We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made feel welcome as soon as we arrived with explanation of activities and area.”
Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very friendly hospitality. Treated as a person not a customer. Excellent food. Very competitively priced. Comprehensive wine list. Great European beers and ciders. Great location. Fun activities. Hosts provided lots of information about the local area which was very helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrettBega_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 70 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a delicious dinner at the Black Bear last night. Everyone from the bartender to the waiters and waitresses were friendly, helpful and professional. The food was amazing. I had a smoked trout salad and lamb with figs and goats' cheese. My husband had fettuccini and sticky ribs. We shared an affogato for dessert. Perfect all round! I would recommend this restaurant very highly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

As now seasoned winter travellers and diners in Thredbo we were absolutely delighted to find that the whole village has just as much, if not more to offer in summer but in a much more sleepy and relaxed climate.

It is true to say that several establishments in the village had a slightly "exhausted" air about them (but the same expensive price tag!!)...perhaps on slimmer staffing, or perhaps still recovering from a busy season...whatever the reason, we found Black Bear to be the same as ever. Friendly without effusive gushiness, a small but well put together menu and wine list that finds a winner for every taste, and a busy atmosphere of locals and tourists.

Again and again we recommend this restaurant to friends and strangers alike (one strikes up a conversation easily in a small village!!).

Good luck to them.

Our first summer visit to Thredbo will not be our last!

p.s.Everywhere is expensive in Thredbo and Black Bear is no exception, so I don't give any restaurant a value for money ranking over Sydney dining...but for value in the village, The Black Bear is one of the best.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legs174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After spending a couple of nights eating at the pub we decided to try the Black Bear Inn for a more 'homely' dining experience. Unfortunately the experience was disappointing and we felt unwelcome from the start. Despite the clear favouritism for local residents, the meal sizes were small and the waitress treated us as an after thought. Considering this local establishment would rely on tourism for their livelihood, we were amazed that a better approach to 'hospitality' had not been adopted. Needless to say, we dined at the local pub again the next night and were rewarded with a smiling waitress, good size meals and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Room was small, but very clean. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Would recommend to any one wanting to stay at Thredbo. The Inn is near the snow, just a short courtesy bus ride (5 mins), it is walkable but quite a few stairs (< 400 m).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_from_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and i stayed at Black Bear for 5 nights and we couldn't be happier! We ate out each night of our stay and no where else was as nice as Black Bear. The food was absolutely delicious and the menu had a range of yummy options! The restaurant and bar have an amazing atmosphere and the staff were wonderful! The accommodation wasn't the greatest, but definitely reasonable for the pricing, though the room did get very hot at night. Would highly recommend to anyone and would gladly stay at Black Bear anytime! Thanks to the staff for making it a very enjoyable experience for us both! x

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeccyFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Ate at restaurant third night in a row. 1st night ok, 2nd night they ran out of bread and oysters. When they finally came in at 9pm and we ordered we were told after 15 minute wait that chef would be happy if you cancelled your order because he's under the pump. Third and last night - EVER (2 strikes is enough) we were told by Sandy she was busy, to speak softer and be grateful she'd got us a table without a rerservation! What the? I'm told the place is being demolished, perhaps that's why the attitude. Seriously, giving our hard earnt dollars to another restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank SLP1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berntis Mountain Inn
Berntis Mountain Inn
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aneeki Ski Lodge
Aneeki Ski Lodge
#20 of 25 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Address: Black Bear Inn 30 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thredbo Village
Price Range: $133 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn is one of Thredbo's original Tyrolean style lodges, situated in the heart of the Thredbo Village, oozing with loads of traditional Austrian/German character to provide a perfect venue for any time of the year, and is within an easy walking distance to the village shops, restaurants and nightlife. The 'Bear' is famous for its authentic bar and licensed restaurant offering fabulous mountain views and featuring Imported Beers as well as an extensive selection of local and imported Schnapps. The restaurant offers fresh modern Australian cuisine with a European influence. All rooms have great mountain views, are centrally heated, ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, and have recently undergone some improvements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing