We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austrian style and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Candlelight Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlelight Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Austrian style and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed two nights, room 6, at the Candlelight Lodge. Nice views of the mountains and ski area.
The room was quite small with nice refurbished bathroom. The original lodge was built in the late fifties; it reminded us of our holidays in Austria (style and atmosphere).
The hosts were very nice and helpful.
In Summer the restaurant of the lodge is closed for dinner. The continental breakfast was included in the rate and was quite nice.
Thredbo is by far the most tourist-friendly of the Alpine villages. In Summer it is very quiet and several restaurants are closed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WPG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    67
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
53
71
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Andrew and Allison were fantastic hosts, they helped us with all enquiries, we stayed during summer so restaurant was closed however they helped us choose the best place to eat (The black bear inn), great value for money looking forward to the next stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I spent a few nights at the Candlelight Lodge this February with my boyfriend. It was a wonderful trip! The city of Thredbo is a very cute ski city and although some shops and restaurants are closed for the summer season, it was definitely worth visiting. The service was great and the host was helpful beyond just our room...he made suggestions for dinner and gave us some input on the best way to explore the mountain. Since the summer is very low traffic, he was relaxed about our check out time which made our last morning feel less rushed. Our room was very cute and gave us a good cabin-like feel. We enjoyed a night on the balcony looking at the million stars in the Thredbo sky. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Booked two nights based on the photos included on the wotif website. These did not match the pictures met at the hotel. The hotel was not quaint and illuminated and character filled. The rooms were clean but old and the communal verandah was not expected and very narrow. No chairs outside so lots of moving to have something to sit on to have a wine and watch the view. Their was no mention on wotif that the restaurant and bar did not open in summer. Only a mention that there was no cooked breakfast. I did see there was no parking but did not realise parking was either and bit of a walk or a very long walk from the hotel. The breakfast was basic cereal and toast, but saved having to go out to eat.

The staff was helpful! However, we went out to walk to Koscioszko and checked our door on leaving. Housekeeping had been in while we were away and we returned to find our room totally unlocked. We had left Ipads, money, car keys lying in the bedroom and our holiday could have been very different had someone come in and taken them. Especially as we had a hire car. I mentioned this to the reception on checking out. No reason for this was given.

So for me, as the pub was cheap to eat at and the room rates similar, they had chained off parking and cheap meals and wine at night (summer) I would stay down there and not be swayed by the pretty illuminated pictures and comfy bedroom and all white large bathroom snaps which did not live up to our expectations. Shame really.

Room Tip: Check out establishments that offer parking or be aware of parking restrictions and always check if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyndall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our hosts Alison and Andrew were wonderful, they couldn't do enough for us.It was like staying with family.
The rooms were comfortable, the views stunning and the continental breakfast was more than generous. A very memorable four days. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We could not fault the service given by Ossie (Andrew) and Alison, as they went out of their way to make you feel at home. The lodge has fantastic views and the rooms were always clean and well maintained. Will definitely recommend to friends and family, as we are going back for a winter stay.

Room Tip: Room facing Mount Kosciusko provide great views.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The staff were friendly and accommodating but the actual lodge was disappointing for the price. We were expecting quaint but it was dated.
The bathroom was incredibly small with the shower over the bath. The bath was very narrow and I with small feet found it difficult to turn around while showering. It should have a non slip bathmat to make it safe.
We were in a room below another and could hear every step they took.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank debiCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thredbo Village hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#3 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantern Apartments
Lantern Apartments
#3 of 24 in Thredbo Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#2 of 4 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Lodge

Property: Candlelight Lodge
Address: Candlelight Lodge 32 Diggings Terrace, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Thredbo Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Candlelight Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly European atmosphere greets you on your arrival at Candlelight Lodge. All lodge rooms have beautiful views of the mountain ski slopes. Most also have balconies. Because we are centrally located, you have easy access from your accommodation to all resort facilities for your Thredbo skiing or hiking holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlelight Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlelight Hotel Thredbo Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing