We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the water.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Centre Steakhouse - CLOSED

Red Centre Steakhouse
Cuisines: Australian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Right on the water.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely dinner for two - we were initially worried because a large party ordered their meals just before us, but we got our meal promptly and with great service. Food was not high cuisine but then we were just looking for somewhere to eat - not a 'cordon bleu' experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheaBuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    50
    43
    32
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Food not bad but pretty average. Good kids menu and they have computer games for children to play whilst waiting for food

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JosieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service great location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Half price second breakfast but charged $3 per person to sit down. 30c for tomato sAuce, bacon over cooked and dry, poached eggs hard and broken. No choice of bread but mushrooms were nice. Coffee weak and milky. Wouldn't go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay restaurant for an okay feed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Little bit expensive....a fair few mistakes made on our orders. Had to go and find a waitress to get served. All in all the little things have made this visit not as good as I would hope. The food was okay, pretty standard steakhouse fare, except for the price. in their defence they seem to do $7 breakfast and dinner now which might be a good deal. I would go back again but the next visit would be my decider of if its on my regulars or not. This is the type of place that some may love and some may hate. Im still up in the air!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerstripes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Local Advice: Eat Elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The standard of the food here is not good nor is it good value. The Red Centre Steakhouse was previously located in Karalta Rd at Erina (about 20 mins away) and relocated here to what used to be the restaurant of the Oaks Serviced Apartments. Needless to say, there is zero ambience here and the touches of Australiana that make refernce to the restaurant's theme don't extend beyond a few plastic Australian flags and the odd mural adorning the walls. Whilst we were not impressed by the old Red Centre, as locals we were keen to try out the new venue. Unfortunately all the bad habits of the old place have been transferred to the new place; we should have guessed this the moment the waitress plonked us down and gave us a basket of free popcorn as a starter (which, as it would turn out, would be the highlight of the meal). Despite being the only people in the place, we waited 20 minutes before the waitress saw fit to come and take a drink order (2 bottled Schweppes Dry Ginger Ales), another 10 minutes before she took our food orders. Our entree - Chicken Wings - were straight out of Steggles frozen chicken wing pack and were served with some paltry celery sticks and a lumpy blue chesse sauce which was tasteless. For mains, I ordered the 340gm Red Centre cut sirlion ($36!!!) and was highly disappointed with the shrivelled bit of charcoal that arrived on my plate accompanied by a poor Dianne sauce and some cream coloured muck covered in chopped Parsley stems which was supposed to be mashed potato. My 'Caeser' salad was some poor, browning Cos lettuce leaves drowning in a bottled Caeser salad dressing with some random slices of Parmeson mixed through it, all served in a desert bowl. The last time I looked a Caesar salad also had bacon, egg, croutons and the odd anchovy thrown in the mix. Needless to say that the steak was maybe half of its promised 340 grams if that! My wife ordered lamp cutlets ($34!) of which she received 4 of the smallest cutlets I have ever seen again accompanied by the cream coloured mush and a couple of sprigs of broccoli (steamed seasoned vegetables?). By this time we were actually laughing about how shocking everything looked, let alone tasted. Dessert? Well, we desperately were hoping that dessert would offer some redemption! We did order a Banana Split which for a $8.90 investment consisted of half a banana (isn't it called a Split because the whole banana is sliced up the middle and all the condiments sit inside it?), 2 small scoops of ice cream, a marshmallow, a stale waffle and cream from a Dairy Whip can. It topped off a meal which I could have gotten at any local RSL for half the price and better the quality. Instead we incurred a bill of nearly $100 of which I negotiated down with the waitress who admitted that not everything may have been up to scratch. Needless to say, I would strongly recommend pretty much anywhere else in The Entrance to get a feed above here (hey there's a Subway just around the corner!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Centre Steakhouse also viewed

Tumbi Umbi, The Entrance
The Entrance, New South Wales
 
The Entrance, New South Wales
The Entrance, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing