We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & close to beach/park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed here about 1/2 dozen times now with my 2 boys & usually opt for a 1brm ocean view room (actually a room within a room, as the master bed can be open plan or shut off with sliding doors). The 1brm room is much larger than a studio & seems to be more modern, with a larger bathroom & balcony. Recommend that you can get one of these rooms for the same or slightly more than a studio. Is very handy that room has med size fridge, microwave, couple of stovetops, washing machine & dryer - especially if you have kids.

Nice beachside location & usually plenty of activity on weekends (if it's sunny). Renovations have been going on for ages & some of the rooms are looking pretty tired. Counter staff friendliness is a bit of a mixture, but on the whole, usually pretty good. Free parking is available is available in the building in the street behind the hotel.

A few places downsairs on the promenade where you can soak up the sun & have breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Oaks Waterfront. It’s nice to read the one bedroom apartment is suitable for your family and has the kitchenette facilities to accommodate your needs. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 568 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at oaks waterfront and it was amazing!
It's located in the perfect spot decently get water views its well worth the upgrade.
staff were friendly and helpful Our room was spacious and very clean and the roof top pool was so relaxing shame the swim up bar is no longer open.
Had a wonderful stay and will return in the future

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ccd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Oaks Waterfront.
We were delighted to read the staff were friendly and helpful and your waterfront apartment was clean and spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Being as I travel quite a lot for work, I have stayed in my fair share of hotels - both good and bad. Yet I have never been so disappointed as to write a review!
The location is fantastic, but unfortunately that is where my praise for this so called resort ends. There is a sign at the reception door say "ongoing restoration work beginning in Sep 2010", however as soon as you get in the elevator from the carpark you begin to wonder what has been restored. Even the buttons on the elevator have "stickers" on them with the floor numbers written on it. Then you get to walk down a dingy, funky smelling corridor, with what appears to be water stained carpets, to the elevator to take you to your room floor. The room it's self was actually somewhat of a relief after walking through more of the same kind of corridor on my 5th floor. It wasn't too bad if the 80's style kitchen and bathroom, the 15 year old analog telefunken TV with poor reception and streaky picture, and the complete lack of a mini bar, room service or any mod con doesn't bother you. To be honest, I have absolutely no idea how this place is rated 4 Star! Location, and the room being clean (which may actually be an optical illusion because the hallways are so dingy) are the only things the place has going for it. Seriously 2 star at best. I will be in this area again quite often for business, and I will most definitely not be returning here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azzballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Oaks Waterfront Resort.
The rectification work on the exterior of the building has been completed on the ocean and lake side of the building. We are currently in the process of replacing the analog televisions with flat screens, our apologies you did not receive a room with a new television. It is fantastic to read your room was clean and you enjoyed the hotel location. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks Hotels and Resorts in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and i stayed here for my birthday in november. We had a bit of trouble trying to find the place and the parking. Parking was $15 per night. Reception was nice, the scan card we had though was very dodgy. Everything in the room was clean. One bad thing though was the shower over the bath. It was so hard to work out how to use the bath as a shower.. and i am 5 months pregnant and couldnt physically get into the shower bath without getting my partner to hold me and lift me up, i have no idea how an older person would have gotten in and out. it was atleast a 80cm step up, and to get down was quite scary, my partner nearly fell over. the pool was where we spent most of our time, but we were quite shocked when an older man and a young woman went into the spa (obviously she was an escort) and made a pretty public display, talking about payment and what she could do. a family ended up going up to there room. that made us a bit weary. the restaurant downstairs was soooooooooooooooooooo overpriced and not even that nice. wouldnt recommend that restaurant at all. overall it would have been better if the shower and bath wasnt such an issue. we had booked a studio room overlooking the water, we had booked atleast a month in advance and unfortunately we were on the first floor. but the views were still nice.

Room Tip: would ask not to be put on the 2nd level as this was the pool level, the hallway had such a wet smel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Waterfront.
As the restaurant is not affiliated with Oaks I will be sure to pass your comments on.
It was great to read reception was polite and you enjoyed the nice views from your clean apartment. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our car navigator could not find the entrance to the Oaks Reception area, taking us to a car park at the Waldorf. Once we had found reception, I was informed about the extra $15 parking fee, not having been told about it when making booking on the phone, I was a little surprised. Hotel Parking area is accessed by an outside different lift, having to then manage all luggage through long corridors into the hotels main rooms lift. One of the disabled parking spots was taken up with bins being stored there, the other disabled spot being very difficult to manoeuvre into. The ocean view studio room was pleasant, but after looking at the price of the rooms on the web, feel that we have been over charged, paying the equivalent money that was advertised for a two bedroom apartment. It would have been nice to have a quality restaurant at the hotel, but the ground floor restaurant was very noisy with inappropriate music and had no atmosphere. We ended up getting a take away from one of the many available on the waterfront. It was nice having a little kitchen area, but dishes were not cleaned properly. Suppose this is because it is up to the previous exiting guest to wash the dishes before they leave, otherwise they are charged another $50 for cleaning. The television was on it's way out, so was flickering all the time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mogomarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksWaterfront, Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Waterfront Resort. It was disappointing to read you found it difficult to access the hotel from the carpark. As Oaks do not own the restaurant I will be sure to pass your comments on. Comments regarding the cleanliness of the dishes have been addressed with the Housekeeping department. We’re glad you enjoyed the ocean views from your apartment and do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice hotel in a great location in The Entrance, but getting a bit tired. The hallways are dingy, but the rooms are quite good. Front desk service is adequate but offhand, the staff could use a PR course to make the check-in/check-out processes a more pleasant experience.
Parking on the premises costs $15 per night, and this wasn't included in the advertised tariff. There is a free council car park opposite, but it seems insecure. This should be checked when booking.
All the same, it's not bad value because of the location.
The bed we had was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are certainly nicer, but obviously more expensive. Saturday nights are a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raintree53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Waterfront. We were pleased you found the bed to be comfortable and the hotel to be in a good location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights which included a Friday and Saturday night at The Oaks Waterfront. We had booked our accommodation using a discount voucher which we had obtained from Perfect Short Breaks. Our experience there was very average to say the least. On booking by phone we were told we would have a lake/ocean view apartment but in fact what we had was a tiny filtered view of a piece of the lake and a balcony which overlooked the back of some buildings and a car park. The apartment itself was quite small with two boxlike bedrooms with hard matresses, a tiny kitchen with two hotplates and small fridge and a tired looking bathroom with a shower over the bath and a toilet. The loungeroom had a 2 seater sofa bed and a couple of uncomfortable chairs with a small dining table for 4. We didn't use our balcony as there was only a small metal table with 2 chairs- so not enough seating for the 4 of us. There was a reverse cycle air conditioner in the loungeroom but nothing in the stuffy small bedrooms. The couple of times we had to deal with reception we found them to be understaffed, unsmiling and not very forthcoming with any information about the hotel or the area nor did we manage to find any information about the resort in our room. Noise from the pub below us was also an issue but when your stay includes a Friday and Saturday night it is probably to be expected. The positives include the location of the resort which is right on the waterfront and the markets and live music which was held in the park out the front of the building. The pool area in the resort was pleasant but a couple of bbqs for guest use would have been handy. We made use of the free council undercover public parking across the road and didn't have any problems with it. After reading some previous reviews about large comfortable apartments with great views it appeared that we had been placed in one of their inferior and older apartments because we made use of a "discount" voucher. We were just grateful we hadn't paid anymore for our stay in this very average"resort".

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeisabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay at Oaks Waterfront. It is disappointing to read that a number of aspects from your stay were unsatisfactory. We strive at all times to exceeds guests expectations and apologise we were unable to achieve this during your stay. It was good to read that you found the pool area to be enjoyable and the position of the building to be in a good location. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oaks Hotels and Resorts in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
8.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#2 of 6 in Terrigal
1,068 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
198 reviews
7.8 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#2 of 9 in The Entrance
169 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast
2.5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance

Address: 89 The Entrance Rd | (Via Duffys Lane), The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range: $106 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Waterfront Resort idyllically located at the water’s edge, provides a wonderful escape destination for couples, families or groups with superb views of the stunning surf beach and Tuggerah Lake. Ideal for relaxed holidays and weekends away, Oaks Waterfront Resort offers a choice of studio, one and two bedroom luxury loft apartments and executive, spacious one and two bedroom fully self contained apartments, most with expansive views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance Hotel The Entrance
Oaks Waterfront The Entrance
Oaks Waterfront Hotel The Entrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing