We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in the Alpine region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had an overnight stay here on our way to Canberra and enjoyed our time in Thredbo.
The hotel is the largest available in Thredbo and ski areas are never great value but we bought a room on Wotif which was very reasonable at the end of the ski season. The rooms are tight and starting to show signs of wear and tear but were clean and well maintained.
The lounge area is a great spot for drinks and watching the chair lifts and skiers. Breakfast was good with a good selection of items.
Great staff made our stay very enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 297 reviews

A quickbeds.com traveller
Snowy Mountains
1
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank A quickbeds.com traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Thanks for a great couple of days. Breakfast was superb! Rooms are tired but sufficient. Location is what it is all about and the hotel is in the middle of the Village. Late spring skiing is a fabulous excuse for a holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyHolidaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

After reading the reviews here prior to confirming our booking for our first family snow trip we were hesitant however decided we should judge for ourselves and I can honestly say we are so happy we did.

Our arrival was handled smoothly and in quite a friendly manner although perhaps some more hotel/skiing info could have been volunteered more readily...e.g. where we should go on our first day at the ski fields for kids club/lessons making it a little less daunting or where one might find the hot spa after a days skiing.

We had also set our expectations according to reviews expecting to see a tired/dated hotel however were pleasantly surprised to find a clean, tidy, charming hotel with great spaces for relaxing by the fire at the bar & comfortable rooms. As a family we were also extremely pleased and grateful for the interconnecting rooms allowing us (& the kids) our own room & bathroom & areas to 'escape'.

Breakfast buffet sensational. Cascades for dinner was also great although prices a little on the high side although very reasonable when compared to 'Thredbo Village' prices found elsewhere during our stay.

All in all, we were exceptionally happy with the hotel, including location (with a couple of kids, 10 & 8, & it being their first time skiing we were keen not to overwhelm them with long distance walks/travel etc.), daily housekeeping - sensational, staff brilliant with a special shout out & huge thanks to Dan, Ally & Meg. Completely agree with Josh's comments below - spot on!

Look forward to seeing you all again very soon & will be recommending this hotel to all we know who plan on 'snowing it up' in Thredbo.

Room Tip: There are no lifts in the 3 floor hotel so if you don't fancy climbing some stairs, ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for a weekend at the end is September - very end of ski season. We had a great deal with lift passes included. The room was very comfortable - king sized bed - and the service was great. Located directly opposite the chairlift and in the heart of the village.
Breakfast was amazing - big selection of really good quality food - I've had a lot of hotel breakfasts around the world and this was the best! Parking was included, and the heated spa was great after a day on the mountain. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyAussieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the celisia studio which was a 5-10 min walk to the main village centre and ski lifts. Great view across to the mountains, parking spot out the front and a nicely appointed room. The tv was small by today's standards but that didn't matter much as we had 30cm of fresh snow and plenty of après skiing to do!

Better option than the alpine hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marsh_Craigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Ideal location right across from the chairlifts and most of threbo's restaurants and bars. The buffet breakfast was as good as we've had in a long time and kept us going most of the day on the hill!

It's no surprise that the price of accomodation is high, however the hotel is certainly getting close to refurbishment time. We were kept up by our snoring neighbours and the little things like having the flimsiest, cheapest toilet paper makes you less likely to rave about the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsh_Craigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
128 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9.1 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range: $126 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant plus lots of great seasonal options. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing