We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Easter Break in The Snowy Mountains”
Review of Candlelight Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlelight Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We will always cherish our Easter Weekend at Candlelight Lodge. A stunning weekend weatherwise was further enhanced by thevwarm welcome we got from our hosts Alison and Andrew. The property is ideally located - very central and close to all amenities. The view from our room was stunning. Our room was spacious and clean. Our visit was out of the main ski season so we were not able to avail of the restaurantvand bar facilities - but would loved to have as the are cosyband inviting. Our continental breakfast was beautiful - just what the doctor ordered for heading off on our walks and golfing. Would highly recommed staying at Candlelight Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room - views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sinéad Fagan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnEDI, General Manager at Candlelight Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

It's always great to have feedback from our guests. Candlelight is a beautiful lodge and I'm so please you enjoyed your stay over Easter. We take pride in ensuring the lodge is clean and welcoming. Hopefully we will see you and your family again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Many thanks to Allison & Andrew for their excellent hospitality we had a great room terrific views we stayed for 5 days last week continental breakfast each morning, a lot of antiques on the walls & Allison advised us which restaurants were open of an evening, the summit walk was a pleasant way to spend a day
it was great value for money a

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnEDI, Manager at Candlelight Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Candlelight. Thredbo has many beautiful restaurants and walks to enjoy and we are always happy to advise our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Manager Alison made us very welcome at this lodge, where all the rooms have a balcony view over the slopes. We thought it was excellent value, even if much other Thredbo accommodation is more modern than this 60s Tyrolean style building. Our room 6 was adequate - our travelling companions had a bit more space in Room 7.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AngieM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed two nights, room 6, at the Candlelight Lodge. Nice views of the mountains and ski area.
The room was quite small with nice refurbished bathroom. The original lodge was built in the late fifties; it reminded us of our holidays in Austria (style and atmosphere).
The hosts were very nice and helpful.
In Summer the restaurant of the lodge is closed for dinner. The continental breakfast was included in the rate and was quite nice.
Thredbo is by far the most tourist-friendly of the Alpine villages. In Summer it is very quiet and several restaurants are closed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WPG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Andrew and Allison were fantastic hosts, they helped us with all enquiries, we stayed during summer so restaurant was closed however they helped us choose the best place to eat (The black bear inn), great value for money looking forward to the next stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wen8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I spent a few nights at the Candlelight Lodge this February with my boyfriend. It was a wonderful trip! The city of Thredbo is a very cute ski city and although some shops and restaurants are closed for the summer season, it was definitely worth visiting. The service was great and the host was helpful beyond just our room...he made suggestions for dinner and gave us some input on the best way to explore the mountain. Since the summer is very low traffic, he was relaxed about our check out time which made our last morning feel less rushed. Our room was very cute and gave us a good cabin-like feel. We enjoyed a night on the balcony looking at the million stars in the Thredbo sky. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Booked two nights based on the photos included on the wotif website. These did not match the pictures met at the hotel. The hotel was not quaint and illuminated and character filled. The rooms were clean but old and the communal verandah was not expected and very narrow. No chairs outside so lots of moving to have something to sit on to have a wine and watch the view. Their was no mention on wotif that the restaurant and bar did not open in summer. Only a mention that there was no cooked breakfast. I did see there was no parking but did not realise parking was either and bit of a walk or a very long walk from the hotel. The breakfast was basic cereal and toast, but saved having to go out to eat.

The staff was helpful! However, we went out to walk to Koscioszko and checked our door on leaving. Housekeeping had been in while we were away and we returned to find our room totally unlocked. We had left Ipads, money, car keys lying in the bedroom and our holiday could have been very different had someone come in and taken them. Especially as we had a hire car. I mentioned this to the reception on checking out. No reason for this was given.

So for me, as the pub was cheap to eat at and the room rates similar, they had chained off parking and cheap meals and wine at night (summer) I would stay down there and not be swayed by the pretty illuminated pictures and comfy bedroom and all white large bathroom snaps which did not live up to our expectations. Shame really.

Room Tip: Check out establishments that offer parking or be aware of parking restrictions and always check if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyndall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
9.0 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
108 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Lodge

Address: Candlelight Lodge 32 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range: $101 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Candlelight Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly European atmosphere greets you on your arrival at Candlelight Lodge. All lodge rooms have beautiful views of the mountain ski slopes. Most also have balconies. Because we are centrally located, you have easy access from your accommodation to all resort facilities for your Thredbo skiing or hiking holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlelight Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlelight Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing