We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast but pricey”

The Bakery in the Village Square
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sate your hunger with in-house baked goods and treats in the heart of Thredbo. We have all you need for a day out in the mountains with our award-winning 40 year old starter sourdough bread, fresh buttery croissants, salad rolls on freshly baked bread and hot flaky pastry pies and sausage rolls.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great breakfast but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Delicious baked treats abound at this place and I think it has improved from last year - new owners as I understand. Coffee is pretty good but the place gets crowded so you can wait. I decided to eat in and try their breakfast - eggs benedict. The breakfast was delicious but a little slow in coming and also quite expensive compared to Sydney prices which was a bit of surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbjo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average food bad service rudest and inexperienced staff in thredbo!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The yank lady behind the counter is the rudest person there, she talks to you like you are nothing and whats with kids making coffee? $25 for a breakfast cooked by someone that looks like he is fresh out of jail! Over priced rubbish! Sundance in Jindabyne is far better, friendlier staff and better coffee!
You guys need to pick your act up if you wish to survive in thredbo! I wont be going back any time soon, will go to Altitude!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewinthredbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad services.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I went to this shop for a takeaway coffee. While we were queuing and it's my turn to order, a young girl just ignore me and ask me to go to the other staff there and then she serve other people. I felt like I'm being discriminate. This is a tourist area, this is not a right attitude. Didn't get to try the food and coffee, but it smell really good, will try the one in Fyschwick market, hope I will not be treated this way again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Food was nice, a bit overpriced but it's Thredbo so you could live with that. The service was bad though, they were disorganised and rude - quick to take the money but totally forgot my order and when i went up 10 minutes later to see what was going on there was no apology. No customer service and bad attitudes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmmxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“kids in the kitchen.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have no problem with kids learning the ropes, but when you charge 5 bucks a brew, please make sure they are up to it. Owner seems content to let three kids make the coffee , one could just reach the group head. Flavourless milky hot water. Don't bother if the kids are in the kitchen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SRD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery in the Village Square also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to The Bakery in the Village Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing