We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful conference venue”
Review of Crowne Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Terrigal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beautiful conference venue”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visited here in early-mid September for a conference. Spectacular location, opposite the beach and right in the middle of the town shopping precinct.

Check-in was attended to in a professional and efficient manner by a friendly staff member, who explained everything necessary - where to find our room, how the car parking system worked, quick run-down on the establishment facilities etc. Check-out was also carried out in a friendly efficient manner.

Room - a good size, spectacular view overlooking the swimming pool and over the pool to the beach, comfortable and very clean. Adequate power-points for our needs.

Food - delightfully FRESH - we ate 3 meals a day here and had morning/afternoon teas as well for the duration of the conference and it was so nice to have generous quantities of very fresh food, served by friendly, helpful staff. We ate at Seasalt for breakfast and lunches, had a conference dinner in another room there and had a casual meal downstairs in the pub area. Every meal we had was plentiful, fresh and good,

Facilities: Generally high standard and well maintained. Bath/shower area starting to show a little wear and several of our companions had trouble with the electronic card-keys.

It is a pity that noise from the live band, jukebox and people in the extremely popular downstairs pub area (which is located opposite the beach and sits underneath the swimming pool installation) meant that we had to keep our balcony doors closed on both Friday night and Sunday afternoon and evening till about 11pm. Also, housekeeping was still cleaning rooms at 6pm on the Sunday night - colleagues who'd been out most of the day and wanted to return to their room to change for dinner found housekeeping had still not reached their room. If you are full or close to it, the budget should surely be able to stretch to an extra pair of hands or two to eliminate that problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macsla255349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear macsla255349,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
We appreciate the detail you have provided on all aspects of your stay and conference.
It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our beachside location and surroundings and the fresh food served during the conference and at our Seasalt restaurant. We also appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and their helpfulness.
Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed to. We appreciate your observations and have taken your comments on board as we are continually working on ways to improve our guest experience.
We look forward to hosting your event on the next occasion and hope to also welcome you back for some leisure time.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    412
    159
    53
    32
See reviews for
241
431
17
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful place to stay and i enjoyed the accomodation and would recommend staying here again but i have given this Crown Plaza 4 stars rather than 5 star rating becouse it is a pity that the Seasalt Restaurant during dinner does not have a very family friendly attitude. I am used to staying in 5 star hotels and resorts and often even more luxurious and exclusive than this one and i have never encountered this before at any other Crown Plaza. In many places i have been, my child is usually given a pack of crayons and colouring in pack to play and keep her busy. It is uncomfortable for families of young children to dine here due to the rude comment and attitude of some of the wait staff and it would be wise if management understands that it is important for good customer relations to be more family friendly and i would suggest the wait staff serving dinner in the Seasalt Restaurant be re-trained in this area. The restaurant is large enough to even seat families in one area and dressed up diners in another and that would be one possible solution to keep everyone happy. Breakfast on the other hand was very lovely and very accomodating for everyone and the quality and selection of the food was excellent. Overall other than my one complaint, this hotel was lovely. The food was delicious, the views amazing and the beds very comfortable and i would stay here again next time im in Terrigal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear SydneyBec,
It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay and took pleasure in our beachside location.
I was concerned to hear, however, on this occasion that you experienced some disappointments relating to the service in our Seasalt Restaurant.
This is not the customer journey that we wish our guests to experience and I would very much appreciate it, if you could provide your details so that I can make contact with you in a personal way to discuss further.

I can be contacted at reservations.terrigal@ihg.com, I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located a swift 90 mins from Sydney right on Terrigal Beach. - well there is a road between the hotel and the beach! We stayed in an Ocean View Room (worth the extra $'s) and although the pool are was a little rowdy at times our room was in a great position (room 310).
The beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean and spacious. The bathroom had recently enjoyed an upgrade but unfortunately the shower head and water pressure were so pathetic it was hard to wash your hair - you definitely can't shave your legs! It took 40 mins to fill just half the bathtub.
The balcony was a little tired and the furniture whilst sturdy, felt like oversized Lego.
Newspaper each morning and cheerful housekeeping folk helped start the day nicely. Breakfast was good value but it was incredibly busy at times and some parts of the restaurants had mountains of dirty dishes in view as you went between areas.
The recreation facilities are very good on the whole and the pool is a good size with new sun loungers. Sadly, you can't do much about the bogans who drape themselves across multiple areas and allow their kids to scream at them across the pool. You can't buy class in a nice hotel. We found the Sunday difficult with beer swilling westies but can you do.
Fantastic beach, great local eateries and free parking out the back. Friendly staff and good service on the whole. We might go back but will most likely look at some other property options to avoid the crowds of shouty gits next time.
Management are doing a great job in a slightly above average hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear AgentFleming,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our beachside location and surroundings.
We regret you had some disappointments on this occasion.Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed to.
We appreciate your observations and have taken your comments onboard as we are continually working on ways to improve our guest experience.
We hope that some of the areas you have highlighted will not mar future opportunities to stay with us.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had our wedding in the Seasalt restaurant at the Crowne Plaza and it was amazing! We booked our stay from the day before and checked out 2 days after the wedding. When checking in, the staff were very friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but found when it came to the money side of things, it was very disorganized and inconsistent. As it turns out, when you book a more expensive room, they remove the included breakfast. We had several guests not getting breakfast included and no one really understood what was going on. Most of them didn't know if it was included or not. While we were setting up for the reception, we needed to borrow a few things from the hotel and they were very accommodating, We were told that we needed to get ready and the staff would take over putting out the centerpieces, however, when we entered to reception, they looked exactly how we left them. A warning to brides and guests of a wedding, don't always book directly though the link provided. Some of our guests didn't mention they were part of our wedding and got rooms cheaper than the ones who did. We were told that our guests receive a discounted rate, however it is not discounted on the latest rates, they are locked in and you may not always get the best deal. We found this very confusing and annoying as we spent over $12,000 with them merely on the reception, plus at least another $1000 on accommodation.
Overall, it was a great wedding and stay, just found the charges to be very unclear.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Renee S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
We are delighted to read that your special day was amazing and appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and their helpfulness.
I was disappointed to hear that you experienced some issues with charges being unclear. Your impressions of our hotel are vital in helping us provide the highest level of service to which we are committed to.
We trust that you are enjoying your honeymoon and look forward to discussing this further with you upon your return.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed one night over the past long weekend and we were very happy with the hotel.
The service has been up to standards all along, with staff accommodating all requests I threw at them, including some odd ones.. room was airy and spacious, with good views (from 7th floor)only problem with the room was the lack of the toilet brush..
food: great breakfast, love the fact that REAL coffee was available, and the options were plenty. Shame we had to wait a little and be seated outside but it was a very popular weekend and staff was quite helpful. We dined in the room and enjoyed the food, bit pricey but within reason. Overall a great stay, probably slightly overpriced but comprehensive of breakfast and a $40 voucher (and the 2pm late check in.. thanks to the "special moment" package.
I read about the carpark and I left the car out, do the same!

once again, a big thanks to all the personnel who helped making our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImprimisTravelDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Imprimis TravelDesign,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
It was wonderful to find that you had an enjoyable stay with us utilising the “special moment” package.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and their helpfulness.
Thank you for your recommendations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I paid $1000 for three nights in a standard room ... not cheap. I was given a card to allow access to underground carpark. (Naturally.)
Upon checking out, I was issued - wait for it - a PARKING BILL. Fifty-four dollars. I couldn't believe it. Their justification?
"We've been doing it for years."
Oh - I guess that makes it fair. (I should have asked whether the beds cost extra as well.)
When I was leaving, they THEN told me there was free parking across the road.
Great. $330 a night, and lug the bags for me and kids across the street like a trio of waifs.

I told one acquaintance about it, and he said: "Well, I was a travelling salesman for many years - and I've NEVER heard of guests being charged to park at their own hotel."

Guess where I'm never staying again.

Room Tip: When booking, tell them that if they want you - give free parking.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Roger H
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
It is disappointing to read that we didn’t meet your expectations on this occasion.
We have taken your comments onboard as we are continually working on ways to improve our guest experience.
We hope that this has not marred future opportunities for us to welcome you back to the hotel.
Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booking was made on hotel.com with breakfast included, but the receipt did not show this and the hotel charged us extra for it as they told us the rate charged was without breakfast. Also the following week they would have charged less with breakfast and when we booked it the rate did include breakfast. Not going to use hotel.com for bookings ever again as this happened with another booking I did a week earlier, luckily in that instance the hotel did give us breakfast without charging extra. Room was very dated, the hotel is definitely over priced. Staff however was very friendly and the breakfast buffet one of the best in any hotel. Crispy American style bacon, not usually something you can get in Australia, great venue, coffee machines and staff making it for you, extra cooks preparing fresh omelettes not something you usually see in a hotel. Over all our stay was relaxing and nice, also not sure if I would recommend it and will stay somewhere else if I ever visit terrigal again.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room that opened to a nice terrace, not much of a view but bigger than rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caproberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damien c, Manager at Crowne Plaza, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Caproberts,

Thank you for your feedback.

I was disappointed to find you experienced some problems with one of our 3rd party internet suppliers. It was reassuring to find that our staff were able to resolve this issue for you.

Thank you for your comments regarding our sumptuous breakfast and I was very happy to see that overall you had a relaxing stay.

We appreciate your observations and have taken your comments onboard as we are continually working on ways to improve our guest experience.

Best regards
Damien Crook
Reservations and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terrigal
0.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
7.9 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
1,961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal
Tiarri Terrigal
#3 of 6 in Terrigal
92 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
0.5 mi away
Clan Lakeside Lodge
Clan Lakeside Lodge
#5 of 6 in Terrigal
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Property: Crowne Plaza
Address: Pine Tree Lane, Terrigal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Terrigal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Terrigal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Terrigal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Terrigal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Terrigal’s serene ocean-side location is ideal for singles, couples, groups and families seeking a memorable Central Coast experience. Select from a choice of 199 modern rooms, each boasting up-to-date amenities, and enjoy spectacular ocean views or an idyllic outlook onto Terrigal proper. Indulge in a sumptuous meal at elegant Seasalt Restaurant, famous for fresh-caught seafood and dishes prepared from the finest local produce. Enjoy a cocktail and catch-up with friends in the beautifully refurbished Lord Ashley Lounge or catch a live band and watch the sunset on the outdoor deck at Florida Beach Bar. The Concierge’s at Crowne Plaza Terrigal are knowledgeable across a wide and diverse range of Terrigal activities, including the best Terrigal dive sites, local attractions and local golf courses. Wander to the top of the Skillion for panoramic views of the coastline or find top-class surfing on Terrigal Beach. Deep-sea fishing trips leave from The Haven, a peaceful area 10 minutes' walk away. We're 15 minutes' drive to the Erina Fair mall and 20km from Ettalong's weekend beach market. We’re also just 115km from Sydney International Airport and Newcastle Airport. Let the complimentary Kids' Club entertain the children during school holidays while you browse the fashions and antiques in our boutiques. Energise in the outdoor pool or work out in the Fitness Centre. You'll look forward to conducting business in our meeting rooms and we'll leave you with golden memories of your wedding. Make Crowne Plaza Terrigal your base for exploring the Central Coast or simply relaxing on its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Terrigal
Terrigal Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Terrigal, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing