kitchen amenities. Bathrooms are a little small but no problem really. Provided a travel cot and linen for our 5 month old and nothing was a problem.

Great place for a family. My 8 year old LOVED the loft bedroom arrangement.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We really do appreciate your comments and I am so glad you had a good break in Thredbo. November is a great time to come.

Thanks again and I hope we see you in Thredbo again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 (apartment #19 - 1 BR). The hotel is at a height, which gives great views. The rooms and bathroom are a bit tight, but the views make up for it.

The reception people were pleasant. Great thing is the free wifi internet - at a decent speed, which is very convenient. The apartment is also close to everything, though Thredbo being small, other hotels would be similar. Good advantage is that the free shuttle stops right outside the hotel.

It would be really worth to get an apartment with parking, as parking is limited everywhere in Thredbo. The finish of the apartment is not gleaming like a typical 5 star hotel, I think it was redone/built some years ago, but is nice & comfortable. The free satellite TV and movies are also good to keep kids busy.

Would stay here again, if required.

Room Tip: Ask about the views before you book, they did tell us that the views are good and they were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drtjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to review our apartments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you in Thredbo again.

Rergards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in a deluxe apartment (9) which was on the car park level and came with an undercover carpark. I think it's worth paying a bit extra for the deluxe with carpark. All the ski storage and boot lockers are located in the carpark as well. The apartment was fantastic - We had a 1 bedroom Deluxe. We have an 8 year old daughter who slept on the sofa bed in the lounge room, but with tv's in both lounge and bedroom, we had plenty of room to spread out. The barbeque on the balcony was a lovely bonus and we made good use of this. The apartment was cosy and warm and was very comfortable. Fully equipped kitchen, was just great. We did not want for anything. The spa bath was also very nice after a day of skiing. There was plenty of hanging space for our ski gear and we made good use of the washing machine and dryer.

The Thredbo shuttle bus was great as well. It came by at the front of the apartments every 10 mins or so and dropped us right at the ski areas. We also enjoyed using the gymnasium and pool, which was included in the ski pass and was on the bus route.

With fantastic views from the balcony of Lantern we enjoyed watching the daily skiers as well as the Saturday night flare run and fireworks.

We enjoyed walking down the stairs to the village shops below, and we were lucky enough to have snow falling so late in the season.

We got a package deal at the end of the season which included ski hire/lift passes and Lantern apartment. We got a great deal and were very happy with the value for money. Pro Select in Jindabyne were also fabulous in sizing us up for skis and boots.

The only negative was that the free internet connection did not work. It wasn't a big deal as I had my own wireless connection. The apartment managers have informed me that they are reviewing their internet provider to better cater for this.

Thank you Lantern apartments for a wonderful holiday. We felt well and truly at home and had such a marvellous stay. We love Thredbo and will definately be back and will stay at Lantern again.

Room Tip: It looked as though all the apartments faced the mountains (northerly aspect with great views). As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are very encouraging and I am glad the you enjoyed stay. I apologise for the issues with the internet connection. It has been a challenge to get this right and we are very keen to continue providing this service free of charge. We have technicians coming this week to re cable the building so we can install a much better network with room for expansion. We should have this up and running in the next couple of weeks.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope we see you in Thredbo again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowgoose Apartments
Snowgoose Apartments
#1 of 24 in Thredbo Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Apartments

Property: Lantern Apartments
Address: Lantern Apartments 2 Banjo Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lantern Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lantern Apartments is rated 4 Stars with AAA tourism. Choose from 35 apartments most with spectacular mountain views of Thredbo Village and the mountains of the Kosciuszko National Park. Thredbo offers snow sports in winter and a choice of hiking, trout fishing, mountain bike riding and relaxing in the Australian Alps. The Village is open all year with shops, restaurants cafes and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lantern Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Apartments Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing