We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor service.”
Review of River Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Inn Resort
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we arrived there was nobody at reception. It was 1030am. A young lady turned up after 5 minutes and seemed disinterested. I think she was thinking about the next cigarette which she had at the front door after checking us in. Didn't look professional.
The room was clean and adequate considering we didn't spend much time in it. The beds were hard and the pillows horrible. After a hard day on the mountain a comfy bed is necessary.
The breakfast was average. Had to pay for a real coffee and when serving soft boiled eggs they didn't have teaspoons to assist eating it. Had to go to the cafe to get a teaspoon.
The dinner included in our package was simple but nice.
The location of this hotel is what makes it. Right next to Friday flat. So you can use your own toilet mid ski session.
The après ski vibe here is also good. Although you are away from most restaurants and bars that are in the village. Only a 5-10 min walk away.
I would stay here again based on location but would ask for a comfortable bed and take own pillows.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly_384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    30
    25
    32
See reviews for
58
41
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I wish I had 1st read the Trip Advisor feedback before booking as we wasted 2 nights of hard earned money for our 1st trip to Thredbo!! The Hotel is not what it is as advertised or what they say over the phone. The location is excellent, but that is it. Here it goes:

The Room - We had a room that had paper thin walls and you could hear everything in the room next door right down to the flushing toilet and hair dryer and know what plans were to be made by the family next door and that was normal talking without screaming. Some of the walls had been patched up and not yet re-painted!!

Sound - Not only could we hear what was going on next door but the sound from the corridors and screaming kids running up and down the halls was crazy. This started at 6.30 in the morning til late at night. Slamming doors was also mental - what a design fault that is. Bang!!!

Bathroom - No complaints here. Good clean bathroom and hot water a plenty.

Staff - Very nice and friendly.

Pillows - Pillows were like sleeping on thin and lumpy wafer biscuits. I pulled a pillow slip off to see and oh my god - it was soiled and brown!! The cleaner got me a newer (ish) pillow.

Bath Towels - Very clean, but the size of tea towels!! Hand towel, you need to ask staff for one.

Guests - We found and met some guests who liked the fact that the hotel did not check how many people in the room and one room that slept 2 was shared by 5 friends!!! Seriously.

Fact - The Thredbo Village staff in conversation did not have great reviews of the River Inn and were quite discreet on their thoughts about the hotel. Even my Ski Instructor sighed when I told her where we were staying.

You might read my review and think I should stay in a Retirement Village or some fancy 5 star hotel but were are a young couple who likes fun but did not like the fact that we thought it was of Backpacker standards. 2 Thredbo Village staff members laughed about the River Inn Backpackers in my 1st 2 hours in Thredbo. I just laughed it off until later in the afternoon that I realised, oh my God, they were right....

My suggestion is to completely overhaul and re-brand the hotel. Do something about the paper thin walls, check how many people come and go as there is currently no real security. Fix these things up and you can up the prices and make the River Inn better!!

Room Tip: Best tip at present is to book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STSurryHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thredbo Village hotels

Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms, staff were great, food and drinks at very reasonable prices, food was good, great selection of beers on tap!! We had a great time and spent a heap more time on the snow due to the awesome location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I only ate and socialised here as a Oz Snow Adventures Tour person. $15 Bistro and drink if you're with them. Had a great time. Food was excellent. You're gonna pay that much for a hot dog anyway, may as well pay it for a decent meal!

Saturday Band was great... in fact the live music every day was great and I found myself dropping in at intervals all day every day. It became the meeting place for friends. Great bar... gets loose... which was great!

Room Tip: Check out the Saturday afternoon band and grab a bistro meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samone84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

A great option for families wanting accommodation within walking distance of the lifts and ski fields
Ski in and out. The only hotel within 20 metres of the chair lifts. A great weekend away with my son. The food is average for bfast. Best to go into the village. The Bavarian beer hall within the hotel is fantastic at days end.
I would definitely recommend this property based on location alone

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keentotravelsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went here on a deal with deals.com which was great value - TWO NIGHTS: Includes Daily Breakfast, One Dinner & Ski or Board Hire ($635 Value) - think we paid 249pp but had to travel in June or Sept. The snow in June was minimal and most trails and lifts were closed. Luckily, the lifts that were open were the ski in ski out one's next to this hotel , so was very convenient. The rooms were surprisingly nice - very clean and new smelling. They have a modern feel and seem like they've maybe recently been renovated? The dinner included is a 3 course buffet style - there is an entree , a choice of approx 3-4 mains and a selection of desserts. You can also pay 30AUD if you want to buy this. The food was actually quite nice but very disappointing breakfast. The food at breakfast is dished to you in a bowl (!) which was very strange. The breakfast food was also very 'cheap' tasting - there is a selection of bacon, egg and mushrooms (this seemed to change slightly by the day). There is no other options apart from one-two cereals. Breakfast seemed unorganised and got the impression there wasn't enough staff to cover at this time of the day. Even had to ask for glasses for the juice which hadn't been put out. The staff at this hotel are all very young and work for 'snowadventures'. Don't expect the best customer service. The worst member of staff was ironically on reception. She had a very miserable manner and everything seemed hard work. She argued the toss when we complained that the chocolate machine had swallowed our money but not given us chocolate. She didn;t feel that it was the hotel's responsibility despite the machine being in their foyer! Thredbo is a nice little village but could definitely do with more bars and restaurants. The walk to the village is about 10 minutes but there are free buses also. I've given this hotel a score of 'very good' as all in all, we were pleasantly surprised with being on a deal. Breakfast and customer service could be alot better however. Also, expect to hear other guests when in your rooms - the walls are paper thin!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askiskiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As a family of four , we had the family room which consists of a queen bed and a bunk of two singles, a little balcony , flat screen tv , fridge , microwave and a kettle . Most importantly a heater which was great because it kept the room warm in the chilly weather . The front desk staff were very helpful and always smiling with a can do attitude . The skiing slopes is only footsteps away which is great because carrying the skiing equipment is so annoying but bearable when it's only for 2 minutes .Overall it's a great resort for a family , but wouldn't recommend it for a romantic getaway !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lantern Apartments
Lantern Apartments
#3 of 24 in Thredbo Village
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn Resort

Property: River Inn Resort
Address: Lot 142 Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing