We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lantern Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lantern Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

When booking the apartment, the website suggested we'd receivd 30% discount on payment, however, this was not the case.

The room was small but nice, with a nice view of the valley. The sofa bed was somewhat uncomfortable. Expected shampoo and conditioner to be supplied, however, this was not the case.

Overall we had a good experience during a weekend stay at Lantern.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, General Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our apartment.

As a an apartment rental service we provide all linen,towels and expendables but do not provide hotel style extras like shampoo etc.

Regarding the 30% discount message, I apologise for the misunderstanding, that discount was already incorporated in the rate that you paid being 30% less than our rack rate. I have modified the messages displayed in our online booking system to make this clearer.

The sofa beds have inner spring mattresses and are generally comfortable (for a sofa bed) however there may have been an issue with your particular apartment. Please remember to advise your accommodation provider if you have this sort of issue during your stay as it makes it easier for us to resolve the problem and hopefully help you at the same time.

Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    70
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
69
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment and our experience was just like the first time - comfortable, relaxing and staff members extremely polite and friendly. Our experience has been nothing but excellent both times and we will be staying there on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
That you so much for you feedback and I am glad that you had a another enjoyable stay. I hope we see you again in Thredbo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

For the cost might suggest looking around before committing to the Lantern . We stayed in the deluxe with the spa on the balcony . The staff are friendly but this doesn't compensate for the very uncomfortable mattress and Television equipment , DVD , remote's etc not in functioning properly lack of water pressure in the shower, The rooms on the website look so much larger , but the apartment is actually very small. If your looking for the WOW factor you will not find at the Lantern.
We had a look around at other places , we were charged $40.00 for a cot and a booking fee of $ 15.00 for this which is ridiculousness .... Other places were $10.00 if even charged for the use of cot . Also after all the trouble of dealing with a dodgy Tv , we were told if we needed a High Chair that would be an additional $40.00 - you got to be kidding me. As well as next door the room having renovations while we were in the Spa and hearing an angle grinder on a Sunday afternoon. I highly recommend looking elsewhere when booking your next trip to Thredbo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnwardCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Propsero, Manager at Lantern Apartments, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and I apologise for the issues you had with the television remote. I know that the staff tried to replace the batteries but you obviously had troubles with it after that. I have ordered a new TV for this apartment as the remote control is not easy to replace on this model. I have also instructed the staff to install a spare TV if this sort of issue occurs in the future. Regarding the bed, I know that my receptionist offered to put an extra doona on the mattress to make it softer for you. The beds are only 2 years old and we have many guests complimenting us on them, I am sorry it was too firm for you.

I have also considered your comments regarding the cot and high chair charges. We have these charges in place as the apartments are all individually owned and the owners themselves do not wish to cover the cost of paying staff to setup the cot and provide linen etc. We consequently have a one off charge of $40 to put in a cot, the high chair was charged at the same rate. However in considering your comments I think the high chair charge is excessive in view of the fact that it does not require linen. I have asked the staff to lower the cost for a high chair to $20.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback.

Regards,

Ian Foster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed in a room with a Jacuzzi on the deck for 2 nights in May for hiking.
All of the staff members were extremely nice and very helping.

The apartment room was very clean, and fully equipped.
It is almost like your own home - there were plenty of cooking utensils (even a rice cooker was there), BBQ grill, laundry goods (iron, laundry powder etc), and many towels. Most of the things you need will be there. There wasn't a tooth brash and shampoo (only soap was provided in the bathroom) but there is a small supermarket in the village, so you can always get these things from there if necessary.
Since it was off-season, the village was very quiet. Maybe more than half of restaurants and shops were closed for summer, but a few restaurants, bars and the supermarket were open. (All of these places are walking distance - 5 minutes walk)

We only did easy trails "Kosciuszko walk" and "Dead horse gap" this time. I would love to stay in this apartment again, and try different hiking courses!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in a Village Green apartment for a mountain biking trip in February. It was great: close to the village & chairlifts, spacious, comfortable, clean, garage for the car & bikes. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We took the 3 for 2 melt-down package at Lhotsky Apartments for our Wedding Weekend. A number of guests also booked Lantern and we were all over the moon. We booked out the three bedroom which was so comfortable - it was like being at home.
Thank you Lantern Team - we will be back!!
H&K

Room Tip: Units 1 and 3 are on 'street level' therefore easier to move luggage in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in February 2012 in a one bedroom apartment - with a car space ! We have been staying at the Lantern off and on for over 2 decades and this time was just as good. Although the apartment is showing some signs of its age it was very clean, well equipped and well maintained. The views are still spectacular. We only go in the summer for the walking as we do not ski but these days we leave the car down on the flat so we can drive and not walk up that hill to the Lantern at the end of a walk.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodent1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowgoose Apartments
Snowgoose Apartments
#1 of 24 in Thredbo Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Apartments

Property: Lantern Apartments
Address: Lantern Apartments 2 Banjo Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lantern Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lantern Apartments is rated 4 Stars with AAA tourism. Choose from 35 apartments most with spectacular mountain views of Thredbo Village and the mountains of the Kosciuszko National Park. Thredbo offers snow sports in winter and a choice of hiking, trout fishing, mountain bike riding and relaxing in the Australian Alps. The Village is open all year with shops, restaurants cafes and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lantern Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Apartments Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing