We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Location is Unbeatable”
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Location is Unbeatable”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here on the Stay 3 nights, pay for 2 nights deal. Reception was helpful and provided a list of things to do upon arrival for the weekend which was very very very useful.

The location of the property is 1km away from main street shops/ restaurants at The Entrance, 850m from The Greens Bowling Club (very walk-able) which meant that you did not need to eat at the restaurant below -- which seemed pricey.

Our room was on the top level and had fantastic views of the sunrise and moonrise. The room itself was clean, a little old fashion, however meet our needs. The bed sheets were new and clean, there was 4 pillows on the bed with 2 spare in the closet. The bathroom was acceptable, though i wonder who designed how the bathroom door open as it was in the way all the time. The hotel provided cutlery and a bar fridge where we bought a couple of six packs and sat in the balcony in the evenings enjoying the shade and cool breeze and the moonrise over the ocean.

We ordered take-away one night and had our dinner on the balcony which was most enjoyable.

My only peeve is that both our neighbors were smokers and came out constantly to smoke in their balcony which meant we could not leave the sliding doors open -- no fault of the motel...

Room Tip: Higher floors -- note the waves do beat on the rocky shore. so it's a little noisy from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippernineteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay . We discourage smokers but do allow this on the balcony . Hope to see you back soon . Kind regards the Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    63
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
101
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

If you dont mind a sagging mattress that you can feel the springs through.... The view was indeed lovely, but not being able to have a good nights sleep because of an OUTDATED and very cheap mattress made our stay not a pleasant one. The bathrooms are very small and no bath, also the linen in the bed is of poor quality and about as old as the bed. For the price, not good value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearblueoceansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for your feedback . We have checked all beds and replaced a number as we want our guests to have a comfortable stay . We were surprised in regard to your comment in relation to the linen. This is checked daily by our staff with only positive comments received in the past . Sorry your stay was not what you were expecting . We do our best and do respond to and appreciate customer feedback . Kind regards . The Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

With Views of the Ocean and the Coastline running back to the Entrance..This is a great stay at a Fair Price...
Large Rooms and large balcony with floor to ceiling glass afford Spectacular views from your bed even..All brick walls, Quiet Rooms, and a sense of Privacy...Lovely Beds and Pillows....Look for a "Stay 3 night, pay for 2 deal " great value but off peak I think...
Explore the Rockpools, Take a Great beach walk into the Entrance , Or Swim in the Ocean baths at your Doorstep....
Staff were friendly & helpful .
My Elderly parents stayed in a Level access room (6) and my only Critisism would be a wish that the Bathroom was a True Walkin Shower for Wheelchairs..(I believe Easy enough to Solve)
As a Family, We have Stayed here more than once , and We will Continue to Return...cheers dp.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidp2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for your comments . We think the location is unique and we're glad you enjoyed your stay and will be back . We will look into the wheelchair access issue into room 6 shower . Kind regards the Owners .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous location on the entrance. ...waking up to the ocean was pure bliss. .....great weather while we were there ....crownies on the balcony while watching the waves with great company from my handsome boyfriend terry....friendly staff....10 out of 10 perfect!!!!! thank you....also a great fishing spot :) lisa and terry

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks Lisa and Terry . Glad your stay was great . Kind regards the Owners .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas as my in-laws live close by. We primarily used this as an escape after long days with the family. That being said we found the room very comfortable (beds very good) with an excellent view. We also enjoyed the air conditioner as it got hot over the week. We would definitely stay here again.

We were arriving on late on Christmas day so were concerned about accessing the hotel. I called ahead of time and was told they would be open. On the day I received a phone call that they were closing. This was not a problem as they gave very clear instructions on how to access the key (in the safe near reception). The staff was very helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cheaper room- listed as a garden view- however we did have a view of the ocean from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian7n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for your comments and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Best location of any motels at The Entrance - as the name suggest, a direct ocean frontage and just off the main drag which is good as The Entrance shopping/restaurant precinct itself is a little sad.
You're just around the corner from where the Tuggerah Lake feeds into the ocean (good fishing, despite all the pelicans), and a few minutes away from Toowoon Bay village (a gem!) and the other lovely beaches just south.
Great service, good rooms and comfy bed, very clean and full wall of doors so you get full advantage of the breezes and balcony.
A ground floor unit means walk in access from the streetside carpark, and is the best - easier access,the balcony overlooks the platform rocks so it's like being on the prow of a boat. You don't need to slog up flights of steps to get the views.
There is a lower level again which is level with the path next to the beach but this isn't actually called the ground floor. So be specific when you ask for a room to ensure you're not on walkway level,but on the carpark level.
They also have a guest laundry which is very helpful.
As evening dining options are few in this part of the world, it was a wonderful surprise to find the superb Coast restaurant attached to the motel. We didn't have high hopes (most motel restaurants are mediocre at best). This is dining of a standard you'd be hard pressed to find in a major city . Do not miss it. The chef does great things with local seafood (try the Sea Treasures entree: Slipper Lobster in Golden Noodles - Chilli Lime Caramel,
Wasabi Tobikko Oyster with Salmon Pearls,Wild Scallop Sashimi with Sand Crab Salad,
and Ocean Trout Tartare. At $29 it reads a bit rich but once you've tasted it's great value!
Innovative but still lets the quality of the produce be the hero.

Room Tip: Ground floor, middle of the block is best for easy access from the carpark, but still gives you grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian R, Owner at Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed some of the wonderful activities and sights the Entrance and it's surrounds has to offer. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We absolutely loved ocean view. Our room on the top level with hot tub had breathtaking views. Staff were friendly and unobtrusive. Would definitely go back, can't wait. Beach is on the doorstep, near the saltwater baths and it's just a short walk to the other side where all restaurants are. Amazing! Highly recommended. Kath and Andrew......

Room Tip: All rooms are great.....but top floor with hot tub is the best. You have to walk up a couple of fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
191 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,033 reviews
7.3 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sapphire Palms Motel
Sapphire Palms Motel
#6 of 9 in The Entrance
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
3.0 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Property: Ocean Front Motel
Address: 102 Ocean Pde, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Front Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a cliff face above the pristine rock pools, ocean baths and beautiful Entrance beach and only an hours drive north of Wahroonga in Sydney or south of Newcastle. We offer 31 3.5 star rooms, most with private balconies with panoramic ocean, beach and rock pool views. Some rooms feature an internal spa bath whilst others contain a spa bath or hot tub located on the rooms private balcony. Centrally located, we are a leisurely 15 minute stroll to the town centre or Toowoon Bay with many local attractions on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing