We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room at the inn - for young families, anyway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Reviewed June 1, 2007

To be fair, this review relates to a stay which took place in the 2005 ski season - June 2005 to be exact. I believe the hotel had only recently been taken over by Rydges at the time, so hopefully its management has improved. We booked a 4-night stay for a family in a "family room" and were travelling with another party. We arrived late in the evening to find the parking at the hotel somewhat chaotic - you are instructed to park wherever you can find a space; if there is no space, it's a case of bad luck. You are also given a parking voucher to display in your vehicle, given parking space is at a premium. We were then directed up several flights of stairs (no lift) to our room, to find it was actually two separate rooms which were adjoining, but not interconnected. When we pointed out there must be a mistake, given we could not be expected to leave a 3 yo and 5 yo unaccompanied in a completely separate room to our double room, we discovered just how truly chaotic the management was. After being left to cool our heels for 30mins, we again approached the management to find out what was being done. It appeared they had forgotten our situation. By this time, it was approaching 11pm - not ideal for a family with young children and nowhere to sleep (the children were not allowed to sleep in our room, due to fire regulations). Another 30mins later, the only solution which could be offered was a true family room in another part of the hotel, which was available for one night only. Much fuss was made about the fact that we were being offered a room which was above the rate we had originally booked at - not sure why, given it was certainly nothing flash and reeked of cigarette smoke. After contacting the emergency number of the agency we had booked through, it was agreed that we would stay the night in the substitute room and be refunded the remaining 3 nights of our stay. There was no offer of compensation by the hotel, nor any attempt to arrange alternative accommodation at another facility. In the morning, we located the local accommodation booking centre and secured a nearby chalet which offered far superior accommodation, albeit at a somewhat more expensive rate. In terms of resort properties, we later came across The Denman Hotel and found it also to be far superior in accommodation and service. Incidentally, we never received an apology from the staff at the Thredbo Alpine Hotel, even though they admitted they were made aware of the age of the children on the original booking form. Consequently, we have avoided this property ever since. (To add insult to injury, the other party we were travelling with received a parking infringement notice from the hotel, incorrectly claiming they did not display their parking voucher and, therefore, were not entitled to be parked on the property!)

1  Thank Milily_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerThredboHotel, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2007

Dear Maid in Oz,

I was disturbed to read of your experience at our Hotel and hope you will accepet my sincere apologies for the poor service.

Please be assured that the issues you raise have been discussed with the Supervisors concerned, we understand the need to do better.

If you are contemplating a visit to Thredbo at some future time please do not hesitate to contact me directly and we will endeavour to make amends.

Yours sincerely
Jon Ackary
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 292 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2007

Stay 16th-18th April 2007
Booked- Through Thredbo Reservations
Paid- $440 incl 2 nights, 3 course dinner, buffet breakie each day, 2 packed lunches, chair lift passes.

Had never been to the NSW Snowy Mountains outside of Winter and there were alot of specials going.

Hotel is very well located, right in front of the main chair lift, very easy to walk around. It was built in the late 50's or early 60's.

Rooms were comfortable if abit on the small side, we had a mountain view. Heating was adjustable and comfortable. The spa is located outside with views of the mountain, it is heated. The pool is not.

The stand out from our stay was the attentive and friendly service. Everyone was down to earth and helpful, not pushy. The Cascades rest. had outstanding service and the food was great. The dinner in our package would have been worth $110 alone. The lunch pack was more than we expected- a huge roll, apple, fruit bar, choccie bar, muffin, juice( fuel for that mountain climb!) Breakfast was the usual buffet fare, they would cook your eggs to order. The coffee was filter and could have been better.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lost_nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

I title this “A good place to stay” because that is exactly what it is…good. It’s not great but then again you are probably not going to Thredbo for the accommodation anyway. The beds are cosy and comfortable. The bathrooms are fine, not super new but totally functional and they are what you would expect for the star rating and age of the hotel. Summer or winter you are guaranteed to enjoy it. The place is rated 3-4 stars so that's what you get. In winter the prices sky rocket so if you can get a cheap deal at the Denman I would personally go for that instead because it is newer and has a higher star rating.

As mentioned in the other review, the location is probably the best in the resort.

All in all if you are looking for hotel style accommodation in the center of it all…this is the only place to stay. We have stayed here probably over 10 times and are consistently happy with both the service and the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mkc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2006

Please note that I vivited this hotel in the summer time.The Thredbo Alpine hotel was a very nice hotel.Rooms are nice even though the decor is not all that modern.The facilities are great and the cascade restuarant was very nice. The staff are friendly and there is a warm atmoshphere throughout the hotel. The best part is the location.Literally at the foot of the chairlift and within walking distance to everything.Thredbo is a great little village with plenty to do even in summer. I cant wait to go back and take my kids this time.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jutta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Katjana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThredboResort, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss_senator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
120 reviews
9.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
104 reviews
16.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range: $132 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub & Bistro and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. With something for everyone and only a stones throw from everything, Thredbo Alpine Hotel is the perfect place for your next mountain escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing