We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food as always”
Review of Ocean Restaurant

Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 97 Restaurants in The Entrance
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,219 reviews
2,909 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
“Quality food as always”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Got off to a bad start when my 1970 second growth Chateau Montrose came out with the cork in pieces - French corks can be a problem with their length but you do you need to have professional openers to do them justice. Fortunately the wine survived with only a few bits of stray cork in it and the night was redeemed by the quality of the food. Daniel was away but young Brad did us proud - beautifully prepared quality food with a skill and lightness.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    64
    22
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite seafood with spectacular views!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Superb ocean views and exquisite seafood. The seafood sampler was extraordinary and the oysters were so fresh and delectable! My husband had the pre-fix lunch with the fish of the day and beef salad as a starter. Amazing and the best of both we've had in the month we've traveled throughout New Zealand and Australia. Don't pass this restaurant up. It's a bit hard to find, but well worth it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“central coast fine dining”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Have been looking for a fine dining experience on the central coast for years and I think this is one of the best in the region. Fantastic location with stunning views over the ocean. Food was fantastic and service great. Highly reccommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraS605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
174 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Food Fantastic View”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great restaurant for lunch, the view is amazing. You have a small but good choice on the menu. The staff were fantastic very friendly and very patient. You can even organise for them to pick you up and drop you home so you really get to enjoy yourself. Well worth going to and if ever I am in the area again will definitely go back to. Had a reasonable wine list good choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgraceful.. Rip off”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have eaten here once over a year ago and the service was disgraceful. Staff are rude and claiming they are understaffed and underpaid. The prices they charge are certainly high enough to accomadate this. Unfortunately, a last min decision we decided to give them another try.... What a mistake. Nothing has changed, in fact it was worse. The meals were poorly presented, mine enen left sauce dribbling off the sides, too lazy to even clean up the plate before presenting it. And at $30 something dollars just for the entree! The mains we ordered were $42 and was steak. We asked for medium rare to rare. What we got was medium. Its just not good enough for what your paying. The staff all seemed to be stressed, bordering on simply rude. One fellow diner even had to get up from his table to retrieve his wine and pour it himself because they were 'too busy' !! We will never eat here again and will certainly tell everyone we know not too as well. It may have a nice view but , if you want poor service at totally ripp off prices, go ahead.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Clearblueoceansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Terrigal, New South Wales
Terrigal, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 

Been to Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing