We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Lago Waters Resort
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over weekend with family in a family room. Love the entrance awesome beach and Saturday markets. Hotel located central close to restaurants and beach. Friendly staff, nice rooms. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I'd read some pretty scathing reviews here and feared the worst. On our arrival I found it wasn't that bad. Nothing amazing, but nice enough.
We stayed on a Cudo voucher which included full buffet breakfast for all four of us that wasn't bad. The rooms were clean, beds made every day, no issues there. Hot water pressure was terrible though, I could pee harder. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Location was great and in walking distance of everything. Overall we had a good weekend here

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Reading the reviews on here I am wondering what you are all paying?? My husband and I paid $120 for a Lakeview room - that must be their standard rate as we just rocked up without a booking and stayed one night. We are travelling across the country and I can tell you most places $120 gets you a motel room at best.

Speaking of motels I think this is what they should call themselves to prevent confusion. Perhaps people have too many expectations with the word 'Resort'. As far as our stay went I found the rooms clean and comfortable. On the downside the tv was terribly small and you could hear an awful lot of your neighbours' movements through the walls.

Overall good for a motel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalullaB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Check In - The check in was friendly. Resort does charge a $200 credit card hold as a bond. Only fault that I would note would be that the receptionist mentioned that we have a continental breakfast included as part of our tarrif, but she did not mention that we can pay an additional $5 each to upgrade to the Hot Buffet Breakfast as well. Though this was an upsell opportunity missed. We read about this in our room Guest Folder.

Room and Location - The room was great, as it over looked the resport pool and BBQ area. The room was very well kept and clean. Bathroom was also bery nice and clean and had a decent size shower and this was a big plus. Resort is right opposite the Entrance Bridge and the room had views of the lake and bridge. Very nice!

Breakfast - The breakfast was great value at only $5 extra per person, for the $5 extra you receive the full continental and hot buffet breakfast. Plenty of variety on offer, only negative would be the food temprature was not very hot. Perhaps investing in some new modern heating holders (bain maree) rather than using the old buffet candle heaters under the dishes would assist in keeping foods hotter. In saying this it was still great value at $5 per person!

Checkout - Checkout was friendly and I would certainly recommend this resort to others and I would certainly stay again. Great value for money all round! Thanks

Room Tip: We had room 208 which is located on the first floor and on the end closest to the water/bridge. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

when we went to check in at this resort we were hit with a $200.00 bond just in case my husband and i partied to hard ( we are both in our fifties) the use of the term villa was an over statement ,we had to make our own bed ,the accomodation and furnishings were very dated i think they picked the lounge up on the side of the road.bathroom was mouldy to bad if there was a fire you had to unlock three locks to get out and there were bars on all the windows. there were signs in the room to call the office if there was a problem but there was no phone , very dissapointing we will not be coming here again.

Room Tip: there are better resorts than this one at the entrance we will not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jenny447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Husband and i were given this weekend away by our daughter - lovely idea but the reviews freaked me out. They were mostly quite damning but we went anyway and were pleasantly surprised. Staff at the desk were always lovely and helpful but yes, we did have to carry our bags up the stairs to our room. That didn't damage us too much, really. Rooms were adequate. Bed WAS comfortable and linen, as well as everything else, was spotlessly clean. Perhaps management had read the reviews recently and put some wind up the staff, but we have nothing to complain about. Breakfasts were delightful although a little slow the first morning as there were only two people working and the girl at front of house was extremely apologetic. Apparently there were more guests than anticipated but day two was better. Location is superb - just a casual stroll to the village, beach, pelican feeding and across the road from the lake. Reasonable views from the balcony. We were there coinciding with the Growers' Market so there was a great buzz on Saturday morning but the town died in the afternoon. Be prepared to go for a drive somewhere or go to the pub if fishing or swimming are not for you. Not much else was happening. However, all the appealing restaurants were booked out for Saturday night. This weekend was bought through one of those email specials. I don't know how much the rooms are normally but for the price my daughter paid, we can't complain. In fact, we'd do it again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The name of this property should be EL Lago Waters Motel and caravan park. This is not really a resort. We saw the 'resort' rooms and we asked if we could be moved. We then got a two bedroom apartment which was better but it was all motel style. It was ok, cleanish, but our bedspread had two cigarette burns on it, plus the dishes needed to be cleaned AND put away to avoid a $50 surcharge, therefore we would not recommend it. The buffet breakfast is good and well catered for and the location is good. Staff were ok, be aware that your room will be checked before you get your bond back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPDaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
8.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sapphire Palms Motel
Sapphire Palms Motel
#6 of 9 in The Entrance
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
0.9 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
181 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Lago Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Lago Waters Resort

Address: 41 The Entrance Rd, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range: $96 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Lago Waters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Lago Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Lago Waters Hotel The Entrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing