We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ideal for for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The location is ideal! Right in the heart of Thredbo Village, the village bus stops at your front door and Valley Treminal is across the road. The apartment is clean, homely with all that you need with a dining table, kitchen, full bathroom. The decor could do with an update, but it's its location, beautiful view and having all your conveniences at your finger tips is why you stay! It's comfortable and just a nice place to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Tmsc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Expensive as expected but had a great time with the booze, pool and music. Pretty good vibe even though it was early to mid-week. Bistro food - is just that. Go to the many other restaurants unless you are just happy with average meals. Will fill you up, but wonder why you ate it afterwards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank lyn197272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The service of this hotel in the food & beverage team was great, Jason, Wiki & team were outstanding, and the degustation meal superb & the breakfast very good.
And of course its location for ski-ing excellent.
However areas that need attention, the sound proofing of the rooms,(so so noisy) , some of the reception team need an attitude adjustment, which really lets the place down. Decor is a little swedish retro, ie tired & the rooms are night so hot ( need individual room controls)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MazzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I do apologize for the front office team, not normally the feed back i get for them, I have reviewed your feed back with the team and carried out customer service training.

I have passed on your comments regarding the food and beverage team, they work very hard to make sure you get the right start to your day with the RISE breakfast or the happiest closure to your night.

Our rooms are small and comfortable but your comments have been taken on board and we will working on these moving forward, this will not be a short term fix but a long term strategy.

I do hope to see you again this season or come and stay with us in the summer time, we have some wonderful music festivals happening Jazz, Blues and our new country music festival, check out our web site for the up to-date information.


regards

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Best part about the hotel is the location, right in the village and opposite the chairlifts. Friday Flat is just a short 5 minutes bus ride, with the shuttle right outside as well.

The rooms are as expected of a hotel of this quality. Service was just ok. The ground coffee provided in the room was opened & half used up by the previous guest (I would presume) and we had to call a few times and it was not replaced until the next day when we had to remind them again. Looks like housekeeping is also not that efficient!

Buffet breakfast was quite impressive and set us up nicely for a day's skiing.

As has been mentioned several times by other reviewers, the rates are quite high, which unfortunately has become the norm these days in the Aussie ski resorts.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so you may want to request a room on the lower level if you have trouble climbin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heron_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel, I do apologize for the house keeping miss with the ground coffee, we have allocated refresher training to the house keeping department so this doesn't happen again.

I am happy that you have enjoyed the Rise Breakfast, a new standard implemented this year.

Once again thank you for the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

If you want absolute luxury don't stay here, but....The location is perfect, the staff friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable, the sauna hot and best of all was the breakfast, one of the best hotel buffets I have experienced. I will definitely stay here again during the ski season.

Room Tip: We chose a king room which was adequately appointed, the bed was very comfortable, definitely not 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reece M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel,

I am happy that you have enjoyed the Rise Breakfast, a new standard implemented this year.

Once again thank you for the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The location was fantastic if you're there for the snow - just a couple of minutes walk to the charilift. The staff were great in the restaurant & bar, but the reception staff who refused to make a dinner booking 'for other places' showed poor form. The included breakfast was good and for dinner the in-house Segreto & Cascades restaurants were good as well - if you're staying somewhere else I would recommend dinner there. The rooms are in dire need of an overhaul. I had a backache every morning from the bed. The cleaning staff need to pay a bit more attention to cleaning the rooms. We found rubbish and socks from previous guests in the room. Overall, it was a generally pleasant stay but for the price of the room we can go to Japan and stay at much better accommodation (huge 1br apt w/kit, laundry, dining, lounge & great view, same dist. from chairlift) with the cost of airfare & room about the same as a tiny hotel room in Thredbo & the snow quality... well, it just doesn;t compare

Room Tip: There's no lift so if you don't mind walking up the stairs you'd probably get a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowleopard53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel, it is very much appreciated and welcomed.

Once again thank you for the feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our family of five spent five nights at the Alpine Apartments in a two bedroom unit. The apartment was quite comfortable apart from having the toilet in the only bathroom. It was quite expensive but cheaper than alot of other places at this time of year as we stayed in school holiday/peak season. I was surprised that these apartments get serviced daily, if you want. The apartment was located straight across the road from the mountain, a short walk across to the lifts/ski terminal, close to shops and the bus stop for Friday Flat located out the front. We also had undercover parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DisyWisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
0.1 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
128 reviews
18.8 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range: $130 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant plus lots of great seasonal options. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing