We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The complete package of excellent fine dining”

Cascades Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Treat yourself with the $49 Two Course Midweek Special – from Tuesday to Thursday enjoy a main, dessert and a glass of house wine for only $49! A beautiful selection of modern Australian Cuisine with the emphasis on fresh seafood, tender meats and delectable desserts. Wake up to the biggest breakfast in Thredbo. Fill up for a day of exploring with full buffet and a la carte options including a selection of juices, freshly baked pastries, cereals and all your favorite hot menu items. In a rush? Pick up a delicious takeaway coffee and a bacon and egg roll. In the evening indulge in a menu of modern Australian cuisine with an emphasis on fresh seafood, tender meats and delectable desserts. Enjoy a wine list that complements our flavorsome menu featuring some of the best wines from the major regions throughout Australia. Children are welcome & reservations are recommended.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The most important aspect- the food- was excellent. A very interesting range on the menu that set it apart from the standard fare on many menus. The food itself was presented well and the taste sensations were commended by all at our table of eight. My entree of Arincini was a delicious combination of various cheeses. The service was very good. The wines we selected were excellent. The whole experience was most enjoyable. The prices are comparable to other fine dining establishments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Travel_addict13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P, Manager at Cascades Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the positive review of our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our service and that our menu exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the moment we walked in we felt great. The staff were excellent, greeted us very pleasantly and professionally, offered us a choice of seating, took our coats etc. Throughout the meal they were appropriately attentive, spoke beautifully, always addressed us professionally and politely, offered the choice of child or adult menus, the food was beautifully presented, cooked to perfection and interesting combinations of flavours as well as reasonably but not too diverse a menu. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank antlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P, Manager at Cascades Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the positive review of our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our menu and that our service exceeded your expectations. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, which our guests expect. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thredbo. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The food and staff were superb. One of the nicest dining experiences I have had in a long time. It was a little noisy with all of the hard surfaces, but otherwise excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tab123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P, Manager at Cascades Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the positive review of our restaurant. We are very pleased that our staff exceeded your service expectations, and that you enjoyed our food. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Food w lovely but experience was made by the very accommodating staff who take seriously dietary requirements and do their best to accommodate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cinbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P, Manager at Cascades Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our restaurant, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, which our guests expect. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thredbo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Spending a night in the Alpine Thredbo hotel we read the great reviews about the Cascades restaurant and wanted to try it. It was a quiet night and there were barely 3 tables occupied, but we felt warmly greeted and welcomed. Our food choices (grilled vegetable stack and fresh tuna with radish and water cress salad) came soon in a beautifully served way and tasted great. we had individual glasses of wine which were good and not too expensive. We even tried the desserts, an apple and berry crumble with ice cream and panna cotta with poached plum - delicious. The best part was our attentive waitress Wiki. She could not have been any nicer, kinder, more intelligent and welcoming. Warm recommendation to try this place!

1  Thank Readingrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah P, Manager at Cascades Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for the positive review of our restaurant. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and that our staff exceeded your service expectations. Wiki is an invaluable member of our team, and her warm and welcoming personality often shines through. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascades Restaurant also viewed

Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park
 

Been to Cascades Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing