We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family get together....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Excellent family get together....”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed here with a family group for a special occasion. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make sure everything was in order. The rooms were excellent. This is an older property but it does have the character of an alpine chalet.

We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. There was plenty of things to chose from and you could order your eggs any way you liked!

The family enjoyed themselves immensely. So, a special thanks to all the staff who helped make this weekend special.

Room Tip: Enjoy the buffet breakfast in Cascades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Wing rider,
The staff take great satisfaction is reading reviews that reflect tehir commitment to customer service and to making our guest stay one to remember.

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Thredbo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    128
    67
    16
    16
See reviews for
65
133
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Older style spacious apartment right across the road from chairlifts. Great views of snowfields, easy access. Good undercover carpark included close to drying rooms. Kitchen fitted out with everything and more. Comfortable beds. Bed covers look like designed in 70s, a simple change would give apartment a more modern look. Lounge uncomfortable. Drying cupboard did not work at all, informed reception who said yes it does without even looking. Cant remember unit number but think maybe not all apartments are the same. Easy walk to everything including shuttle bus stop to Friday Flat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabanannake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visiting Thredbo out of ski season is a strange experience. The place is nearly desrted and many of the shops are closed. The receptionist at the hotel explained to me that for four months they are at 100% capacity and then fall to 3%. That would expalin why I only saw one other guest in my 2 nights. I can't comment on what it would be like when full, but there are advantages to emptiness.
Unsurprisingly it was very quiet. The hotel is easy walking distance to the main chairlift and has free parking. The deserted corridors had a suggestion of "The Shining" about it. I stayed in the St Moritz suite with a view of the still snow capped mountains from the balcony. The room was somewhat darkly lit, bu the bathroom was bright. (The spa bath rather confusingly had two sets of instruction for use - one advised pressing the gold button and the other to press the black button - the actual button was white!)
The lounge downstairs included an open fire, comfy armchairs, a grand piano and free wifi access.
Meals were served in an attached restaurant/bar called "Cascades" and were very good. The Bombe Alaska was so good I had it twice. Pity the venison with chocolate was unavailable. Breakfast was supposed to be a buffet, but due to the paucity of guests I was told to order whatever hot food I liked and keep ordering until I had had enough. Highly recommended.
Should I return to Thredbo, I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Equivoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Equivoco,
October and November are the quietest months of the year, you could call it a transition period from winter to summer, thank you for the feedback regarding the Spa bath, I will revisit the instructions!!

Let me know when you are next planning to visit Thredbo, would like the opportunity to catch up in person and say thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent 2 nights and 2 days at the Thredbo Alpine Hotel during early August, courtesy of a generous friend. The weather was appalling during those 2 days but after an excellent buffet breakfast in the hotel dining room, I had a very pleasant time reclining and reading in the very cosy lounging area of the Hotel which offered panoramic views of the ski slopes.

I can't comment on value for money as I don't know what the typical cost of accommodation is in Thredbo. However, the hotel would have been beyond my budget as a retired person.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanna41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had an overnight stay here on our way to Canberra and enjoyed our time in Thredbo.
The hotel is the largest available in Thredbo and ski areas are never great value but we bought a room on Wotif which was very reasonable at the end of the ski season. The rooms are tight and starting to show signs of wear and tear but were clean and well maintained.
The lounge area is a great spot for drinks and watching the chair lifts and skiers. Breakfast was good with a good selection of items.
Great staff made our stay very enjoyable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Thanks for a great couple of days. Breakfast was superb! Rooms are tired but sufficient. Location is what it is all about and the hotel is in the middle of the Village. Late spring skiing is a fabulous excuse for a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHolidaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
116 reviews
16.5 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
197 reviews
9.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Property: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Address: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub & Bistro and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. With something for everyone and only a stones throw from everything, Thredbo Alpine Hotel is the perfect place for your next mountain escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing