We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location, disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Almost everything about this hotel disappointed. An experience that would have been rated 2 stars but gets one more star for its location.

Pros:
- Location, location, location;
- Bed was quite soft and comfortable;

Cons:
- Décor unattractive and run-down;
- Shower very hard to get a good temperature and caused the whole bathroom to fog up;
- Toilet did not flush properly (took several attempts) and only 1 ply toilet paper provided;
- Room was serviced after 3pm;
- Not enough parking for the number of guests (about half a dozen spots were reserved for veuve clicquot vehicles);
- There was a reasonable spread on the breakfast buffet, but the hot buffet was cold by the time I got to it on the two days (we tried going at different times in the hope it would be better). They managed to botch all 3 ways of cooking eggs - even the big hungry boys seemed to be struggling to force it down. As a pointer to the hotel - breakfast would be much better if there was a single row of hot breakfast that was under proper heating and refreshed regularly;
- Having decent coffee with breakfast cost extra (you'd think they could throw it in with the high cost of the stay!);
- Movie channels on the TV had bad reception and could not be watched;
- Noise from the rave party downstairs extended late into the night (I was so tired from snowboarding I couldn't care less, but this would annoy some);
- Staff at front counter were variable - some were fine, others were rude;
- Equal most I have ever spent on a hotel stay across 4 continents!

Unfortunately I think the one pro of location keeps the hotel at full capacity and so they don't really care about fixing what is overall quite an unsatisfactory experience for guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It disappoints me that you have not enjoyed your stay with us at the Thredbo Alpine hotel, but what disappoints me the most is that you have not asked for me while you stayed at the hotel.



I very much thank you for your honest review of the hotel and of the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    126
    65
    16
    14
See reviews for
61
131
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a 3 night mid week stay in July after a 50cm dump snow the weekend before, so lift passes included was a real bonus because the skiing was great.... (This offer determined our decision to ski in Thredbo) We found the staff friendly, helpful and attentive. Car park was jammed and had to drive down to overnight for first night, but found a spot next day in hotel carpark. Cascades restaurant was comfortable and not overpriced compared to other restaurants in Thredbo for dinner. Staff were very attentive and accommodating. Breakfast was great. Hotel facilities are a little tired but OK. We could hear every word from guys in room next door via the interconnecting door. (Sound proofing would be good idea). Access to the ski lifts is awesome. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It very much pleases me that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you have taken advantage of our ski free package (offering fantastic value).

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team regarding your experiences in our food and beverage departments, thanks you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 months in advance, and got lucky as it snowed the day we arrived and the next 2 days. Hotel is in an ultra convenient location, right in the heart of everything. We've ski'd in Perisher and New Zealand and what Thredbo has is that you have both a village life and you can stay right on the slopes (whereas in New Zealand you generally have to travel by bus or 4x4 up to the slopes each day 30 minutes plus).

Tip: book everything in advance. We got a good deal for end of July by booking in May. But we've made a mental note only to book for August if we are going to ski again (shoulder season).

For thredbo, it was excellent. We loved our time there. The view from our room was amazing.

The room is small, and if there is no snow during your time there then it may feel even smaller. Our room did not have a microwave and when we enquired at reception whether there was one to use in the hotel we were told it was against health and safety rules (!?!).

The bar downstairs was quite nice. Cosy atmosphere with the fire and most evenings there was live music.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TintinOz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It very much pleases me that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you have taken advantage of our early bird bookings (offering fantastic value).

Thredbo is truly a unique ski village in the heart of the snow mountains, thank you for your kind comments regarding our village and your excellent experiences whist here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Its true of most hotels around the world;location costs.This is certainly true for the Alpine Hotel. This hotel is the closest accomodation to the slopes,it has easily accessed ski and boot lockers and car parking on site. The hotel has quite a nice bar area where you can order somewhat overpriced drinks from early afternoon onwards and sit on comfortable chairs around a large central fire place. This proved to be a bit of a bonus on my recent stay when there was barely a flake of snow on the mountain and skiing not a viable option! All that said, no-one will feel the quality of the accomodation in any way matches the prices. The room sizes are OK (certainly bigger than many at The Denman), and the bathrooms have a bathtub which is great for an after ski soak. As most reviewers comment, the rooms and in fact entire hotel are somewhat tired and dated and you certainly feel like you're stepping back in time when you stay at the Alpine. The staff were both friendly and professional.
If you stay at the Alpine thinking you're staying at a 5 star hotel- because thats what it costs - you'll be sorely disappointed. If you're happy to pay for convenience and location - then thats exactly what you'll get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It disappoints me that you have not enjoyed your stay with us at the Thredbo Alpine hotel, but what disappoints me the most is that you have not asked for me while you stayed at the hotel.

i am sorry that mother nature wasn't forthcoming with snow on the ground for you whislt you where at Thredbo

I very much thank you for your honest review of the hotel and of the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Pros = location. Excellent in the heart of Thredbo village, food and skiing very close by.
Breakfast was included at cascades restaurant, very good and a great selection of options, including smoothies. Ski lockers and drying rooms were very handy.
Cons = so dated, needs a renovation urgently, our room even had a leaky window, didn't bother us, but a sign of disrepair. Bed was comfortable enough, but it felt like we were staying in the 80s. For those prices, I expected more. Also some people may be bothered by the lack of lifts and wifi was only available in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymkymkymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It disappoints me that you have not enjoyed your stay with us at the Thredbo Alpine hotel, but what disappoints me the most is that you have not asked for me while you stayed at the hotel.

I very much thank you for your honest review of the hotel and of the resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
464 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Alpine Hotel

While this hotel is superbly located in 'The Village'.

It is an old 3 Star property with 3 Star service. The issue is they charge 5++ Star rates.

If everything works 100%, you will leave this place feeling ripped off. If some things go wrong, you will leave this place feeling ripped off AND angry. What a bonus!

If these places want to charge the high rates, then they should deliver the goods. The management seem to feel you should be prepared to deal with any poor service as a matter of course. "We're busy" ! No kidding ! A Ski resort during school holidays ! Ummmm.. Thanks for that useful information.

The rooms are basic and small and old. Beds were good, TV good, heating system was a bit dodgy the second night needing attention. Phone didn't work, bedside lamps rickety at best, housekeeping very patchy.

Don't expect to lounge around in these rooms unless it's on the bed. Once your ski luggage is in, you will be tight.

Disco loud music bother us on 1 night till 2am. Not super loud but enough to make you wonder.

No WiFi in the rooms. Almost no WiFi in the reception/bar which is unacceptable in this age.

The breakfast was fine although no variation over a week. Restaurant staff were invariably nice.

Other hotel Staff in the reception and bar were mostly very pleasant with one exception.

Reception should perhaps inform guest how to get to the breakfast location on arrival as they place has secret passages we discovered on the 3rd day and the fire door on the 3rd floor was a quick way to the Village strip.

This place will catch the unaware or those late bookers with little choice. If you do rent an apartment somewhere on the village, the service will be the same and better equipped. You can walk to most places for dinner from anywhere in the village.

Still, due to the price, even during peak season, I will never stay here again. Once bitten ......

Post notes: we were quite shocked at the expense of almost everything in Thredbo from Ski tickets, restaurants and of course accommodation.

Regardless of snow conditions (they were very poor early July) you still pay full price even with only 2 patchy ski runs worth the effort.

The prices of some of the food venues and cleanliness of the places on the mountain, was very poor and an embarrassment if Thredbo is Australia's premium Ski Resort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScambusterSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
SCAMBUSTERsz,
It disappoints me that you have not enjoyed your stay with us at the Thredbo Alpine hotel, but what disappoints me the most is that you have not asked for me while you stayed at the hotel.

I very much thank you for your honest review of the hotel and of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thredbo Village hotels

sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the weekend 2 weeks ago. the staff were friendly and nice. although the hotel is a bit tired but i have no complaint. it's clean, and in good condition. Again, it was the staff who make the difference. Location is the best.
I have read positive reviews in regards to breakfast. I don't think it was the best but it was ok.
I did not think of writing this review originally but I stayed in another hotel in Thredbo just last week and I can feel the difference. Thredbo Alpine is so much better and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsumsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Great to receive positive feedback about the hotel and its staff, the staff take great pride in lifting their levels of guest satisfaction so I’ll be sure to place your review on their notice board.



regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#2 of 4 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantern Apartments
Lantern Apartments
#3 of 24 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Property: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Address: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub & Bistro and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. With something for everyone and only a stones throw from everything, Thredbo Alpine Hotel is the perfect place for your next mountain escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing