We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet. Clean. Friendly. Within the budget.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet. Clean. Friendly. Within the budget.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay. Booking & check-in we're easy & unproblematic. The room was spacious & clean although it is showing its age now & could do with a bit of refreshing (walls need a good sugar wash & there are a few dings & dents that could be fixed).

The location is wonderful, right in the heart of The Entrance so once you've parked your car in the secure under cover car park there's almost no need to get in it again!

We had some trouble with noisy upstairs neighbours the first night & I had to call management after midnight to have it sorted. Someone came out & the noise stopped at about 1.00am & didn't start again. I guess the hotel can't be blamed for noisy drunk bogans but they did come out when complaints were made so that was appreciated!

The place is fully self contained, right down to a washer & dryer so you could easily stay for a week & be completely comfortable! Huge balcony with railings high enough to keep the kids from climbing over & a small outdoor setting (perfect for two, good for four, OK for six). Both bedrooms & the living have direct access to balcony via glass doors.

Beds comfy, pillows lovely, plenty of blankets & towels. Room clean. Everything we needed we had.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    38
    26
    36
See reviews for
93
50
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here a few years ago. Overpriced for what it is.
I was underwhelmed by the small room (flimsy partition to separate sleeping and living area), poor ventilation and extremely rude breakfast lady.
Whole building seems poorly designed in my opinion! There's no way to get a breeze in the room. Balcony was poky and didn't give much of a view of anything but trees and a hotel roof directly in front.
The best thing can say about it is - great location. Once you're there you don't have to drive for dinner or drinks etc...
Breakfast service was appalling! The actual breakfast food was fine (it was free after all, so I wasn't expecting a buffet), but the lady was unsmiling, rude and seemed uninterested, as if she had better things to do. I mean, all she had to do was clear away the bowls and wipe down tables .....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deesa_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these The Entrance hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having read the reviews, I was not expecting a great deal for my stay at the Waldorf. However, it was pretty standard for the price. The location is terrific, a block from the water, restaurants and shops. The view to the ocean was lovely, and the service was great....very friendly check-in, lovely staff. The unit was large and clean, but definitely in need of an overhaul.....very much stuck in the 80's, carpet in need of replacement. I was impressed with the Foxtel channels provided, many more than the usual offerings. The bed was VERY firm and I did wake up with a sore back, but likely because I am not a fan of firm mattresses. I did sleep well however, very quiet and dark, despite the two blinking lights from the fire alarm above the bed! Secure car parking a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melmayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The only thing good about Waldolf is its location, it's right in the middle of town centre.

However, everything else is not that great.

Walls are thin, lots of noisy people throughout the night, just the doors opening and closing would echo through the floor, we barely got any sleep.

"Free continental breakfast" consist of juice, cereal, and toast only. Hot breakfast an extra $6.

Despite being off-peak season, it was pretty pricy for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hessah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This apartment was very good value, close to the waterfront and downtown restaurants etc. Except there were hardly any restaurants open - mid winter I suppose.

The apartment was spacious with a fully equipped kitchen, view to the ocean and a very large balcony. Bedroom was large with comfortable bed. A light breakfast was included in the tariff. For another $6.00 you could upgrade to a full breakfast, in a small cafe on the ground floor.

The premises were very secure.

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Woodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 with young family. We have stayed here before acouple of years ago but forgot how average it was, at keast we had an ocean view last time.
We had a side room this time, it was pouring rain, one wall in the lounge area was wet and mouldy and falling apart. The apartment had a strong cleaning smell, like they were trying to cover up the other smells or something.
The furniture was fine and the usual things were there like shampoo, etc. Just the apartments are in major need of a facelift and the cleaners could do with a lesson in cleaning as well...
On the plus side, the meals in the Red Rock restuarant downstairs are fantastic, the kids loved the Xbox's in there too.
And the brekky served by the couple at the bottom of the Waldorf (bacon and eggs $6.00) was good for the price and the couple running it were lovely.
From experience there is not a lot of good accommodation anywhere in The Entrance, which is a shame as the location is nice for a visit.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before you handover the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areasontosmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The room size was excellent however the airconditioniong was not a large enough unit for the room and therefore not effective in heating the room on a very cold weekend. The bed was extremely hard and the sofa bed was not level or comfortable. There was no covers on the fittings in the bathroom lights nor was there any exhaust fan to reduce the steam build up . Overall the stay was very average for the cost per night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sapphire Palms Motel
Sapphire Palms Motel
#6 of 9 in The Entrance
60 reviews
8.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
0.8 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lakes Hotel,  The Entrance
The Lakes Hotel, The Entrance
#1 of 5 in The Entrance
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance

Property: Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance
Address: 18 Coral St, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in The Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Apartments "The Entrance." We have an Apartment to suit your holiday/work needs. We have Studio, 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments available. They are fully furnished including a full laundry (Washing Machine & Dryer). All our apartments are air conditioned with 22 Foxtel channels at no extra charge. We have an outdoor Pool with a large terraced area with outdoor settings on level 4. The Coffee Shop is conveniently located on the ground floor near Reception and the front entry. A range of items are available for breakfast through the Coffee Shop at very competitive prices. A price Menu is available on request. Some packages include a basic Continental Breakfast for two at no extra charge. We are situated within walking distance to the Lake, Beaches, Restaurants, Shops and Pubs, The Wyong City Council operates a fun Water Land on the Boardwalk for the kids. It is only minutes from the Hotel and is free of charge. Fishing Spots are plentiful at The Entrance with local boat hire also available. Most Apartments have a variety of views of the local area. Ocean and Lakeview Apartments sell quickly and are on a first come first served basis so it is suggested to make your booking/s early. Pelican feeding is held every day at 3:30pm on the Boardwalk and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Apartment Hotel at The Entrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing