We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, good service but not a nice sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of 2 chairlifts, many restaurants and shops. It has good restaurants of its own, heated ski and boot lockers and a hot jacuzzi that feels so relaxing after a day on the slopes. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread is delicious!
Negatives: the sleep was not comfortable - the bed was hard, the pillows uncomfortable. There was no iron in the room, so we had to go to the laundry everytime. The lounge bar was always filled with screaming children, so there was no place to sit down and relax in the evening.
We had a great offer which included breakfast and lift passes for two for a very good price; this was also our first time at this hotel. Unless they get more comfortable beds, next time I will choose a better sleep over all the convenience and other positives of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stylish_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 306 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

As a CEO of a large hospitality business I was amazed at reading some of the below reviews coming into last weekends trip and i have to admit i was expecting poor service and poor rooms.
I am happy to announce that no one of the comments rang true execpt for the breakfasts which are fantastic!!
the hotel is dated but that is it's charm - it is more then comfortable and for the price at australian ski fields it was an amazing deal considering the location which is awesome (see photo from room). clean comfortable - what more do you want? - you are supposed to be skiing not sitting in your room generating negitivity and pushing it onto others that are there to have fun!!
the staff were the biggest surprise and i did not have one bad experience - everything was too easy for them and they were super professional and fun. i didn't experiance the noise issue and i was near to the nightclub on the 3rd floor, but we may have been lucky with the rooms near us not having noisy people?
anyway all i can say is everything was above and beyond expectations and thats all i can ever ask for in hospitality. i will be back next year hoping to secure another great deal like the spring special we got - best two days this year for me....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The most fantastic thing about this hotel is its location no matter what time of the year you may stay here. We stayed here twice and have used the complex facilities over a number of years. However this is a two star hotel masquerading as 5 star simply because it can, due to its location. Most of the rooms need desperate tender loving care. Reception and service staff need a boot up the rear end, breakfast staff in general are pretty good. This whole hotel complex needs an overhall, the clubs and bars no longer draw a crowd (not the party atmosphere you expect) yet this does not appear to bother the owners. Obviously it is making enough money as it is very expensive particularly in the winter months, you are better off staying in the lodges. The atmosphere I remember in by gone days has disapperaed it has simply out priced and outdated itself. The snow and natural environment is this hotels draw card, if global warming continues then my prediction is that Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel would be the first to shut.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misha692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The so called King room seemed to be a kids bedroom/ensuite hence the compact bathroom & it had a locked door adjoining another room we had no access to. It consisted of 2 single beds pushed together (that's their definition of King size) a balcony which smoking is not permitted if you're a smoker, appalling reception with the in house movie channels even with today's technology, & nearly every meal was served almost cold. The only positive thing was the location & the balcony view.


  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feifferz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went down for a weekend and the location of the hotel is 2nd to none. Being able to get up in the morning, cross the bridge and be on the lifts is one of this hotel's best attributes. I also liked the skiing racks, boot storage and spa which all helped make it a very easy skiing weekend.

Food wise, the breakfast was the best i have had in a long time. Have eaten a lot of hotel buffet breakfasts in my life, but this was one of the best. The little juice shots, funky fruit platters and little extras is what set this apart.

Accommodation was fine for the snow but would be considered fairly ordinary anywhere else. Hopefully some small improvements over the next few seasons could improve this aspect.

My only real negative was the noise that could be heard from other rooms. Some rooms were having music until well into the early hours of the morning and unfortunately it could be heard very easily through the doors. The hotel staff did try to calm some of the rooms down (and I commend them for this) but considering the rates charged, a decent nights sleep for each guest should be a high priority. Don't mind music and noise until around midnight but after that it gets a little annoying.

Overall, would thoroughly recommend this hotel espescially if you can pick up some good rates.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgb668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I strongly suggest that if you are planning on staying here you are far better off staying at the backpackers. How does a Rydges hotel put their name to such a dirty, unfriendly ,revolting hotel.
My experience for $450 a night I received the following , no valet, no help with any luggage,rude reception staff, dirty bathrooms with moldy shower curtains, bedside tables that has fake buttons to turn things on for show, loud ,loud music from the band that was playing next door till 1am,banging doors from the run way of a hallway from all neibours. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything including your neibours using the bathroom. The secound day we had no one clean our room and where left with wet towels. Our booking was incorrectly booked ,after trying to sort it out I just came across rude intolarent front desk monkeys.my suggestion is new profesional staff that have some kind of training and a match !! Really Rydges I would not be putting your name to this this disrace. !,,,

Room Tip: I think they need to build a new hotel I wouldn't recommend any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hubby and I recently took our 5 year old daughter and her friend to Thredbo for 3 nights. His mum and 2 of his brothers also came along. We stayed in a 3 bedroom #1005 apartment and it was excellent! Sure it's not the newest decor but it is all really clean and fully functional. It had a huge 12 seater "U" shaped lounge which was so comfortable right in front of a large flat screen tv. Main bedroom downstairs with ensuite and queen bed. Main bathroom also downstairs with shower over bath. Kitchen, dining and lounge on downstairs level. Upstairs is 2 bedrooms. One with 2 x single beds, the other with 2 x bunk beds plus 1 x single (so bedding for 9 all up!!!) the other great feature for us was under the stairs was an open space which with the help of a blanket and some clothes pegs made a great cubby house for the kids!! Spectacular views of the mountains from every single window. Right near all the shops, free bus shuttle service and the chairlifts are straight across the road. Great mini slopes 30 seconds from your front door perfect for sledding and snowball fights and building snowmen!!! There were even fireworks set off on the saturday night on the mountain! Highly recommend it!!! We had a blast!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
190 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
18 reviews
18.8 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range: $128 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant plus lots of great seasonal options. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing