We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent”
Review of Letterbox Restaurant - CLOSED

Letterbox Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Avoca
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Always great service, ever changing delicious menu, lovely relaxing warm atmosphere.
We keep coming back again & again & are never disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NattysEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ducking good”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We were in the area for a short getaway and decided to try Letterbox based on the tripadvisor reviews.
It was as expected.
The staff are very pleasant and knowledge and welcoming.
We had the pork belly starter which was fantastic. A little bit dry at the bottom but the top half was perfect and came with a scallop that was delicious.
For the mains we had the pulled lamb which was very tasty and a hardy winter meal.
We also had the duck for a main. This is probably the best duck I have ever had. It fell apart as I was eating it and it fell apart in my mouth. Very delicious and highly recommended.
I would eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Joelsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I took a group of work colleagues here on recommendation from Trip advisor and follow up from the hotel we were staying at. The service was good, food a little over priced and ok but not great. As we weer such a big group complimentery breads were provided which was a nice touch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ye olde post office in Terrigal”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

When eating here we were seated in an outdoor 'add on' area away from the main section of the 'post office decor'. Felt isolated. Food was reasonable but expected better for the price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They do their best”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were a group of 10 having a get together and staying at a nearby hotel
This restaurant tries very hard to be good from making your booking to farewell they are very professional
We took some special wine ...they gladly accepted the champagne early in the day for chilling and decanted the red wine on arrival
All the meals were well received with only one slip up with entrees.This was smoothly handled and did not disturb the tempo of the meal service
Service was plentiful ,helpful and interested...they are well trained and professional staff
Well done and thank you
About twice as good as the hotel meal we shared the previous evening

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CD1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Letterbox Restaurant also viewed

Terrigal, New South Wales
 
Terrigal, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing