We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This has to be the best French cuisine I have ever experienced.
Not only the food was oustanding but also meeting the Chef and chat with him about the love and passion for food it blew me away.The pork belly was divine and the duck superb.
I will defenetely reccomended to all my friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caterina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good French-inspired food”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The restaurant ambiance is very casual, but serves good quality rich French food. Entrees were a highlight (mushroom soup, goats cheese and beetroot dish), mains a bit on the heavy side (pork, beef cheek) but still tasty. Reasonable wine list. Friendly relaxed service, and not a long wait for meals to be served. Recommended for those after a casual but quality meal in a ski resort setting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimR_81_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

From the moment we arrived to the final sip of wine we had an incredible time. Each course was delicious, well timed and delivered with a smile! Jean Michael combines his Alsatian heritage with his global experience as a chef and his love of the mountains and you can taste it in every scrumptious bite. Georgina, his wife and restaurant manager is efficient, friendly and super at executing a seamless front of house experience. We were there as a family experience and I cannot wait to go back - a pity I am living in NYC and have to wait as I'd love to go back in the summer and sit on their beautiful verandah eating their summer offerings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Great little resturant and they got me in in short notice. Real french cuisine and the duck entree was fabulous. Good wine selection and great service!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ajsorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funny name for a French restaurant”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We expected good things, and it was delivered in spades. Great service, even greater food, and well priced. My foody wife and her equally discerning sister with hubby happened upon this restaurant after a solid day skiing. The two foodies had trouble drawing a normal breath between mouthfuls, sampling each other's fare and the squeals of delight that met each course.Well done Jean-Michel. We hope you are here next season. We will be back

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KANDAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Michel at the Knickerbocker also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing