We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and cozy!”
Review of Candlelight Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlelight Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Neat and cozy!”
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed in this comfortable hotel for just one night. The person in-charge was helpful and thorough. The Candlelight Lodge has incredible views of the mountains and the shops are just a stone throw away. We loved the valley and the village and summer strolls along the river was just magnificent. The Candlelight Lodge is ideal for a weekend stay as it is close to all amenities. We were offered free breakfast but we slept in so cannot comment on that. The bathroom is small and the shower/tub was not the best I have seen. The room itself had a massive bed with comfortable mattress, doonas and a decent heater. The room was equipped with a fridge and came with an extra single bed too. There was a TV and DVD player that came with the room. At the rates offered, it was perfectly acceptable and I would not hesitate to stay there again when I do go back to Thredbo.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    69
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
56
75
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

So hard to find a place in Thredbo without a minimum stay stipulation, even in summer! Happily, Candlelight Lodge seems to have some sense that they are there to facilitate the traveller, rather than the other way 'round!
Great views, roomy clean accommodation, nice big bath, good breakfast, friendly staff.
Thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I stayed in a family unit with 3 rooms & a toilet. It's a bit inconvenience to only have 1 toilet for 7 people when the weather is very cold. The room is very clean & cozy, the bed is very comfortable; great for relaxing from the exhausted ski lesson ^_^

They offer a free breakfast, you can either have oatmeal or american breakfast the way you want. Kids can enjoy feeding the birds and possums (i think it was a possum) at the terrace.

The parking is very limited (only 4 ) but you can park at the overnight parking and takes a shuttle bus to the hostel without much difficulty.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed here early June 2009 before the crowds came in. We had a family room which slept 5 very comfortably and another room which slept 2. Facilities are very basic but I guess that's ok if you're just coming back to the room to sleep. Staff are very friendly. Views from the rooms are the best!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We stayed at Candlelight Lodge as part of our mini road trip from Victoria to New South Wales. We stayed at Bed and Breakfasts for most of the trip but couldn't find any that took our fancy in Thredbo so plumped for the Candlelight Lodge. It was a more than acceptable substitute.

We stayed out of season so both the lodge and the whole resort were really quiet. Saying that we were well looked after by the manager, he was there when we arrived,always there to answer our (many) questions and ready at breakfast should we need anything else.

The room was plain but a stunning location looking towards the mountain. The hotel have also encouraged some parrots to visit a bird house there which entertained my husband. Out of season, breakfast is help yourself to cereal, drinks and toast but there is plenty there and it is all fresh.

If you do stay out of season, do try to make time to get the ski lift up the mountain and then walk down, it is great. The tapas bar we went to in the evening was really good too - tasty food and good portions.

  • Liked — View from the room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank fredic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed at Candelight Lodge on our way over the Snowys during November at the start of summer. It was a stop-over to break up the trip from the NSW South Coast through to Shepparton in Victoria. We were travelling with our 4 month old baby and John from the lodge was really helpful and provided a cot.

We arrived and found that we were conveniently located in a room on the same level as the carpark (helpful with a baby). We actually ended up with 2 bedrooms interconnecting so our baby could sleep in his own room so we could watch TV without keeping him up. The view from the room was amazing. It was great to see the 'ski slopes' in summer- they look a lot steeper!

We went out to dinner to a little bar/ restaurant called Bernti's which was really fab. Good suggestion!

Brekky the next morning was included and what you would expect and you had the most beautiful view to look out onto before heading off.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Not able to walk to dinner due to the steep slope
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Very nice stay. Staff is very friendly and knowlegable about the area. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the continental breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notreallymyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
114 reviews
8.9 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
66 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Lodge

Property: Candlelight Lodge
Address: Candlelight Lodge 32 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Candlelight Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly European atmosphere greets you on your arrival at Candlelight Lodge. All lodge rooms have beautiful views of the mountain ski slopes. Most also have balconies. Because we are centrally located, you have easy access from your accommodation to all resort facilities for your Thredbo skiing or hiking holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlelight Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlelight Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing